Shure E3c Earphones | iLounge

Reviews

41

where in Atlanta can i get the SHURE E2c ? i have a friend going next week and i want him to get it for me. if u have a web site that is pricer than atlanta street price please post it

Posted by GSY on July 26, 2004 at 4:08 PM (PDT)

42

I recieved mine today, and after about 5 hours of fooling around with them I am at a standstill. I have been using the sony ex71's for portable use, and I shift between bose quiet comfort II's and sennheiser 570s (depending on what type of music I'm listening to) for home use. To tell you the truth these earbuds sound great, WHEN THEY STAY IN MY EARS. The quality is up there, but not as I would have expected from the extremely positive reviews spattered about the internet. Perhaps my ears are just too weird to accept them, for not one of the flex (clear or grey) sleeves fit my ears. They all fall out, and even if i shove the middle size in, the isolation is horrible and the headphone is not able to functiion as it should. The foam inserts were my last resorts, and I can get them to work, but they still fall out after 15 minutes or so. The funny thing is that one of my ears will fit the foam perfectly, and it will not fall out, but the other just isn't having it. I am totally dissipointed, and I might have to let these go to ebay. My only hope is to look into the custom made gels, my Jabra gel fits perfectly. My only concern is that the cost of the custom gels won't be worth it for a sub-$200 pair of ear buds.. anybody have any advice?

Posted by louis on July 27, 2004 at 6:54 PM (PDT)

43

I have the etyomic er-4 and LOVE THEM SO MUCH. But- they absolutely cannot be used walking or on a treadmill- you hear the wire banging on your body and it's no ok. I want to get something nearly as good for walking and get rid of my apple ipod crummy ones. Can anyone tell me- do the Shure E3c have this same problem with cord noise? I'm not seeing complaints (except one guy who heard his feet on the ground)on this but I would think they would have the same problem. Because when your ears are closed up you hear every internal body noise extra loud- like chewing or whatever. But- ok so anyone use these regularly for walking? Please reply and help me out!

Posted by Julie on August 1, 2004 at 5:21 AM (PDT)

44

I just got my E3C today. I had difficulty trying to get them on at first. However, after a few tries, I can now put them on and off quite easily. As far as sound quality is concerned, all I can say is WOW. It is now difficult to go back to the Apple buds. The sound isolation of the ultra flex sleeves (they are very comfortable; I use the small size) is also more than good enough for me. I can now enjoy my iPod mini in the living room without having to keep telling the kids to turn down the TV volume. BTW, I can still hear ambient noise a little bit when the iPod is OFF. When the iPod is ON, I can't hear anything from the outside. Just me and my music.

Money well spent.

Posted by PATB on August 1, 2004 at 6:18 PM (PDT)

45

I've had these for about two weeks and have experimented with them a lot. Here's what I found. The sleeves you use make a HUGE HUGE difference in the sound quality. I had initially been using the gray ones. Tried both the small and medium sizes. Was somewhat disappointed in the sound quality. While it sounded very clean and flat, I felt it was missing depth/color. I actually considered returning them at one point. I recently switched to the clear sleeves and still can't believe how different the sound is. I guess they make a better seal because these now sound really good. Three dimensional, which was missing before. I still need to see how comfortable the clear sleeves are to wear for an extended period of time. Never had a problem with the gray ones.

I think these are great earphones. I'm a DJ and use Shure needles and will tell you they make real high quality products. These earphones definitely take a while to get used to because of the way they go in, but the main review above it right - it's definitely a superior way to wear earphones.

Posted by GWass on August 8, 2004 at 1:17 PM (PDT)

46

My dad bought these for me for my birthday, and I'm so sad that he spent $180 on me. I hated them, I'm sorry I know everyone's ears are different, but because of how far these things cram in your ears (especially if you roll over while trying to go to sleep and listen to some relaxign tunes at the same time) I got splitting headaches. Also, since your ears feel plugged your brain says "Your ears are plugged you should hear nothing right now" yet you hear great sound quality music. I spent hours trying to figure out why I felt so uncomfortable and that was my conclusion. Now I wear the apple in ear buds, and I love them. The sound quality isn't nearly as good as the Shures, but if you like to listen to music while going to sleep on your side, I recommend the apple in ear buds for comfort. I can't even feel them. And they stay in all day and night without a hint of discomfort. I guess it's all a matter of personal preference though.

Posted by Kendall Barnes on August 10, 2004 at 12:16 PM (PDT)

47

anybody have any advice on where and how mucha nd what to expect for custom ear plugs for my e3's...i love the sound but the fit isnt that great for me so i am looking for custom molds but dont know aht to think or do so give me some advice!

Posted by rivlinm in saint louis on August 10, 2004 at 5:49 PM (PDT)

48

These 'phones were a task to track down in England but once found i managed to haggle the seller down to a price in comparison to internet stores. These are great 'phones with amazing clarity, sure the bass isn't for those bass addicts who like to distort there music, but it is there and i get my level of satisfaction out of it. One thing thought is that it requires a good seal to get anything out of these.
In conclusion these are great and a great improvement over the E2c's and incomparable to the stock iPod 'phones.
A definate must!

Posted by Will Burn on August 15, 2004 at 2:42 AM (PDT)

49

I just ordered some E3C's and am anxiously awaiting their arrival. However, I am torn by the glowing reviews of the Sony MDR-EX71SL/EX70SL headphones hear on the Lounge. Anybody have experience with both?

I am an electronica listener and like my bass to be crisp, but not overpowering.

Posted by Jon on August 20, 2004 at 11:30 AM (PDT)

50

I am an electronica listener and like my bass to be crisp, but not overpowering.[quote/]

if this is what you want i think you would struggl to find better phones.

Posted by Will Burn on August 22, 2004 at 12:47 AM (PDT)

51

I cant decide wether I should get the Shure E2c or the E3c anyone know what whould be better

Posted by ipodman on August 23, 2004 at 9:33 AM (PDT)

52

Jon, i had the ex71sl and have the ex51lp.. i got to try on the E3's in the airport on satuday night.. i ordered my E3's sunday!!! can't wait to get them..

Posted by LTR/RTL on August 23, 2004 at 4:46 PM (PDT)

53

I owned these buds for about 48 hours - just couldn't make them feel right. Not only that, at times they were downright painful to insert. I really don't like the idea of inserting an earbud that far down the ear canal. Also, the "behind-the-back" route for the cord may be good for stage musicians, but for me it was a huge PITA, especially when I would twist my head, the bud would get pulled and dislodge and then I would have to go through the entire tortuous process of re-inserting it. To top it off - they didn't really sound that great! Certainly not an improvement over the Sony SL 71's...JMHO and YMMV...best, BP.

Posted by BizPod in Phoenix, AZ USA on August 25, 2004 at 2:55 PM (PDT)

54

I purchased the E2c's a while ago and was very pleased with them. When I saw the E3c's available online for $129 I decided to try them. After comparing both side by side for a few hours I came to conclusions similar to other postings here and elsewhere online.

The same volume setting on the iPod is considerably louder on the E3's. The clarity is also much better on the E3's. Initially I thought the bass response was a lot better on the E2's but after listening to several different types of music I realized that while the bass is more prevalent on the E2's, it's not as clear. Trying the different EQ settings on the iPod has allowed me to get a little more bass response from the E3's while retaining the clarity.

Sleeves.....the sleeve you use definitely has a huge impact on the sound. When I bought the E3's I also purchased a pair of the triple-flange sleeves. Imo shipping the E3's without including these sleeves in the box is an injustice. Much better fit and sound isolation and well worth an extra $10.

Overall I'm very pleased with the E3's. Especially considering I paid $99 for the E2's and only $129 for the E3's.

Posted by Octavian on September 23, 2004 at 2:26 AM (PDT)

55

I have a question regarding the use of the iPod remote. I just recently purchased the E3C's and it was a close call between them and the ER6i's. But I am very happy with my purchase even though I havn't given them sufficent time to "burn" in. I have an iPod Mini and fly a lot. Often crammed in close quarters and wanting to change my songs and playlists often, I really enjoy the ease of the remote. My question is - How much am I sacrifising the quality of the sound by using the remote with the Mini. I know that the longer cord and having two plugs must cause some loss of power or quality, but how much? Am I wasting the use of the headphones by plugging them into the remote? Someone please let me know your thoughts.

Best regards,

David

Posted by David on October 20, 2004 at 8:49 AM (PDT)

56

Students can get E3c's for $139 at http://www.academicsuperstore.com/q/tname/f/item-index/v/Earphones/index.html?sourcecode=lcg&promocode=0DFP02XX

Posted by Christopher on October 25, 2004 at 8:46 AM (PDT)

57

If anyone thinks this phone does not have enough bass, he must not have a good seal. I first bought an E2C, loved it. Then tried the E3C. First trial was very disappointing. I put it away for a few hours (planning to return it). After reading this post in more detail, I decided to give it a try again. This time more focused on the seal. I tried the yellow foam this time. I was TOTALLY SURPRISED by the results! Bass was as tight (if not more 'ture) than the E2C. Mid and Low are distinctly much better/clearer than the E2C.

I am returning the E2C and keeping the E3C. It's worth every penny. BTW: You could get a E3C for less than $130 at Proaudiosuperstore.com.

Enjoy!

Posted by iPOD Ben on October 25, 2004 at 7:43 PM (PDT)

58

Anyone thinks this phone does not have good bass must not have a good seal. I first got a E2C and was pretty happy with it. I then bought a E3C to try it out after reading some very good reviews. I was disappointed at first because I had similar negative experience as some of the reviews here - sound was too tinny and bass was non existence. I almost decided to return the E3C. However, I read some more reviews on the internet and convinced myself I should give it one more try (after I packed the phone back in the package). With some adjustment of the phone into my ears, I got amazing good results! When inserted in the ears properly (with good seal), the sound is definitely (significantly) better than E2C! I was amazed by the bass (much trurer than E2C) and the much clarity at the mid and high. I got it at proaudio.com for less than $130. This is definitely worth every penny of it. I don't think I can use any other phones from now on!!!

Posted by iPOD Ben on October 30, 2004 at 11:13 PM (PDT)

59

Has anyone tried using the optional Triple-Flange Sleeves ? How do they sound and do they stay put more than the included flex and foam sleeves. I'm having problems keeping them in my ears. Does anyone know?

Posted by Musax in Union City, CA on November 22, 2004 at 9:18 PM (PDT)

60

Just to let everyone know that ecost.com is selling E3C's for only 114.99. There's only a couple days left. I already bought mine... it sounds great. Hurry.

Posted by Musax in Union City, CA on December 3, 2004 at 9:49 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.