Belkin TuneCast II FM Transmitter | iLounge

Reviews

41

Worthless. How does target get away with selling it.

Posted by camphero on September 7, 2004 at 4:51 AM (PDT)

42

Yeah, I had to take back my tunecast II.
piece of junk, i'll be looking into other options....my mate has an itrip and i'll see if that sounds better.

Posted by Carl on September 8, 2004 at 5:21 AM (PDT)

43

I bought 3 Tunecast II (one for myself and the other two as a gift).

I should have read this forum.

This is just junk.

My friends returned their presents since it is useless.

I tired all of them with my 4th gen ipod and they are all the same.

DO NOT BUY IT.

I will not trust Belkin since their manufacturing quality is terrible.

Posted by Sinan on September 9, 2004 at 2:28 AM (PDT)

44

i bought the tunecast II a week ago and i havent had to change the station once, and ive only gotten static once, and for only a few seconds. since then it has worked perfectly. i think i paid 35 bucks with tax, and im happy i did. my friend has an itrip and his constantly gets static. i let him borrow the tunecast, and he bought one the next day and is happy with it. i guess they just make bad batches.

Posted by Jonathan on September 11, 2004 at 12:17 PM (PDT)

45

I don't trust the Itrip. I bought one and it burned out my brand new ipod. Thank goodness apple gave me a new one under warranty.
After an hour of use the screen went black on my ipod. Went back after I quit using it. Then, the sound went slow... took 15 sec to play on sec. but it did play. I think it was a power draw issue. The Belkin does not draw power from the ipod so Thats the way I went. Just as good sound and interference is about the same as is distance from receiver.

Posted by jnm on September 13, 2004 at 7:06 PM (PDT)

46

I brought my tunecast II and returned it the next day and exchanged it for a iTrip. The static on the tunecast II was terrible it was hard to listen to it i found it very annoying when ever you moved it a big blast of static would come through. Do not wate your money on a tunecast II

Posted by juicecorp in Australia on September 13, 2004 at 9:43 PM (PDT)

47

Can I please ask that anyone who reviews the device please specify where they are from?

Sounds silly, but when one person says they get plenty of interference and another says they never have to change their frequency it would help to note that person a is driving in and around LA while the 2nd person is in Nebraska. A huge and notable difference.

I'm still debating what I should get for my 40GB iPod. I'm going to be driving cross country (NY to San Diego) in a few weeks in my Pathfinder and would love a solution.

Thanks all

Posted by Dave Bandito on September 14, 2004 at 9:52 AM (PDT)

48

Dave,

If there are no interfaces (like downtown city) than it cab work.
But mine (I live in Ankara, Turkey) is useless in Ankara but when I travel it is OK (not great sound quality).

I can not understand why Ipod lounge
does not make a comparision due to signal strengths between rival products.

Sinan

Posted by Sinan on September 27, 2004 at 11:04 PM (PDT)

49

I bought an iTrip some months ago and at first was frustrated that I couldn't get a free frequency without interference from a radio station, especially at night. Then I discovered that if I lower the car aerial the iTrip's signal is much stronger relative to those of all the radio stations; no more interference! I live in Brisbane Australia.

Posted by stevo on September 28, 2004 at 7:16 AM (PDT)

50

I did not have much luck with the iTrip I bought for my G4. The reception was clear but radio stations kept breaking in whenever I drove anywere. It doesn't help that I live in San Francisco so I think I'll search for another solution rather than FM transmission.

Posted by Aslan on October 11, 2004 at 3:49 PM (PDT)

51

Tunecast II does not work. If you are serious about listening to your ipod in the car FM transmition is NOT the way to go. The signal is weak and whenever you so much as move there is a bunch of static that is louder than your music.

Others I've tried are newertech roadtrip (107.7). The signal stonger so you don't have to turn your volume up all the way, but if you live in an area that has a broadcast at 107.7 forget it. It doesn't work at all.

Last, and least is any TransPod product. They are horrible. Worse than the other two.

Posted by Andy on October 23, 2004 at 8:03 AM (PDT)

52

Just bought a TuneCast II. Used it for only a few hours over a couple of days but here's my 2 cents.

No problem driving to work and back (one hour trip/44 miles one way)

No problem going to class (one hour 15 minute trip/51 miles/thank goodness it's only once a week) Hit a station when I get into town. Going up two notches on the TuneCast and hitting preset 2 on the radio is no problem.

I keep the auto adapter in the glove compartment for emergencies. I also keep extra batteries in there. I don't use it unless I really need it.

I really wanted an FM transmitter for my car. I didn't want the cassette adapter. Between my iPod and my phone, the front seat of my car was beginning to look like the back of my TV.

Posted by Borrador on November 5, 2004 at 6:07 PM (PDT)

53

Here's my TuneCast II update.

I returned it.

Stopped working altogether.

Replacement was DOA.

BestBuy people very nice about the whole thing.

Back to riding in car with only the right earbud in.

Drats!

Posted by Borrador on November 6, 2004 at 9:00 PM (PDT)

54

It works... The stereo broadcast is much better than the TransPod I bought and then returned. When the cord cracked on my TuneCast II and it stopped working, Belkin honored their lifetime warranty and sent a new one.
Works for me!

Posted by Dunc on November 11, 2004 at 7:24 PM (PDT)

55

I just bought the Tunecast II and was initially disapointed at first. That is finding a radio station that was available was a pain in the neck, but that wasn't the Tunecast's fault. However the short cable (which also acts as it's antannea) left something to be desired. Running it straight on the iPod was terrible, staticy and I couldn't move it more than a few feet away with out the reception becoming horid. However I found a remedy to the bad reception by using the extender cable that came with my Sony headphones. This obviously made a bigger antannea and my range increased dramatically and over taking weak stations become so much easier. When used in this configuration the Tunecast actually isn't all that bad. I was roaming all over my best friend's place with it today and was able to get fairly good reception no matter where I went with my iPod. For those of you that gave it a bad review, put an extender on it before you chuck your Tunecast in the garbage. smile You'll find it really can broadcast with in 30 feet and clearly too. smile I'm loving this thing.

Posted by Phoenixfury in Elkhart, IN on November 14, 2004 at 4:35 PM (PDT)

56

Last night I bought a TuneCast II, and I'm actually surprised how well it works. I originally was going to get an iTrip, but I kept hearing complaints and became hesitant. Also, I have an iPod and my wife has a Mini, plus we also have other mp3 players, and it was appealing to have a transmitter which accomodated more than one type of unit.

I talked to the guy at Circuit City, and he told me of one friend who loves his iTrip, and three that hates it. He said one of his friends went through three, then gave up. He told me his brother had a TuneCast and seemed happy.

I bought it and wow - it actually sounds good! I really bought it for my wife's car, because I have an even better option in mine.

For those of you who don't really like your car stereos...don't put money into FM transmitters! I bought a Jensen CD player for my truck for $79 simply for the fact that it has an auxillary jack right on thr front! I have been using mp3 players in my truck for years, just plugging directly into the stereo. This is by far the best option if you don't have some fancy-### stock stereo you don't want to get rid of.

Also, check to make sure your stereo or amplifier doesn't have an RCA port. Some do, and can be used easily for perfect sound.

Well, that's it.

Kevin

Posted by Myxoma on November 21, 2004 at 5:59 AM (PDT)

57

Mine works great, very suprising quality. I live in a suburb in Iowa, though.

Posted by ultrarob in iowa on December 26, 2004 at 8:40 PM (PDT)

58

Yesterday I got a belkin Tunecast II. I would now live to pitch the thing out of my car window. I live in LA and the thing doesn't work here at all. About every 5min I have to search for another station, and the signal/music never comes through without hiss. As far as I can tell none of the FM transmitters seem to work. itrip doesn't work in LA either. I did hear about [url=http://www.pie.net]http://www.pie.net[/url] which sells converters which will make your CD player into an adapter to play the ipod. The cost is about $160 without installation but if it works, its almost worth the money.

Posted by koop in los Angeles on January 12, 2005 at 10:33 AM (PDT)

59

Keep in mind that we with the bulky Generation 1 iPods are stuck with Belkin and other headphone jack products.

The TC II has worked well for me. I'm not so sure about the "ten hours battery life," but that might not apply to the batteries included.

I purchased a different DC 12 V adaptor which has worked well except for a couple of issues: 1) the plug falls out of the hole quite easily, cutting power from the TC II immediately, leaving me with deafening static; 2) if you get the TC II in the wrong position with the 12 V car adapter, a horrible whine results (drives me nuts!!!). I have found that a Y cable with just the 12 V TC II adapter plugged in works much better (no idea why!) and reduces the whine. If you plug both the iPod and TCII into the Y adapter, it makes the whine horrendous.

The best reception for the TC II in my Hyundai accent is on the slideout cupholders, on my inner lap, and right under my clutch foot (good for the highway where I don't need to clutch as much).

Posted by Paul Giardino in Buffalo, NY on January 13, 2005 at 7:55 PM (PDT)

60

Does anyone know exactly how "the other Belkin car power adapter" (ie the cheaper one that does not have an audio out and does not amplify the signal) supposedly also works with the Tunecast II? The picture of the adapter (F8V7067-APL) shows an input jack on the end of the cable that looks like it would accept the Tunecast II's input plug, but what good would that do? If someone knows the answer to this question I'd be grateful. Thanks.

Posted by snabjab on January 14, 2005 at 2:41 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 4 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.