Incase Sleeve 3G Case | iLounge

Reviews

1

THis is really great because it is not big and bulky but still covers the easily scratched screen. Great product!

Posted by Peter Strand on March 23, 2004 at 1:29 PM (PDT)

2

Beware -- this product can scratch the back surface of the iPod. I noticed some fine scratching the first time I slid the iPod out of the case. Unfortunately there doesn't seem to be any surface on earth that doesn't scratch my iPod!

Ryan

Posted by Ryan Keaveney on March 23, 2004 at 2:30 PM (PDT)

3

i have been using this case since i had first bought my ipod. I was very satisfied with it in the beginning, however, i did get scratches from debris getting between the screen and the cover. When that happened, it left many scratches on the screen itself.

Posted by Greg Takahashi on March 28, 2004 at 9:05 PM (PDT)

4

it makes it look like a gay cop guy like Mr. Slave

Posted by . on April 3, 2004 at 9:07 PM (PDT)

5

I agree with the above comment about screen scratches. Tiny particles got in between my iPod and the plastic screen cover, causing multiple scratches. They are little abrasions & scratches from particles of who knows what getting trapped under the screen cover.

I keep clean pockets and only used this case for 2 weeks before I noticed this problem. Even using iCleaner numerous times I have not been able to fix my iPod. I now use a #### exo 3.

I do NOT recommend the inCase Sleeve.

Posted by Josh Reid on April 7, 2004 at 7:53 AM (PDT)

6

I also have experienced the scratching with the Incase Sleeve. My screen is scractched up so much that it can barely be seen - the corners of the case have scratched the plastic beyond belief. The back looks horrible. I, as the above, do NOT reccomend this case AT ALL.

Posted by Shane Davis on April 23, 2004 at 1:15 PM (PDT)

7

i agree w/the above comments...this thing has scratched up my screen quite a bit :( it even scratched up the white part of the ipod where the screen protector extends below the screen. time to find a new case.

Posted by nate on April 29, 2004 at 10:27 AM (PDT)

8

i have the cream/alabama crimson tide coloured case, and under 'severe' use (taking it on vacations using it everyday, letting others use it under supervision, etc.) the nappa leather is peeling off of the right side of the case, and in the center part of cloth over the screen protector, the leather tore again. the scratching issue, i have not really noticed, because there was an accident with my iPod before i bought this case, causing the screen to get moderatley scratched.

Posted by daniel bryant on June 5, 2004 at 2:28 PM (PDT)

9

I just bought this case and I love it. It is one of the best cases I have seen. I highly reccomend it to others.

Posted by Chris Spearman on June 12, 2004 at 1:39 PM (PDT)

10

i got my ipod and incase at the same time about a month ago and there is already noticeable scratching on my screen from debris. Being that my ipod is relatively new, I'm quite concerned. anyone have any advice for scratch repair and a new case?

incase=not reccomended

Posted by casey geessen on June 20, 2004 at 12:36 PM (PDT)

11

gr8 exept 4 scratching
screen now hard 2 see w/o backlight (less than week old when bought case and kept in all the time)
area below screen also scratched
minor scratching on back-not too bad thogh

not recommended-in the market 4 a new case

Posted by mhzmaster on June 28, 2004 at 4:49 PM (PDT)

12

Ya, this case sucks.

Basicly, if they would have extended the leather across the bottom of the screen to keep it raised up, it would not be a problem. But because its sort of left free, when particles get stuck between the plastic and the glass/white, it scrapes as the particle gets trapped in there with motion and pressure from the pocket.

This seems consistant with everyones review, in where the scratches are few in the middle of the screen and keep getting worse as you move further down. They also spread the further down you go. I've had my iPod for 1 week. First 3 days, I kept it in my pocket, with little problem, but out of fear of scratching, I bought this product.

You're better off without a case than getting this one.

-Eric Anderson (Base2)
http://www.binprod.com

Posted by Eric Anderson on July 19, 2004 at 4:43 PM (PDT)

13

This case can ruin your iPod's screen!!!!!!

On the back of the case there is a leather covered metal belt clip. At the bend in the belt clip (the top), if pressure is applied to that portion of the clip for a significant amount of time (in my case packed in a suitcase), the LCD screen on the iPod will be permanently damaged by the two lowest pressure points on the belt clip (the left and right most part of the top of the clip).

I just returned from a trip and my screen is now permanently damaged by this very poorly designed case. Yes my suitcase was packed tightly. Whose isn't.

Basically, I believe this can and does occur under many circumstances. I am going to try and contact them today about what happened and see what their response is.

Was Google'ing for a phone number for incase when I encountered this site.

Will follow up...

Gary

Posted by Gary Teichrow on August 20, 2004 at 7:21 AM (PDT)

14

Has anyone used a product called Ice Creame to remove or fix scratches on the IPod? Is there any other fixes available?

Posted by joe nenichka on September 2, 2004 at 6:03 PM (PDT)

15

Ice Creme, iCleaner, and Brasso can be used to remove scratches.

Posted by iPodNod in London, UK on December 19, 2004 at 8:33 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.