Belkin Universal Microphone Adapter | iLounge

Reviews

1

will the italk work in a meeting with 20 to 30 people talking at diffrent times? and be able to capture most of the audio?

Posted by H2IPOD on April 23, 2004 at 8:55 AM (PDT)

2

will the italk work in a meeting with 20 to 30 people talking at diffrent times? and be able to capture most of the audio?

Posted by H2IPOD on April 23, 2004 at 8:55 AM (PDT)

3

Once you've taped a meeting/conversation on the iPod using the Universal Microphone Adapter, is there a hook-up or software that I would need to download the text to my Mac OS 10 in word document format?

Please advise.

Posted by Mondell Garcia on May 3, 2004 at 10:48 AM (PDT)

4

Is there any way to use record live music (classical chamber music, say) with a high-quality external microphone (such as a powered mic usable on a DAT or Mini-Disc machine) on the iPod?

Posted by Rick Schaul-Yoder on June 8, 2004 at 7:35 AM (PDT)

5

"Is there any way to use record live music (classical chamber music, say) with a high-quality external microphone?"

Yes. It's called an iRiver or an Archos.

There is currently no high-quality recording options on the iPod. And although the motherboard has pins for an SPDIF I/O, this is not enabled.

Both the iRiver and Archos have analog and digital inputs and outputs.

Posted by out of luck on June 8, 2004 at 9:39 AM (PDT)

6

With this UMA, would it be possible to take a line-out from a CD player and into the UMA's input jack, for direct ripping of music?

Posted by Flint Blade on July 7, 2004 at 9:24 PM (PDT)

7

i have both the Belkin voice recorder(the earlier one) and the italk by griffin. the belkin consumes less battery but the recordin is mediocre, if the subject reaches a loud level the recorded product is very distorted. this problem is solved by the griffin italk, the automatic gain control avoids distortion, but it consumes more battery. belkin 8hrs record time, griffin italk 7 hours

Posted by mark on July 13, 2004 at 2:58 PM (PDT)

8

i am a singer and often have to record voice lessons or rehearsals. This usually involves human voice (singing) with piano. Extremely high quality is not necessary- really just a decent recording for reference.Does anyone have any experience with the italk or the Belkin in this type of situation?

Posted by bekah on July 19, 2004 at 7:50 PM (PDT)

9

RECORDER FOR THE REHERSAL ROOM ?
I as well play in a band, and for small quick recordings, I would like to use my iPod. The sound quality is not the big issue. I've the owner of the first Belkin Voice Recorder, but as the name says, it's only for voice recording. It simply distorts the sound if the input source is higher than human talking!
Now, we play pretty loud (rock!) and our rehersal room is perhaps 20 m2. Can I use either the Universal Microphone Adapter og the iTalk for recording rehersals, without too much distortion on the recordings. (Meaning: Can the gain control on the UMA or iTalk devices control this high volume input?

Posted by Janus, Denmark on August 20, 2004 at 2:34 AM (PDT)

10

I too play in a band and would like to record our rehearsals for those rare momments where we actually come up with a new song. iPod would be ideal as the idea is to record digitally and e-mail the result to the rest of the band the following day. Does the adapter mean you can plug in any mic to pick up live music?

Posted by Ryan Cook on September 17, 2004 at 2:13 AM (PDT)

11

If i will record a gig with the external mic insert wich adapter shall i choose?
Bad english im from sweden:)

Posted by Tobias on October 4, 2004 at 7:09 AM (PDT)

12

I would like to conduct interviews with my iPod, but the stereo mics don't work, as stated in this review. I have several handhelds, but with a large adapter at the end, plus being plugged into the belkin adapter, that makes for an unwieldly situation.

What other mics are good to use with the system?

Posted by Roland S. Martin in Chicago on December 31, 2004 at 2:01 PM (PDT)

13

Can a male-male cable be used to connect to a portable radio device and record from it? I am not planning on recording music, but am attending a convention at which the events will be broadcast over the radio for the hard of hearing. My wife won't be able to attend for health reasons. Could I use this device to hook a portable radio up to my iPod and record from it? Is there a better way of doing this?

Posted by jdbartlett on June 24, 2005 at 9:49 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.