DLO Jam Jacket Pro mini and Jam Jacket mini | iLounge

Reviews

1

I bought one for my iPod and noticed that around the screen and buttons are some scratch marks, and I can only guess it from the case, but other than that I'm very happy withithe case.

Posted by Ron Favors on March 25, 2004 at 3:55 PM (PDT)

2

I wouldn't be very happy if it scratched my beloved mini....
Can you tell me what kind of marks it has? Are they very serious?

iPodLounge... did you see any marks while testing?
Let me know, because I'm interested in this product

Posted by SsnMx on March 25, 2004 at 7:31 PM (PDT)

3

We received four of these cases for testing and continue to use them on a day-to-day basis without any permanent marks or scratches of any kind. The rubber is too soft to scratch either the metal or plastic in our opinion (softer in fact than the Kraton plastic used in Speck Products' Mini Skin), so either something got inbetween the case and the iPod mini, something else is weird with Ron's case, or the marks are just smudging that will go away.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz on March 25, 2004 at 10:22 PM (PDT)

4

I get tired of reading people complain about how the DLO jam jackets don't protect the top of the iPod. The open top allows the use of audiophile grade headphones with their fat plugs!Try using a pair of Grados with any other case, they will ONLY fit with the DLO jam jackets. I know, I've tried nearly all of them.

So stop complaining about the open tops on the DLO Jam Jackets because it is the only thing that will work for us audiophiles. DLO might just listen to the masses and ruin a good thing. And if you havn't heard an iPod with Grado phones, then you havn't heard an iPod.

Posted by george dubya bush on March 28, 2004 at 12:55 AM (PDT)

5

Does the Jam Jacket mini work with the belt clip provided with the mini?

Posted by SsnMX on March 29, 2004 at 6:23 AM (PDT)

6

I think you could "modify" that case for it to fit the belt clip. I am looking for a product that can work with the belt clip as well. I keep the belt clip on mine all the time, so I would like to see a product that can fit that. If not, I'll just purchase one that I like and change it up to work like I'd like it to.

Posted by Asian_N02 on March 30, 2004 at 4:32 AM (PDT)

7

Why would you want a case and the belt clip? If you just turn the belt clip around and upside down, it acts as the best case there is, protecting the screen and the wheel. Also, the aluminum shouldn't be very scratch-able.

Posted by josh on March 30, 2004 at 9:26 AM (PDT)

8

If you turn the mini around on the belt clip how are you supposed to change songs, increase/decrease the volume? That would be impractical. I understand your point of it protecting the screen and controls, but you wouldn't be able to do anything with it.

Posted by Asian_N02 on March 31, 2004 at 6:46 AM (PDT)

9

My 2 cents...

I got the Jam Jacket Mini and so far I like it.
It would be nice if it protected the click wheel, as mine already has some stains that won't go away!
But in any case, I like the overall look. It doesn't add too much bulk and I don't mind not having protection in the top, because I use some of those headphones with thick plugs mentioned above.

On the other hand, I would like to have a clip for it, since I usually clip it to my backpack, I don't like the mini flying around like it does without the clip.

The only thing that sucks, though, is that when I put the mini with the Jam Jacket in the pocket of my jeans it gets all the dirt that's in the pockets... (dunno the name in English, but the one that's there after the dryer....)

Anyways, for $20 it's not bad.

Posted by SsnMx on April 2, 2004 at 9:28 PM (PDT)

10

Does anyone know how well the iPod Mini holds up in rainy conditions? I'd like to purchase one for my long runs, but its quite wet where I live, and I'm unsure if these protective skins can do the trick.

Posted by Mike on April 8, 2004 at 5:46 AM (PDT)

11

I got the Jam Jacket Pro Mini and used it working out, and it fits the task quite well.

My complaint is about the way the Jam Jacket Pro was shipped - the strap was in a plastic bag within the cardboard box, but the jacket was not. Because of the adhesive property of the rubber, cardboard fibers had adhered to it, and it looked like it had been on someone's shop floor for a week. Not very classy. A good wash in soapy water took care of it, but first impressions are lasting ones.

Posted by Dan on April 11, 2004 at 2:03 PM (PDT)

12

I bought the Jam Jacket Pro Mini to use when exercising and am disappointed with the velcro armband. The velcro band is too small/tight and it is very abrasive on your skin - not well done at all. I contacted the company and they said they do not have any extension straps or any larger straps. Not my idea of customer service. I suggest looking for another case/band combo!

Posted by Ted on April 12, 2004 at 9:18 AM (PDT)

13

I hate to state the obvious - and maybe there's a reason why this hasn't been suggested...but to get the benefits of using the much cooler Jam Jacket Pro Mini case, and keep the ipod fully protected, couldn't you just slip one of the individual screen protectors inside the case...therefore protecting the wheel as well? I've thought about doing that for mine...when I get it!!
I'm currently in the UK and frustratingly awaiting shipment of my mini from the states..(will still have it before everyone else here)....accessories have arrived...(incl the jam jacket pro -which I decided to buy after reading the review on here, so thanks!)...so just waiting now for the star of the show.....come on!!!!!

Posted by Janinne on April 13, 2004 at 10:28 AM (PDT)

14

i was just concerned with all the talk of the ease of getting the ipod in and out of the case, how likely is it that the mini will slip out the top wile running/jogging? I am really interested in this case accept for that one point so if anyone could shed some light on it, that would be great.

Posted by Dave on April 14, 2004 at 2:00 PM (PDT)

15

Does the rubber of the jam jacket make it difficult to slide in and out of a pocket.

Posted by david on April 21, 2004 at 10:35 AM (PDT)

16

"Does the rubber of the jam jacket make it difficult to slide in and out of a pocket.
By david on Apr 21, 04 12:35 pm"

Yes

Posted by Zark on May 7, 2004 at 2:13 AM (PDT)

17

Is the clear jam jacket, totally clear, or a milky clear. I really would like the metallic colors to show through the case, but i can't tell by the pics.

Posted by Allison on May 16, 2004 at 2:39 PM (PDT)

18

Does anyone know of a case that I can buy for my iPod mini that will allow me to connect it to my dock connector for my stereo at home? I need a case that would allow the iPod to sit in the dock (ie. the bottom 1/4 inch of the iPod would need to be accessible). Please help as I am desparate need of a case for this.

Posted by erin on May 28, 2004 at 10:04 AM (PDT)

19

If you have your mini personalized with writing on the back, can you read it through the clear jacket?

Posted by susan on June 11, 2004 at 11:15 AM (PDT)

20

I have been using the jam jacket mini for about a month now and have no complaints, save a minor one. Either my case is charged with static or it is just a dust magnet because the outside of the case, especially the screen protector portion collects dust. If anyone has any ideas on how to clean the case I would greatly appreciate it. Other than this minor gripe I would recommend this case to anyone.

Posted by Kartik on June 11, 2004 at 6:09 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 3 pages  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.