Speck Products iPod Skin | iLounge

Reviews

1

i've it, and i found it good! For screen protector i've used a PDA screen overlays from Belkin.
The only "bad point", are non button protection.

Good review.

My vote for Speck Products iPod Skin is 8

Posted by Dede in Italy on March 23, 2004 at 6:01 AM (PDT)

2

Dede - how does the PDF screen protector work? good?

Posted by badkitty on March 23, 2004 at 7:31 AM (PDT)

3

oh and can you use iTrip with it?

Posted by badkitty on March 23, 2004 at 7:33 AM (PDT)

4

I have trimmed a few mm off the sides of the top surface, and it works perfectly wth iTrip.

Posted by Andy on March 23, 2004 at 8:27 AM (PDT)

5

it's not possible to use the iTrip....That's the only bad thing...

Posted by iAN on March 23, 2004 at 10:53 AM (PDT)

6

it also gets dirty as it collects a lot of lint from your pockets

Posted by Anthony on March 23, 2004 at 12:13 PM (PDT)

7

is it sticky like the exo skins are?

Posted by badkitty on March 23, 2004 at 12:42 PM (PDT)

8

:.:Dede - how does the PDF screen protector work? good?
By badkitty on Mar 23, 04 8:31 am:.:

Yes, i havn't nothing on my screen, and the screen protector is exellent trasparent wink

Posted by Dede in Italy on March 23, 2004 at 12:53 PM (PDT)

9

I have owned the Speck product since I was given a 15g 3G last August. While the fit is imperfect and the texture way too sticky, I haven't found anything else that is as easy to use on a daily basis. The bottom flap makes docking an almost instant process. Same goes for using a Belkin car charger. I have also had two dropsies from 3 feet to a hardwood floor with zero problems. I also use a PDA screen protector which works great. Speck also just started selling lime green colored models, though I have only seem them bundled with the nice blue and "charcoal" models.

Posted by Geoduck on March 23, 2004 at 8:38 PM (PDT)

10

Yes, it is possible to use the iTrip. I haven't tried trimming like Andy, but even without doing so it still works. Of course, it doesn't plug in as snugly.., but it still works.

For screen protection, I bought a boxwave protector and it works fine.

Posted by Herb in NC, USA on March 24, 2004 at 6:15 AM (PDT)

11

I'm a fan. I would recommend it to others.

Posted by Preppy on March 24, 2004 at 7:33 AM (PDT)

12

hmmmm...I don't see any air holes. That's not good.

Posted by dave on March 24, 2004 at 11:03 AM (PDT)

13

Just got mine the other day for my 15gb iPod. Fits great, looks good, buttonholes are a perfect size for me, although I have very thin fingers so I can see it being an issue for people with larger hands. I use WriteRight Screen protectors from my PDA in combination. Works wonderfully!

Posted by Melissa on March 24, 2004 at 12:52 PM (PDT)

14

I got mine right after I got my 20gig ipod. It works great. i havent done anything with the screen yet, so it's exposed.. i guess i'll try the pda covers. do the pda sticky covers also protect the buttons/scrool wheel? maybe? hmm, did anybody try this yet??
oh, and yes, i have friends with stubby fingers, and they have a hard time pressing the buttons!! smile

Posted by Clark on March 24, 2004 at 6:41 PM (PDT)

15

The biggest feature for me is the protection that this material provides. I've dropped it a couple times and it actually bounced a bit; the stuff is thick enough to absorb quite a shock without being terribly bulky. The material also provides you with a good grip on the otherwise slippery iPod; it's not quite sticky, not quite spongy. Yes, it will get stuck in a tight pocket. The hinged flap saves a lot of time when charging it, definitely. The fit is good and the buttons/wheel line up nicely. I find that I don't have to shove my figertip down into the holes to hit the buttons; apply enough pressure on the button area and it will activate. (BTW the skin makes it possible to find the right button by feel, so I can click tracks while driving without looking or accidentally hitting the wrong one). And I have no problems with the exposed buttons or scroll wheel they're not moving parts anyway so what's the big deal? The skin attracts a bit of lint and dust but probably less than the silicone skins do, and debris has never scratched the Pod under it. I've washed it out once and it cleans easily. My only complaint is the color selection. I chose the charcoal because I didn't want blue and I figured the clear one would be cloudy or yellow easily (does it? anyone?). Charcoal is not totally opaque and actually looks like little grey flecks were injected into the rubber, the overall effect being that it looks a bit dirty even though it's not.

Posted by Whiteshaft on March 24, 2004 at 10:30 PM (PDT)

16

I preffer the ac tual iskins, they have a better fit among other things.

Posted by lauren on March 27, 2004 at 10:10 AM (PDT)

17

I have a friend that bought a package with three of them in it. And he got ripped off. I personaly do not like it at all.

Posted by simon32 on March 27, 2004 at 10:55 AM (PDT)

18

Oh!cool!

Posted by 東POPO on March 28, 2004 at 5:34 AM (PDT)

19

Hated it so much I cut it to bits!

- iTrip doesn't fit without case modification (first cut with the knive)
- One size fits all? Don't think so - baggy on the 3G 15GB and 20GB iPods
- Although there's a flap to access the dock connector, you can't use any of the controls! (second cut with the knive)
- Best still, the holes are too small for the buttons, making it impossible to press the buttons unless you are < 5 years old! (third cut with the knife)
- Ooooh, and that loverly colour above (yes, I bought the one above blind).

After 2 weeks trying to convince myself it wasn't such a bad purchase, I bought a DLO Jacket. I was like the cat who got the cream after I'd put on the DLO Jacket!

Posted by Simon Evans on March 31, 2004 at 12:59 PM (PDT)

20

After I bid this item from Spec directly at Ebay, I have to say it isn't as bad as other have claimed. I have a 3G 30GB ipod, so it only applies to this model only. The fit is a bit tight, but not impossible to remove nor put on. Because 30gb is bigger than other models, it fits the skin nicely. The new 3 colors scheme (clear, cobalt blue, and greet) is a better choice than the 1st generation colors. My ipod stretches the skin a bit, so the 4 button-holes are stretched as well. Button holes are small, but not impossible to operate. I either use my index finger or the tip of my thumb to access them. Yes, it is not the greatest skin out there, but you get what you pay for and it has good shock protections.

Posted by firerock on April 6, 2004 at 4:09 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.