Apple Computer iPod mini: The Power User’s review | iLounge

Reviews

81

- did u guys bought ipod mini by online? or went to the store and bought it?
- if u ordered in internet, how long did u have to wait until the ipod mini arrived?

Posted by shyne on July 7, 2004 at 7:26 PM (PDT)

82

I want to get a mini ipod.. but you guys make it seem so bad??.. if i download music from winmx can i put that on my ipod or can i only buy from the itunes store .. also can i use it with windows xp? And whats the problem with the batteries..??..

Posted by Christi on July 8, 2004 at 4:50 PM (PDT)

83

Anyone running both an iPod with an iPod Mini? I'm just a bit concerned that I won't be able to hot swap between the two when I have iTunes up and running. Any feedback?

Chris

Posted by Chris Ko on July 17, 2004 at 10:44 AM (PDT)

84

Hey, the iPod is a joy to use, but the quality of the sound is rubbish, try Sony, they began with the Walkman™, they sound twice as good. A good portable music player is one that sounds good, it should be the most important thing. But Apple™, choose looks over personality! Disgraceful! Want it to improve, moan to Apple about the sound quality compared to the Walkman™. To get the best sound quality to your ears, try using the Sony EX70-71 earphones.

Posted by Ronaldo on July 26, 2004 at 9:04 PM (PDT)

85

i had an ipod mini and it worked fine on windows xp

Posted by haha on August 3, 2004 at 4:09 AM (PDT)

86

I ordered my mini 2weeks ago. The lansing speaker came the second day, while i've been waiting for the mini.
How long does it take to arrive?

thanks,
Bri17

Posted by bri17 on August 4, 2004 at 5:42 AM (PDT)

87

Oh 1 other thing do you need to buy a cable so you can charge on the lansing inMotion speakers? I saw that it came with a power plug could that be source to the power of the speakers/charge?

cool,
Bri17

Posted by bri17 on August 4, 2004 at 6:20 AM (PDT)

88

um....dennis get an ipod mini..deff a good buy. Also you have 3 extra gigs of music. The ipod also updates your music too so get one. wink

Posted by Nicki z on August 13, 2004 at 8:49 AM (PDT)

89

Can I just remind people that if you treat an Ipod mini like any other walkman i.e. (a mini disc, discman or cassette player. its the perfect walkman).
When you guys owned one of these players did you carry around with you 50 mini disks/cassettes/cd with you on the go?

The Ipod mini is the perfect choice for music on the go as its small and stores 10times more than what you would carry with you.

Too many people have this idea of putting every single mp3 they own on the a ipod which is whack because no one needs to carry 10,000 tracks with them unless they are going to the middle east for 5 years.

Posted by Adam on August 15, 2004 at 3:17 AM (PDT)

90

Hey, forget about compatibility quirks between Mac and Windoze. The mini works better in Linux - Mandrake and Slack.

And anyway - Mac is just a dumbed down version of Linux anyway....


(Sorry for starting the whole Mac - Windows - Linux war again :D)

Posted by TuxFollower on August 31, 2004 at 12:08 AM (PDT)

91

I have just bought an Ipod at Schipol airport and the manual is in French / German. Can I download a manual in English? It's a 40GB machine.

Can anyone advise?

Thanks

Angus

Posted by angus miller on October 18, 2004 at 8:14 AM (PDT)

92

How do u transfer songs from your ipod mini to your pc? Thanks anyone

Posted by Al on October 26, 2004 at 7:34 PM (PDT)

93

all I can say is that my iPod mini is great and I have had zero problems. I travel a lot, so I do keep a bunch of my music on my iPod, it just makes sense when I can't get to my computer to load music everytime I get tired of songs. This way, 600 songs lasts me on my travels (9 hours flights with an iPod that carries all the music I listen to helps). So I don't see why people "shouldn't" put their entire collection on their iPod. What's it some peoples places to tell others what to do, that's complete crap.

Posted by Laurka on December 25, 2004 at 2:07 PM (PDT)

94

You wrote this about the mini's scroll wheel: "If anything, it's a perfect feature for a more disposable iPod with lower lifespan expectations, and in truth, that's just what the $250 mini is, relative to its older $500 30GB and 40GB brethren." Every other iPod now has the same scroller...except the small iPod shuffle. I hardly see the mini as a disposable alternative to a regular iPod...because of its size I much prefer it to a regular iPod. I think you were too fired up to pick on Apple's new smaller capacity iPod...to the point that you were not objective. In my book, the mini has an A and the regular iPod an A-, since it's so much easier to scratch and its size is less practical...big trade-offs just so you can carry EVERYTHING (who has time to listen to more than 400 songs at a time anyway!).

Posted by userhead on February 13, 2005 at 4:17 AM (PDT)

95

apple should treat it's potential ipod buyers that own a pc with an ipod mini formated for pc.

or they could make a hp ipod mini?
id like that.

Posted by kill3r in kingston on March 8, 2005 at 11:32 AM (PDT)

96

I have a mini and am outgrowing it. I now see that this product is mostly made for teenagers that want a less expensive ipod. The ipod shuffle however is a product for younger kids and older ipod users that want a few of their many songs selected for a quick run or trip to the supermarket. If you are a grownup, get a normal ipod.

Posted by Robert Lobban on March 29, 2005 at 11:36 AM (PDT)

Page 5 of 5 pages « First  <  3 4 5

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.