iSkin eVo | iLounge

Reviews

21

the folks at iskin said to just pull the bottom of the skin up around the iPod to stick it in the dock. kind of like hiking a skirt up.

Posted by monkey on April 26, 2004 at 5:46 AM (PDT)

22

I was wondering if anyone who as bought this product has any opinion about how thick it makes the ipod once it is on. I mean is the ipod really bulky with it on?

Posted by stephanie on April 26, 2004 at 7:38 AM (PDT)

23

I was wondering if anybody who has bought this product found that it made the ipod bulky and thick? Does the evo skin make the ipod feel thick?

Posted by Stephanie on April 26, 2004 at 7:40 AM (PDT)

24

Stephanie, it is only 2mm thick on all but the top center section. That really adds very little to the overall size. So no... It does not make the iPod bulky or thick. Most every other option would be thicker than this and thiner would not provide any protection.

Posted by WTF Over on April 26, 2004 at 2:30 PM (PDT)

25

I have the orange glow in the dark one, and I bought my wife the pink one...Very happy with them. (actually the pink looks better...its more translucent...I hope they come out with some more colors)

Iskin customer service is also very good. The first one I purchased tore after a couple of days (defect)....I emailed a photo of the problem; a new one was sent out (no cost) the same afternoon.

On a completely different note...I found a great way to get rid of scratches on the back of an Ipod. I took it to a watch service center and had them machine buff it for me (if you've ever had a stainless steel watch serviced you'll know how good the results can be). It polished out to a higher standard than a new Ipod (I know because I purchased my wife's Ipod the same day and compared it)...In fact it even removed the 'natural' scratches (graininess) the Ipod comes with.
Obvious disclaimer, do this at your own risk. FYI I asked them to avoid polishing the laser engravings. Also, the back is so smooth now that its VERY slippery and hence easy to drop!!

Posted by Jason on April 26, 2004 at 10:06 PM (PDT)

26

Very unhappy with the revo clip (the skin itself is great).

First of all, it's left TERRIBLE scratches all over the back of the iPod, far worse than without a case.

Second, the stupid clip snapped with a gentle nudge and sent my ipod tumbling to the floor (fortunately the iskin saved it from any major damage, and it landed flat anyway, so no corner bumps).

**Don't trust the clip!!** I'm waiting to hear back from iSkin about what they're going to do about it.

Posted by Henry Williams on April 28, 2004 at 7:25 AM (PDT)

27

When I got my iPod, I could not believe how easily it got scratched. Using the watch pocked in my blue jeans scratched it up pretty good. This case does what it's designed for, protect the iPod, and it protects it very well. My only wish is that it was easier to fit into the dock (I have the ones with speakers). You can pull the bottom of the iPod out through the circle cutout and use the dock, but I think over time, that is going to distort the circle cutout shape. I have cats, and the silicone material collects very fine cat hairs like a magnet. I have tried cleaning the case with dish soap to make it anti-static, even spraying it with silicone spray, but its still a cat hair magnet. The belt clip looks easy to break off, but so far so good. I'm still looking for a nice leather case, but will use this one for outdoor use.

Posted by Scott Richardson on April 28, 2004 at 2:57 PM (PDT)

28

I just got my evo yesterday and I love it. I own 3 #### cases and the belkin leather one, none of them can start to compare to the evo. It is sleek, slim, and works great with my iTrip, that was the selling point for me. I also like iSkins silicone better than Lajos, iskin's is much 'softer' and not as noticeable. I also really like not having the "iskin" logo on the screen protector like the exo2 did.

I am very gentle with my ipod and did not want the control coverage i think that is just overboard unless your hands are always dirty or something. I like having the contrast from the case also.

For the price, it's an extremely nice case, Shipping is a little high but most cases are expensive to ship for some reason. (must be because the evo ships from Ontario, Canada)

I highly recommend this case to anyone looking for a great rubberish case with good protection and great sexy factor.

Posted by Jdog on April 29, 2004 at 6:55 AM (PDT)

29

I've been considering purchasing an iSkin for a few weeks now, and after reading this article and all of the positive feedback, I have decided to get one. Glad I found such a reliable skin.

Posted by Rebecca on April 29, 2004 at 1:33 PM (PDT)

30

I just purchased an Ebony (Black) colored iSkin and then i got to thinking... i wonder if it is any good. I immeaditly came to this site and read all of the reviews. Thanks for the help!...

Posted by Cory on May 1, 2004 at 12:31 PM (PDT)

31

I have gotten my iSkin and am very pleased with it. Before this i had an action jacket i picked up at comp USA and it sucks compared to this. It doesnt pick up as much fur from pets though. This case is much better for people who have accessories like the iTrip, such as myself. The action Jacket had two velcro buckels on the top to keep the case on. It really got in the way when i wanted to use my itrip, where this case does not. It is more protective than the other case and not NEARLY as bulky of materiel. I would recomend this case for sure. Much better than the neoprene action jacket case.

Posted by Cory on May 1, 2004 at 1:06 PM (PDT)

32

Iskin Evo Problems! Beware!
Just purchased a new Iskin EVO "Ghost" which is White and glows blue in the dark. COOL. The case is made well but there is a major design flaw that ipod users should know!

The plastic disc that hold the belt clip in place sits on the inside of the ISKIN and after only two short uses it SEVERLEY SCRATCHES THE CHROME BACK OF YOUR IPOD"

ISkin needs to includes a felt self adhesive disc to stick on the plastic disc or change the material it is made of. It is the edges of the disc that cut into the chrome when you try to put it on your belp the angle is what is cauesing the damage.

I HAVE CONTACTED ISKIN MANUFACTUERS BUT HAVE HEARD NO REPLY!

Scratches when pressing the clip
The scratching occurs when you press down on the clip with your thumb when putting it on your belt buckle or pants. The disc inside the evo has a fairly sharp edge and it cuts into the chrome at this time. I covered mine with a piece of felt with a hot glue gun. So far it seems oK! I skin needs to address this issue or they are going to make many ipod owners very upset!

Posted by May 4th case forum on May 4, 2004 at 2:53 AM (PDT)

33

yeh, as soon as I saw the way the clip sits on the inside of the skin I knew it would stuff the chrome... most(smart) ipod owners know how easy it is to scratch after only a day or 2... I think your stupid to enogh to even try that clip you deserve the scratches.

I know, i'm harsh.

Posted by illa on May 4, 2004 at 7:02 PM (PDT)

34

Hey, ya the Evo rocks but sadly, my Screen Protector came broken, and iskin still hasnt answered me. Veerry Sad. Also can someone email me the link where it shows how people moded the stand to make the case fit. thanks very much

Posted by SupraFan89 on May 6, 2004 at 2:47 PM (PDT)

35

just received the evo and all in all pretty pleased, fit's well and looks good. just one thing i aint a person who'll be wearing it on my hip but if you are that belt clip looks as tho it could do some damage!!

Posted by yoshi in uk on May 8, 2004 at 6:30 AM (PDT)

36

the belt clip just snapped off the moment i used it.

Posted by Andy on May 8, 2004 at 2:20 PM (PDT)

37

Did any one else notice a really strong odor with the glow in the dark evo? Maybe I'm just sensitive but it was really buggin me. I'm not sure if I'll keep it.

Posted by Rodney on May 14, 2004 at 11:13 PM (PDT)

38

HELLO! people wake up...most the colors dont look like on the site...pink does though, its prettiest in real life annd on the site. GET PINK

Posted by jot rimble on May 18, 2004 at 5:56 PM (PDT)

39

To bad I didn't read this review before I bought the iSkin evo. I am displeased with the color. I bought the Vamp (shown in review) and yes, it does look bland. Secondly, the screen saver, came pre-scratched from the factory. I have been able to buff most of them out with a fine polish, but I expect more. Finally, the belt clip Andy mentioned, plainly sucks. Mine broke after a week of use. As for the case it self, I think it is well made, and I like that is covers the iPod well. Oh, one last thing, I tried the dock connector on my Belkin card reader and the fit is uncomfortably snug. The Belin plug pinchs the case as it locks in, but I think it puts a lot of stress on the connectors locking clips. You can massage the a little until is wraps around the connector instead or in between. Bottom line, not worth the price. Damaged screen protector, worthless belt clip and $7.50 S&H?

Posted by Don on May 18, 2004 at 10:00 PM (PDT)

40

May I ask if anyone has seen the Sonic Blue EVO? It looks awesome on the web. The reason for my concern is that members, such as jot rumble, say that the colors do not look as they do on the site.

Posted by Spencer04 in East Coast on May 20, 2004 at 4:12 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.