Eroch Studios Lilipod Waterproof Case | iLounge

Reviews

1

I bought one and love it!!!! While I would prefer to have the controls accessible, this keeps my favorite toy safe, dry and clean wile I am on the beach. For 35 bucks, it can't be beat!!!!

Posted by Andy on February 24, 2004 at 11:19 AM (PDT)

2

Now if they just made it so it fit with an iTrip on top.

Posted by Lee on February 25, 2004 at 8:29 AM (PDT)

3

I've had my Lilipod for about three weeks now. Jeremy's review is very accurate, and overall, I am also very happy with the case.

Keep in mind, the Lilipod's lineage stems from the "water-proof cases" you often see dangling from the necks of lobster red tourists on cruises and vacation beaches. Holding their valuable drink tickets, Marlboros, or pocket change.

Yes, these seem to be constructed er, adapted from those same cases. - I think I bought one in the Bahamas for $4.00.

I keep my iPod in the aluminum Armor case and only transfer it to the Lilipod when I drag my flabby ### to the gym.

That being said, I firmly believe that this is the best case out there for the gym. Sturdy clip, great headphone plug allows for more motion, and when your sweating like a whore in church, there is no possibility of damaging your iPod.

The "angling" of the iPod when the unit is being closed does stress me out a bit. I'm not sure that this doesn't put some strain/stress on the headphone jack - I'd hate to see that white plastic ring crack inside the jack input. That has been my only concern thus far.

I bought the case only for its gym applications, anyone who would take their iPod underwater, is a far braver soul than I.

A great case. Good price. Excellent customer service.

The president of the company emailed me and answered all of my questions. Thats not too shabby in this day and age.

Kudos to Eroch studios - a great solution for active iPodders.

LaJollaHemingway
3G 40Gb
La Jolla, CA





Posted by LaJollaHemingway on February 25, 2004 at 10:23 AM (PDT)

4

I have had my lilipod for almost two weeks now, and love it. Its great piece of mind for $35. so far i've used it mountain biking and snowshoeing, as well as walking around.

as the review says, its a pain to not have access to the controls once its locked up, but worth it for what seems like solid protection from anything that might come its way.

If you are going to "just do it", then just buy a lilipod!

Posted by kent on February 26, 2004 at 4:31 PM (PDT)

5

why would you want to take your ipod around water anyway. and if you wanted to switch songs, you wouldn't be able to.

Posted by bradford on February 27, 2004 at 10:42 AM (PDT)

6

bradford, going to the lake or the beach is what I do with my iPod around water. It is relaxing to read by the beach and listen to my music. I know you can't switch songs but that I why I make a playlist before I go. Many people live on the coast and have iPods, afterall the iPod was designed in California. Those people could be walking by the water or near any source where it could potentially ruin the iPod. The case comes in handy and it would be pretty hard to make a case that would allow control of the iPod. Overall I give it a 4.89 out of 5.

Posted by guy132 on February 29, 2004 at 10:47 AM (PDT)

7

i'm totally considering buying one but i have one question...if u take it to the beach and therefore it direct hot sunshine does the ipod dangerously overhead??

Thanks..Jackie Chan

Posted by Jackie Chan on February 29, 2004 at 1:51 PM (PDT)

8

Anybody gone for a swim with it? Like swim laps in a pool or ocean?

Aloha, Pat

Posted by kauaiboyz on February 29, 2004 at 8:17 PM (PDT)

9

its all very well, and i'm quite tempted to buy one myself. but one thinks to ones self, surely if its main feature(s) is waterproofing and shock absorbing, you could make your own really easily because of the pure fact you havn't got to make space for the buttons or anything, infact, its too simple to make!

Posted by silver_haze20 on March 1, 2004 at 10:51 AM (PDT)

10

For $35 bucks its not worth the time to attempt making it on your own.

These guys (Eroch/Lilipod) have it down pretty well.

Yes, the design is simple: a la "Why didn't I think of that?" - however, my idea of fun is not attempting to fit (drill) a head phone jack onto a water resistant plastic box and looking for foam to line the interior with.

Pat - I have not surfed with it yet. Too risky. It has made many trips to Swami's and safely hung out on the beach while I'm paddling out. If you are braver than I, let me know how it goes.

Posted by LaJollaHemingway on March 2, 2004 at 10:55 AM (PDT)

11

Does it work with the mini?

Posted by Ben on March 11, 2004 at 7:28 PM (PDT)

12

Nope - too big to work with the mini.

Posted by LaJolla Hemingway on March 12, 2004 at 2:04 PM (PDT)

13

I just got my Lilipod today and what a disappointment! I love the look of it but the flaw of the design is the it doesn't close without having to push the ipod to closer to the hinge. It is obviously not a good solution for this problem. The corner of my iPod is already scratched up because you have less control when you're trying to open it up. Did I miss something here or do I have a freak G3 iPod that is longer the others?! What kind of damage will it cause if we have to push the ipod with the headphone jack plugged in every single time we have to take it in and out?

Posted by Michael on April 22, 2004 at 7:38 AM (PDT)

14

The case is quite good although the lanyard could be longer.

The is one fatal flaw for stupid people like me. If you put your iPod in the wrong way round and try to close the lid the jack will be forced into the firewire connector and will damage it.

Posted by Iain Hanlon on June 8, 2004 at 3:13 PM (PDT)

15

will this do on a sea doo. I am looking
for a case that I can use on the water
on a jet ski every headset with am/fm
has failed.

Posted by susan on July 8, 2004 at 5:25 AM (PDT)

16

I’ve just had a thought about the problem with the closing method and the hinge. Why not just have a compression clamp on both sides and do away with the hinge all together? I realise that this would make it a 2-piece design, but with the watertight seal being provided by a compressible o-ring it shouldn’t make a bit of difference.

Posted by Richard Walsh in England on August 9, 2004 at 12:48 AM (PDT)

17

While not as rugged as a lilypod, check out Aquatunes at aquatunes.com for easier control use and waterproof earplug speakers. It comes on an adjustable belt so you can wear it around your waist.

Posted by Erich on August 13, 2004 at 11:49 AM (PDT)

18

i dont know why people would wanna purchase one because why would you wanna buy somthing that is for the water and the shower and stuff but you cant even listen to them in ur headphones without being killed with the electrical shock

Posted by hosa on August 16, 2004 at 6:00 PM (PDT)

19

Has anyone tried out any of these waterproof headphones? I'm curious as to how they sound. The only ones i've seen are on waterproofcases.com and there's something called "waterproof earplug speakers" on aquatunes.com but they don't have a close up photo so it's hard to tell what that means.

Posted by mack on August 25, 2004 at 12:55 PM (PDT)

20

I was lucky enough to get the last piece in my local apple center. I think this is really an awesome product for people who go out into the water often. I wakeboard and rockin' tunes are definitely something that gives the experience twice the fun.

But since I dont feel comfortable subjecting my iPod to strong impact (despite the use of the lilipod) that may result from a bad crash, I put an $80 64MB flash usb key/mp3 player in the lilipod instead. It fits just fine as well, and I dont have to worry about busting it up because one, its flash technology (as opposed to hard disk) and two, its way cheaper than the iPod. I use the iPod for the lilipod when Im just lounging on a floatable chair in the water.

Mack -waterproof earphones sound fine (not for the true audiophile, but itll do). I have one that came with a waterproof FM radio. However if you cant find waterproof earphones, just buy the really cheap ones (<$2). They work fine in the water but I guess eventually it'll break then you just buy a new cheap pair wink I used them too and theyre still ok.

Posted by Raphael on August 25, 2004 at 9:58 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.