Monster iCarPlay FM Transmitter | iLounge

Reviews

21

I just got the iCarPlay and it works perfectly. I know the drawbacks with FM transmitters and that direct connect is better, but this is one of the better FM transmitters. I've tried the iRock and it never really worked that well and didn't have good range. The iCarPlay has better range and the the ability to charge the IPOD is the best part. I didn't have to turn the volume all the way up on the IPOD to hear it, like you have to with most other FM transmitters. I higly recommend it, if a FM transmitter is your only option.

Posted by Pat on August 12, 2004 at 3:45 AM (PDT)

22

When looking at solutions at the apple store for my ipod mini, this thing just looked more complete. Fortunatly when i used it, it also happens to be the most complete solution. In the SFBay area, I might have to change the station once between SF and SJ. Other than that the sound quality is very good, and I have really not experienced the hiss that people are talking about except at insanly loud levels.
Couple of concerns though,
1. sound level is not as high as my other devices, normal radio or cd sound level is around 25% on my car (IS300), but normal level for the monster is around 60%. But then again, there is no real need to go much higher than this.

2. Charging it constantly kinda bothers me, I wish there was a switch to turn that off. the issue with the socket staying on doesn't happen to me, agree with whoever said this is only an issue with mainly american cars.

Posted by yang on August 18, 2004 at 2:51 PM (PDT)

23

I bought the device for a trip through MT, WY, and Idaho where I expected to find few stations. It worked perfectly. Now, returning to an urban area I still find it works well. I like the fact that I only need to plug in one thing to both charge and play through the radio. That means only one thing to disconnect to hide the iPod in the glove box while parked.

I do not find the limit to car use a problem. It is easy enough to plug the iPod into my home stereo directly rather than try to broadcast through the radio.

This device is easy to use, well thought out, and handy.

Posted by Bgreig on August 22, 2004 at 9:50 AM (PDT)

24

Bruce, did the the Monster iCarPlay work OK in Italy? I am going to France next week and I plan to use my ipod with the Monster iCarPlay in a rental car.

Posted by pof in Montreal on August 28, 2004 at 7:43 PM (PDT)

25

this thing works great, sound quality is not bad at all, the white noise is not that bad even at higher volumes...since it's for a car the noise is acceptable.

Posted by SiR001 on September 3, 2004 at 8:32 AM (PDT)

26

I've used icarplay for about a month now. It works well as long as i'm not in Toronto. (too much interference) Quality of sound is fair to good, depending on interference. Understanding that no FM transmitter will give you CD quality sound is important. It is good for what it is.

Posted by daauger on September 8, 2004 at 7:09 AM (PDT)

27

I purchased the monster transmitter after reading all of the reviews on fm transmitters on this site. Very happy to say that my research helped and I am very pleased with the product. I bought it at the store, went to my car opened up and plugged it right in. Very easy to use, you dont need instructions or anything. Yes it does get static every now and again, but it isn't that bad. I live in southern california where the radio stations are a bit jammed, but this transmitter still holds its own. Like others are saying it is pricey, but I think it is worth it.

Posted by Nikki on September 10, 2004 at 9:06 PM (PDT)

28

I second what Nikki says. I just bought it today at the apple store at the Grove in LA, and it worked fine even in LA's congested spectrum. My friend has a Transpod FM, and the Monster transmitter has better sound and costs less! Just make sure at least one of the eight allowed frequencies are free in your area before buying, though.

Posted by Jeremy on September 13, 2004 at 6:26 PM (PDT)

29

I have both the iTrip and the icarplay, and can safely say the icarplay is far superior. I live in NJ so the airwaves are pretty congested. Although the itrip can be tuned to any station, the output is very low and it seems to drain my iPods battery twice as fast. The icarplay line out is great and I don't have to crank the volume on my radio nearly as loud.
Just my opinions, but I really like this product.

Posted by Brian on September 30, 2004 at 3:55 PM (PDT)

30

I just got the icarplay today after hearing the raving reviews. I have used the belkin and the itrip and this product beats them down, brutally. The icarplay is beautifully small, convenient, and intuitive; it charges my ipod, lets my stereo system take full control over the volume, and it even turns the ipod to pause when I turn the car off (ipod auto. turns off afterwards). Music is better than most fm radio quality, so I can't be happier.

itrip and belkin? don't bother; get iCarplay!

Posted by Nathan on October 17, 2004 at 5:30 PM (PDT)

31

I just bought one of these and have used it for about 10 hrs-I have gotta say that it works very well, I live in a large city and its very difficult to find any empty freq's-but it doesn't seem to matter-this baby transmits over the top of the weaker stations for a great reception. I have also tried the Belkin tunecast II and found it useless in a city (having to replace the batteries is a pain in the a$$ to)

Posted by Paul on October 19, 2004 at 4:08 PM (PDT)

32

I had to return the Monster iCarPlay. The plug is too thick and will not fit into the lighter/charger ports in my 2004 Nissan. Amazon is not happy about an open merchandise return now, and I'm also having to battle them over return shipping. The Nissan doesn't come with cigarette lighters, just power ports that accept other brands of charging units without problems- for example, a Belkin car charger for Nokia phones fits and works perfectly.

Posted by audata on October 30, 2004 at 10:03 PM (PDT)

33

I hooked up my U2 iPod to Mercedez-Benz SLK230 with iCarPlay FM transmitter. I don't smoke, so the cable is nicely hidden to the ashtray. Check this out:

http://web.daigoexpressed.net/daigo/blog/2004/11/black-red-black-red.html

Posted by DAIGO in Pittsburgh, PA on December 3, 2004 at 11:51 PM (PDT)

34

I just bought the icarplay to use in Chicago and I'm having tons of problems with static. I have to change the station frequently and really can't get away from the hiss unless I'm in a rural area. To the guy that said he disconnected his antenna to eliminate the hiss-does this really work? has anyone else had luck removing your antenna? Thanks.

Posted by scoots56 in Chicago on December 4, 2004 at 3:23 PM (PDT)

35

Removing the antenna is great. I own a 2003 Corolla S in the Bay Area, California, where every station is packed. And removing the antenna from the top of my car made iCarPlay perfect. Woohoo!

Posted by Laketica in Berkeley, CA on December 18, 2004 at 1:18 PM (PDT)

36

I must say that the plug was a bit big for my case (my case is made by Incase), but I just had to work it out a bit, since it's leather, I just needed to stretch it like a few millimeters, and it's fine now.

Posted by Laketica in Berkeley, CA on December 18, 2004 at 1:24 PM (PDT)

37

Apparently Monster is trying to address concerns about FM station interference -- their new version of the iCarPlay will use any available frequency, with 3 presets.

http://monstercable.com/computer/productPageComputer.asp?pin=2660

I've been looking around for a retailer that discounts the "Plus" model, but everyone seems to be selling the original 8-freq version at this point.

Posted by cornholio on December 26, 2004 at 1:22 PM (PDT)

38

I live in Norway and just recieved my Icarplayer. I am having no trouble whatsoever with throwing away public channels, and the "hiss" that has been discussed has still not appeared here.

Three thumbs up! After me and a friend tested my Icarplayer against his ITrip, I am in love :o)

The Icarplayer and Itrip on the same frequency, and guess who won.

Buy this one!

Posted by TheScorp on January 3, 2005 at 12:17 AM (PDT)

39

I found the Icarplay plus on Academic Superstore for 57.95.

You need to scan a pic of a valid student ID to get that discount, but if you know someone with an ID or have one yourself it's well worth it.

Here is the link.

http://www.academicsuperstore.com/market/marketdisp.html?PartNo=726056&qk_srch=monster+ipod

Posted by TheBadGuy on January 10, 2005 at 1:17 PM (PDT)

40

Update, you don't need a college ID to get the 57.95 price at Academicsuperstore.

Posted by TheBadGuy on January 15, 2005 at 5:09 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.