Eroch Studios Lilipod Waterproof Case | iLounge

Reviews

6

bradford, going to the lake or the beach is what I do with my iPod around water. It is relaxing to read by the beach and listen to my music. I know you can't switch songs but that I why I make a playlist before I go. Many people live on the coast and have iPods, afterall the iPod was designed in California. Those people could be walking by the water or near any source where it could potentially ruin the iPod. The case comes in handy and it would be pretty hard to make a case that would allow control of the iPod. Overall I give it a 4.89 out of 5.

Posted by guy132 on February 29, 2004 at 10:47 AM (PDT)

7

i'm totally considering buying one but i have one question...if u take it to the beach and therefore it direct hot sunshine does the ipod dangerously overhead??

Thanks..Jackie Chan

Posted by Jackie Chan on February 29, 2004 at 1:51 PM (PDT)

8

Anybody gone for a swim with it? Like swim laps in a pool or ocean?

Aloha, Pat

Posted by kauaiboyz on February 29, 2004 at 8:17 PM (PDT)

9

its all very well, and i'm quite tempted to buy one myself. but one thinks to ones self, surely if its main feature(s) is waterproofing and shock absorbing, you could make your own really easily because of the pure fact you havn't got to make space for the buttons or anything, infact, its too simple to make!

Posted by silver_haze20 on March 1, 2004 at 10:51 AM (PDT)

10

For $35 bucks its not worth the time to attempt making it on your own.

These guys (Eroch/Lilipod) have it down pretty well.

Yes, the design is simple: a la "Why didn't I think of that?" - however, my idea of fun is not attempting to fit (drill) a head phone jack onto a water resistant plastic box and looking for foam to line the interior with.

Pat - I have not surfed with it yet. Too risky. It has made many trips to Swami's and safely hung out on the beach while I'm paddling out. If you are braver than I, let me know how it goes.

Posted by LaJollaHemingway on March 2, 2004 at 10:55 AM (PDT)

11

Does it work with the mini?

Posted by Ben on March 11, 2004 at 7:28 PM (PDT)

12

Nope - too big to work with the mini.

Posted by LaJolla Hemingway on March 12, 2004 at 2:04 PM (PDT)

13

I just got my Lilipod today and what a disappointment! I love the look of it but the flaw of the design is the it doesn't close without having to push the ipod to closer to the hinge. It is obviously not a good solution for this problem. The corner of my iPod is already scratched up because you have less control when you're trying to open it up. Did I miss something here or do I have a freak G3 iPod that is longer the others?! What kind of damage will it cause if we have to push the ipod with the headphone jack plugged in every single time we have to take it in and out?

Posted by Michael on April 22, 2004 at 7:38 AM (PDT)

14

The case is quite good although the lanyard could be longer.

The is one fatal flaw for stupid people like me. If you put your iPod in the wrong way round and try to close the lid the jack will be forced into the firewire connector and will damage it.

Posted by Iain Hanlon on June 8, 2004 at 3:13 PM (PDT)

15

will this do on a sea doo. I am looking
for a case that I can use on the water
on a jet ski every headset with am/fm
has failed.

Posted by susan on July 8, 2004 at 5:25 AM (PDT)

16

I’ve just had a thought about the problem with the closing method and the hinge. Why not just have a compression clamp on both sides and do away with the hinge all together? I realise that this would make it a 2-piece design, but with the watertight seal being provided by a compressible o-ring it shouldn’t make a bit of difference.

Posted by Richard Walsh in England on August 9, 2004 at 12:48 AM (PDT)

17

While not as rugged as a lilypod, check out Aquatunes at aquatunes.com for easier control use and waterproof earplug speakers. It comes on an adjustable belt so you can wear it around your waist.

Posted by Erich on August 13, 2004 at 11:49 AM (PDT)

18

i dont know why people would wanna purchase one because why would you wanna buy somthing that is for the water and the shower and stuff but you cant even listen to them in ur headphones without being killed with the electrical shock

Posted by hosa on August 16, 2004 at 6:00 PM (PDT)

19

Has anyone tried out any of these waterproof headphones? I'm curious as to how they sound. The only ones i've seen are on waterproofcases.com and there's something called "waterproof earplug speakers" on aquatunes.com but they don't have a close up photo so it's hard to tell what that means.

Posted by mack on August 25, 2004 at 12:55 PM (PDT)

20

I was lucky enough to get the last piece in my local apple center. I think this is really an awesome product for people who go out into the water often. I wakeboard and rockin' tunes are definitely something that gives the experience twice the fun.

But since I dont feel comfortable subjecting my iPod to strong impact (despite the use of the lilipod) that may result from a bad crash, I put an $80 64MB flash usb key/mp3 player in the lilipod instead. It fits just fine as well, and I dont have to worry about busting it up because one, its flash technology (as opposed to hard disk) and two, its way cheaper than the iPod. I use the iPod for the lilipod when Im just lounging on a floatable chair in the water.

Mack -waterproof earphones sound fine (not for the true audiophile, but itll do). I have one that came with a waterproof FM radio. However if you cant find waterproof earphones, just buy the really cheap ones (<$2). They work fine in the water but I guess eventually it'll break then you just buy a new cheap pair wink I used them too and theyre still ok.

Posted by Raphael on August 25, 2004 at 9:58 PM (PDT)

21

Does anyone know if it is compatible with classic, first gen iPods, or are they too big?. I'm getting a little sick of it being too big. If it does, would it survive a kayak roll in a somewhat leaky dry-bag?

Posted by TDuds on November 7, 2004 at 7:06 AM (PDT)

22

They make a version to fit both 1st and 2nd generation units, and another designed for 3rd and 4th generation units. Go to http://www.lilipods.com and read about them.

I'm wondering - does anyone know if the "tilt" problem when opening the case also applies to 4th generation units? I know it's slightly smaller - does it eliminate the problem? I'm thinking about getting one for my 4G.

Posted by Myxoma on November 15, 2004 at 6:33 AM (PDT)

23

I agree with Michael. I have a serious complaint with the closing flaw. I love the lilipod for what it is, durible, water resistent, and very cute zippo-like flip top case, except for the closing part. It scratched the corner of my 40gig iPod. I can even tolerate the inaccessible screen, hold button, and most of the click wheel. But I have a major issue with the closing problem. I hope the creator of lilipod can fix the flaw. I have been thinking of a fix. And Richard Walsh's idea might be as good as any without changing the dimension of the case. But the more clamps there are, the more likely of breakage.

Posted by emptipod in california on November 22, 2004 at 9:59 PM (PDT)

24

Does this fit the iPod Photo? I've looked everywhere and need something to really protect mine.

Posted by Sally on December 4, 2004 at 5:42 AM (PDT)

25

Has anyone used any other waterproof cases (besides the one mentioned at aquatunes.com)? I am not sold on liking this one and wanted to consider other products.

Posted by GiPhoto on December 6, 2004 at 3:33 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.