Lajo eXo 2 Case | iLounge

Reviews

1

I am assuming that the sad ipod face on the review is a mistake. The review seems very favorable.

Posted by Brent on March 10, 2004 at 10:07 PM (PDT)

2

I went to ####'s website, and it's very confusing. Can somebody explain to me the difference between exo, exo2 and exo3?

Posted by Way on March 11, 2004 at 2:09 AM (PDT)

3

I think this is a review for exo3.

Posted by Juan on March 11, 2004 at 4:39 AM (PDT)

4

Oops, sorry, went to the website--I thought only the exo3 had the buttons covered.

Posted by Juan on March 11, 2004 at 4:40 AM (PDT)

5

No, this is definitely ####'s exo2, as distinguished from iskin's product. The exo3 also exposes the buttons and scroll wheel of 3G iPods. ####'s exo2 does not.

Another way to tell them apart is the loop in the upper left hand corner --- iskin's exo2 does not have it (but iskin's exo does...go figure).

H.

Posted by Harold on March 11, 2004 at 5:57 AM (PDT)

6

Even Harold, although he came close, got it wrong. The exo3 does cover buttons and the scrollwheel, but it is very thin silicone.

It's all incredibly confusing, but I can help.

Here's a summary:

#### eXo:
"Thick" silicone.
NO button/wheel coverings.
"Keychain" Loop
Still for sale.

iSkin eXo:
EXACT SAME AS #### eXo above. Discontinued.

<<iSkin/#### PARTERSHIP SPLITS HERE.>>

#### eXo 2:
As reviewed above.
"Thick" silicone.
Button coverings.
Scroll wheel coverings.
"Keychain" loop.

iSkin eXo 2:
DEVELOPED INDEPENDENTLY of #### eXo 2.
"Thick" silicone.
New, hard screen protector.
Larger opening for hold switch.
Dock port connector.
"Anti-Static Coating"
NO Button/wheel coverings.
Beveled/angled button holes.
4 colors.

#### eXo 3:
"THIN" silicone (i.e. 0.70mm)
Button/wheel Coverings
No hole for hold switch.

Posted by Jerrod H. in TX on March 11, 2004 at 6:22 AM (PDT)

7

I like it... but it attracts dust and hair like a magnet... and is there a specific way to get the screen protector to stick? I carry my ipod around for 8+ hours in a schoolbag, and it keeps sliding around... probably the way I attach it....

Posted by esra in PA on March 11, 2004 at 6:41 AM (PDT)

8

Hi
Could you let me know if the eXo 3 is compatible with the 40Gb model, please?

Posted by still confused :( on March 11, 2004 at 8:16 AM (PDT)

9

Does ####'s Exo2 life flat or nearly flat? I leave my ipod on a desk all day and I want to be able to control it without picking it up. I know there's a snap of some sort in the back, but I can't tell how far it sticks out. A profile picture or measurement from someone would be great.

KB

Posted by kbyrd on March 11, 2004 at 8:31 AM (PDT)

10

QUOTE:
#### eXo 3:
"THIN" silicone (i.e. 0.70mm)
Button/wheel Coverings
No hole for hold switch.

this is incorrect. the #### exo3 DOES have a hole for the hold switch

Posted by StinkieDMB in Pittsburgh, PA on March 11, 2004 at 9:20 AM (PDT)

11

kbyrd-- The eXo2 lies flat, yes. The "nub" for the belt clip is offset by two silicone pegs of equal height near the bottom corners. There are a zillion pics in the forums... take a look.

Posted by azdude_15gb on March 11, 2004 at 9:26 AM (PDT)

12

It seems as though all this case will do is protect your iPod from scratches, right? It won't actually help you out at all if you drop the iPod, for instance, or if you go flying off your bike with the iPod in your bag. It looks like it offers only the most minimal possible shock protection.

. . . And, in that case, I don't see what the point is. I don't care if my iPod gets scratched--it's an MP3 player, not a family heirloom; and though it is expensive, I'm dubious about spending $20 to keep it spotless, when, of course, you can't appreciate its spotlessness because it's in the case all the time. What's the point of protecting your iPod from cosmetic damage . . . by keeping it inside a nasty-looking silicone case?

Am I missing the point?--Or do people just care a lot more about scratching their iPod than I do? I'm waiting for the revision B Proporta case, which will actually protect my iPod from the world's real dangers, instead of my pocket change.

Posted by Josh on March 11, 2004 at 9:36 AM (PDT)

13

I've had the #### eXo 2 since Xmas and I have to say it is a near perfect iPod "case". For it to be "perfect", there are a couple of things I would modify:

1) Make the covers over the buttons as thin as the scroll wheel cover. You can't tell from the picture above, but they are thicker (probably to make it easier to emboss the commands on them). As sensitive as the iPods buttons may be, SOMETIMES it can take several pressings to make a selection. The scroll wheel cover always works perfectly.

2) Bevel the edges for the hold button (like the iSkin exo2)

3) Add a flip open bottom like the Speck case:
http://speckproducts.com/ipodskinsnew/flex-away-flap-movie.htm

4) I have no complaints about the included screen cover, but I hear that the iSkin cover is "tha bomb", so I guess they could "borrow" that idea as well. grin

With those modifications I would definitely buy my third #### eXo. Third time's the charm!

Posted by obladida on March 11, 2004 at 9:48 AM (PDT)

14

So we're saying that iTrip doesn't cooperate with the exo2? Too bad. Becaus that's the annoying part about using my current case (DLO Action Jacket). During my morning commute, I have to flip up the two velcro tabs to make room for the iTrip.

Posted by Thomas on March 11, 2004 at 10:17 AM (PDT)

15

hey esra,

i actually use pda screen protector sheets instead of the plastic screen that comes with the iskin. it does a great job against scratches.

Posted by Huy on March 11, 2004 at 10:34 AM (PDT)

16

Josh...

You've got it about right. :-D Some people don't need a lot of shock protection, and prefer the grip & style of silicone.

Thomas...

No. To use the iTrip, get the exo 3.

Posted by Jerrod H. in TX on March 11, 2004 at 12:58 PM (PDT)

17

To respond to the question about drop protection, I've personally found that the eXo 2 (and eXo) offer completely reasonable protection against drops. On a scale from 1 to 10, I'd rate them around a 7 or 7.5, as the rubber absorbs and distributes any force better than, say, a piece of thin leather, and is far less likely to itself be scuffed in the process. You could most likely drop the iPod from typical arms' (or backpack's) distance from the ground and not see any damage in either eXo, unless the screen is unprotected.

There's one other factor that contributes to the protectiveness. Someone else asked whether the back is flat, and it's not - the mounting circle on the back is both elevated and padded, and there are two small nubs on the bottom two corners of the eXo 2. If the iPod were to theoretically drop to the ground and fall flat on its back, those three extra plastic parts would take the first hit and absorb/distribute much of the impact.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz on March 11, 2004 at 10:27 PM (PDT)

18

Hey I wonder it the Exo2 can be used with a normal cell phone belt clip instead of buying the SWVclip? Anybody know or have an Exo2 and willing to test it out?

Posted by CoolerPod on March 12, 2004 at 1:42 PM (PDT)

19

Just got my #### exo2 for my 40G and I love it. My son also got one for his 15G (some day it will grow up to be a big iPod....) and he likes his, too. His is in asphalt, mine is in 'Electra' blue and I just found out it glows in the dark....

No, a standard cell phone clip WON'T work on the unit, because the 'button' is very small, only a little bit larger than the male side of a 'snap', where as cellphone clip buttons are significantly larger in comparison.

I like the fact I can keep the clip off as I usually do not require it, but can add it easily when I want it.

Only minus for me was that the hold button is tough to get at. I haven't tried it with the dock yet --- that'll have to wait 'til I get back to my office Monday.

Howevr, one thing the reviewer DEFINITELY got right ---- it really stinks when you get it. Wash it in mild soapy water and dry it thoroughly first or the smell'll kill ya'.

Harold

Posted by Harold on March 12, 2004 at 5:18 PM (PDT)

20

Josh, iSkins do actually protect your iPod from drops, and although not designed to, the rubbery silicone offers a fair bit of cushion against concrete or ashphalt. I have dropped mine a couple of times in its iSkin eXo and been very thankful that it didn't die. (But I still don't recommend dropping it)

Posted by Nuke666 on March 12, 2004 at 9:13 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 3 pages  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.