Monster iSportCase | iLounge

Reviews

1

Hmm, why bother with something that doesn't even cover the front of ur iPod

Posted by Nuke666 on March 9, 2004 at 6:49 PM (PDT)

2

$20 for something is essentially the same as the clip Apple gives me for free?

No thanks.

Posted by iPoder on March 13, 2004 at 8:11 PM (PDT)

3

Apple's case is $39 actually. It's included in the extra $100 you pay for the 20GB model.
Personally, I think Monster's case looks cool!

Posted by Dude on March 17, 2004 at 11:43 AM (PDT)

4

Hi, I almost bought one of these tonight but thought to check here first. Thanks for the review. But...

In your review, you speculate that the plastic, the clip and the adhesive would fail due your belief that it's made of cheap materials. You mention that you conducted a test, but you didn't tell us the results of your testing. Did it actually slip out? Did the adhesive fail at some point?

I like the idea of the front being exposed but would like the thing to hold up.

Posted by vision63 on May 17, 2004 at 8:43 PM (PDT)

5

Well...I should have checked iPodlounge before buying this case. I must admit it looks very convincing in the box, and I bought this case at GoodGuys for $20. I'm not very impressed, and tomorrow I'm going to attempt to get a refund. Stay away from this product! If it sold for $5-$10, maybe it'd be worth it. But once you open the box, you'll realize that you paid way to much for this skimpy case.

Posted by DarkWombat on June 23, 2004 at 6:35 PM (PDT)

6

Actually if this case is REALLY meant to be in the car, than it is probably the best case I've seen to date. So they said JOG with it, I woundn't- but for the car i bet its just dandy.

Posted by Jayson on July 29, 2004 at 3:57 AM (PDT)

7

I have one and you would be hard pushed to get it to slide left and right while clipped onto the mounting bracket unless you drove in 4x4 rallies. It works just fine and gives great access to all the buttons.

Sure it is not the greatest protection ever but it looks good and there is no way the iPod will slip out while attached to your belt...regardless of the weather!

Posted by CJS on July 30, 2004 at 9:28 AM (PDT)

8

I have this in my car. Works perfectly, exactly like I wanted, with my 4G 40gb. It has never slipped out, doesn't slip from side to side, and there's enough room to eventually put a skin on the iPod since the 4G is a little thinner than the 3G, which this was made for.

As for the mounting bracket, pull off the included adhesive and buy a 99-cent pack of 3M two-sided mounting tape. The hold, even in a hot car, is excellent.

I'm happy with it as a car mount. I wouldn't, and haven't, worked out with it. You can slip the whole shebang in a neoprene case for that.

Posted by JamieSPC in Birmingham, AL on August 18, 2004 at 9:42 AM (PDT)

9

ewr

Posted by Alets on September 12, 2004 at 7:37 PM (PDT)

10

Will this work with the 20gb 4g model

Posted by Bob on September 20, 2004 at 2:27 PM (PDT)

11

I just bought this case and will admit that there are a few flaws to the design. But overall its a great concept that seems to be better suited for the car than for jogging.

Some would prefer neoprene (sp?) instead of the plastic but lint and hair stick to the neoprene, not plastic.

I have had more trouble with my ipod sliding out from a top loading case than I have had anything else, this allows easy transportation, light-medium protect on the corners (where the ipod will hit first) in a relatively inexpensive case.

I say it could be better, but could be also a lot worse. I give it a "B"

Posted by Chris on October 18, 2004 at 10:02 AM (PDT)

12

Just bought this today and I can confirm that the Monster iSportCase (Small) fits the 4G 20gig iPod.

Posted by iBang on June 14, 2005 at 6:43 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.