Belkin Digital Camera Link | iLounge

Reviews

21

It would be interesting to see compare to the Delkin USB Brigde for iPod.

Posted by Willi on May 14, 2004 at 1:00 AM (PDT)

22

Eric - HOW are you using the SD minicruzer and 7 in 1 usb card reader to transfer pictures from SD cards to the iPod? Are you using the Belkin product?

Posted by judlh on May 14, 2004 at 9:05 PM (PDT)

23

We've GOT to get cable connex between cameras and the iPod. I want to download my pictures from my Fujifilm Finepix camera directly into the iPod without having to view them or anything! The camera LCD screen should be enough for proofing the pictures. All I need is to be able to use the 20GB iPod for it's tremendous storage abilities.

Posted by Mysticzephyr in USA on May 19, 2004 at 7:45 AM (PDT)

24

We've GOT to get cable connex between cameras and the iPod. I want to download my pictures from my Fujifilm Finepix camera directly into the iPod without having to view them or anything! The camera LCD screen should be enough for proofing the pictures. All I need is to be able to use the 20GB iPod for it's tremendous storage abilities.

Posted by Mysticzephyr in USA on May 19, 2004 at 7:47 AM (PDT)

25

I have been able to use a cheap $10 CF reader (PNY brand) to connect to the Belkin device and transferred about 481 mb of pictures to my iPod in an average time of 11 minutes.

Posted by kungfu7 on May 25, 2004 at 9:22 AM (PDT)

26

How is the Ipod's battery life with the Belkin Digital Camera Link? How many mb can you transfer until the iPod dies?

Posted by Jay on May 27, 2004 at 10:32 AM (PDT)

27

I have the DCL and a Kodak Cx6330 Camera (which is listed as compatible) and an Ipod. When I make the transfer the files from the digi cam's internal memory, they don't show up on the Ipod. Does anyone know if this thing only transfers from memory cards or Internal camera memory as well???

Posted by SkiinDread on June 4, 2004 at 9:29 AM (PDT)

28

1. Has anyone tried this with the Sony DSC-T1? It is listed on the compatibility chart, but real life experience is always better.

2. I am assuming that since it is plugging into the camera that it doesn't matter whether or not I am using a Memory Stick Duo Pro?

3. Is there any way for it to get movies off of the memory stick on my T-1? That's really the reason I want this thing. I can take almost 200 5 megapixel photos on my 512 meg memory stick, but I can only take 6 minutes of 640x480 30fps video. I'm going on vacation and I would like this thing to be able to pull the video off the memory stick onto my iPod. If it can't do video I don't think I will get it :(.

Thanks all! Excellent Review!

Posted by Michael on June 23, 2004 at 5:47 AM (PDT)

29

Hello, everyone. I'm new here and I don't know much about how this stuff works, so bear with me. I have a 40G ipod, the Belkin Digital Camera Link, and a Cannon digital camera that is NOT compatible with the Belkin product. I know that there is a way to bypass the problem using a card reader, but does anyone know which one specifically I need?

Thanks.

Posted by Adam on June 28, 2004 at 11:41 AM (PDT)

30

If you plug a card reader into the DCL you overcome the camera battery drain so basically DCL + Card Reader = Much faster and cheaper Media reader than the previous one. Also this way you don't get camera compatability issues because you're transferring via a card read. The question is WHICH CARD READERS WORK?

Posted by Luke Winter on July 1, 2004 at 4:30 AM (PDT)

31

Could anyone tell me why this wont work with the mini? Is it a software issue? For heavens sake, why won't they make the mini work like its bigger brother. If it were a size issue that would make sense, but this product doesn't require a specific size. Does anyone else see an issue here?

Posted by Bret Benziger on July 4, 2004 at 6:03 PM (PDT)

32

is it available in aus?

Posted by aussiegirl in Australia on July 5, 2004 at 7:02 PM (PDT)

33

Does Belkin Digital Camera Link works with a: Fuji FinePix S5000 Camera???

Posted by mauricio ponce on July 7, 2004 at 5:23 PM (PDT)

34

This device (as well as the original media reader, and all voice recording add-ons) do not work with the Mini because the Mini software doesn't support any of those functions. Plain and simple. It's quite possible there is actually different hardware in use to make the mini as small as it is, and thus those features simply can't exist. This limitation was well known when the mini was introduced, why would you expect that it would have changed?

Posted by Patrick on July 26, 2004 at 4:22 PM (PDT)

35

The Digital Camera Link works great with my Olympus C-730. This is a cheaper soluction than carrying around several extra xD cards.

Wish I'd known about the 12345 coupon code at Belkin's web site - it still offers 50% off (August 05 - 04).

This is a great product - I highly reccommend it.

Oh, and it works with Sanyo's new Xacti C1 digital camcorder, too.

Posted by davidosus on August 5, 2004 at 2:33 AM (PDT)

36

Just heard from Belkin Customer Service, they will be coming out with a new Digital Camera Link "in the next few weeks" that will be compatible with the 4G IPods. Right the current model is out of stock at Belkin store.

Posted by kenshu7 on August 5, 2004 at 2:19 PM (PDT)

37

Works with the Nikon Coolpix 5200. Available in Aus at [url=http://www.propellerhead.com.au]http://www.propellerhead.com.au[/url] or [url=http://www.justmemorycards.com]http://www.justmemorycards.com[/url]

Posted by vchapman on August 8, 2004 at 2:20 AM (PDT)

38

Has anyone tried using the camera link with the 4G ipod yet? I just got one at a terrific price from the belkin website (50% off) and am buying a 4G shortly. Also, has anyone tried it with a Nikon 4300?

Posted by zigazag on August 11, 2004 at 5:27 PM (PDT)

39

No need to drain the camera batteries. Any compact usb CF card reader should work with the Digital Camera link.

It seems in my experience that the batteries on the camera link are draining a touch faster since it is powering the card reader too. I didn't mind this since the AA's are easily purchased and cheap versus the downtime to charge the camera battery if you only have one battery.

I took this on a two week trip and it worked great with my Canon G3 and no need for the laptop. A side note, if your camera does not work the first time, change the mass storage option and try again.

Posted by bowerybum on August 15, 2004 at 10:57 AM (PDT)

40

This thing works - for the most part - with both 3G and 4G iPods. It has worked without a hitch with my Canon S500. It does not work with my Canon Dreb (300D) even though it is listed as a compatible source. If you load the CF card from the 300D to the S500 it works.

Most importantly the link will read a CF card using a ScanDisk Model SDDR-91 - and it's fast! Battery life has not been a problem with about 512 worth of downloads.

My problem has been getting my XP computer to recognize my 4G iPod. The iPod will show up in iTunes but not as a drive except when it is updating music in iTunes. Can anyone help?

Delkin is sending a new reader with a firmware update to see if we can make the 300D work. I'll report what happens.

Bottom line is that this is well worth the money in my opinion. While it may not be as easy as a dedicated device like an X-drive but you get an iPod for almost the same money.

Posted by justarasta on August 18, 2004 at 4:40 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 4 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.