Sennheiser MX500 Headphones | iLounge

Reviews

21

Best Bang for the buck-hands down, Sony MDR EX-71; at $49.95 at US Apple Stores, once broken in, provide superior bass response, and acheive adequate isolation for most pro-sumer's needs. Also, their small in-ear form factor (also comes with variable-sized rubber earbuds), as well as a 2-piece gold-plated cord that splits at about 18"-accommodates the iPod remote perfectly. For iPod purists, look for the white version (comes in Black and White). Right price point for sound quality trade-off.

For mid-sized Supra-Aural, try the Sony MDR-V6s...great sound and isolation for a fraction of the price of similar quality Grados or Senn's...and not fatiguing to the ear after prolonged exposure.

Posted by mastacylinda on June 25, 2004 at 9:02 PM (PDT)

22

well first off, the px200s are great, but they took a lot of breaking in before they start sounding smooth. and they do block out a lot of sound, you really dont notice because they do it in a very soft way, but its a nice touch if your using these in the city of for commuting.

i had the sony 71s and calling them "pro-sumer" is crap. they really reproduce the music in an extremely unnatural way. they seem to vibe very well with MD, but not with the ipod, dont ask me why, but thats what i noticed.

anyway, as for comparing the px100/200 to the 497s, i find the px200s which i own to sound much better, but thats personal taste. iv heard some people complain that the 200s are bass heavy and unnatrual, but i cant seem to notice and iv tried quite a few headphones (although nothing above $100, what can i saw, im a poor student).

anyhoo, ipodlounge, once again, if you could break in your headphones before you test (for my suprestisios sake) that would be awsome!

~EO

Posted by einars on June 26, 2004 at 6:45 AM (PDT)

23

I have the PX100s and listen to them at the gym. I think they sound great and are very comfortable. They also fold up into a small package. They cost about $40.

Posted by David Enzel on June 26, 2004 at 7:37 AM (PDT)

24

I just bought the px200's and they sound great. I don't like ear buds or behind the necks do these are perfect. I enjoy all music from classical to jazz and the sound in these headphones is vey crisp. I think the folding aspect makes them good for travel as well.

Posted by fredly47 in South Forida on June 26, 2004 at 11:14 AM (PDT)

25

Bang & Olufsen A8 Earbuds.

They look wonderful and sound blissful - very complete low range and ridiculously detailed treble. I used to sell these and ended up buying some for myself - I've never regretted it smile



Rich::

Posted by Richard Gilbert on June 26, 2004 at 4:10 PM (PDT)

26

the headphones that come with the ipod are just fine. they have awsome treble, but terrible bass. i jus went out and got some sony street style. thoes are pretty sweet. pretty good bass. if u want a buyers guide, check this out.
http://www.headphone.com/layout.php

Posted by laxman2211 in us on June 26, 2004 at 7:16 PM (PDT)

27

When I bought my ipod i bought a pair of Sennheiser headphones. I go tthe PX100's for 30.00 of amazon.com. They are excellent. They sound better than my fathers 200 dollar sonys. Its well worth the money!

Posted by Nik on June 27, 2004 at 1:45 PM (PDT)

28

In regards to the PX-200's, I'm in awe that anyone testing headphones wouldn't break them in before listening to them. The Px-200's are notorious for their long break in period. To say the results are subpar, just makes me question your methods for testing. The PX-200 might be more muffled compared to the PX-100's, but no way in hell are these less than great portable headphones and I've pretty much officially tried them all. Sure they are no ETY's or high end enclosed headphones or achieve the bass of Koss's KSC-35's, but they block out sound reasonably well and if you adjust them correctly, you can attain a good seal. It's one of the downsides you make with these headphones. Either you can't get a proper fitting and you are disappointed by the sound or you achieve a good seal and they sound brilliant, but to rule them out so easily is bordering on ignorance in my opinion.

Posted by LTM on June 27, 2004 at 2:12 PM (PDT)

29

I'm also going throw in a plug (no pun intended) for the PX-250's. I took a flight about six months ago with my iPod and couldn't get past just how horrible it sounded and fatigued my ears felt after just four hours of use (I typically use $20 Sony MDR-ED228's, which I really enjoy). Before the return trip, I purchased the PX-250's because of their noise cancelling abilities, and I can't tell you how happy I am that I did. I've flown two other round trips, plus Amtrak rides, and each time I'm thrilled with the performance of these headphones. They don't work miracles -- they block mostly lower frequency noise and not the mid and high stuff. You can usually find them for $99 or less (think J&R).

The last time I tried noise-cancelling 'phones, I felt like my ears were being sucked out by a mini vacuum cleaner. These aren't like that at all. I wouldn't hesitate to wear these on a daily basis - they sound great for their size, and don't leak much noise outside. On the other hand, for about the same money, I'd take my MDR-7506's any day over these, but they're also 3x the size. Tradeoffs, right?

The biggest downside is the pocket-flashlight-sized electronics compartment halfway down the cord. It holds 2xAAA batts and the noise cancelling circuitry. It's a pain in the ###, totally gets in the way, and is the single reason I don't use these cans on the subway or the street. What that means is that I'm up to three separate sets of headphones depending on the environment. MDR-ED228's on the subway, PX-250's while travelling, MDR-7206's when home. If I didn't hate canalphones so much, I'd probably replace all of them with one set, but they all serve their purpose.

Posted by Jeff D on June 29, 2004 at 12:03 PM (PDT)

30

I wear a hearing aide in both ears and cannot use the ear buds. Any comments anyone has about any of these headphones would be appreciated.

Posted by Bruce on June 30, 2004 at 1:28 PM (PDT)

31

The PX-200s need break in, big time, and then sound quite fine, the iPod offers very accurate bass as opposed to BOOM BOOM bass, and finally, easily the best headphones I've heard in a small package are the Shure E5c. They cost $500, but have separate woofer and tweeter drivers on each side, fit in the ear but are extremely comfortable, and when properly fitted with the correct size silicone inserts, isolate extremely well (as well as most "noise cancelling" headphones) and have tight, fast, and deep audiophile quality bass. They are the first headphones I've heard that can reproduce the timbre and "touch" of a grand piano...they do "texture" and "harmonic structure" better than any headphones I've heard. If you travel allot and listen to classical music, they're worth the money, though Beck sounds equally awesome

Posted by grooves on June 30, 2004 at 5:57 PM (PDT)

32

I've got the MX 500's and they are a lot better than the standard pack. The volume control is very handy.

Posted by PaulS in England on July 2, 2004 at 4:46 AM (PDT)

33

The ipod inear headphones are the best

Posted by Chad on July 2, 2004 at 12:18 PM (PDT)

34

I use the PX-100s which are $20 less. The only difference is the 200s leak less sound - intended to be less intrusive for those around you. Ideal solution if, like me, you can't stand earbuds.

Posted by Chris on July 2, 2004 at 10:48 PM (PDT)

35

Uh, there's a *lot* of difference in sound quality between the PX-100's and PX-200's. Have you actually listened to the 200's, Chris? The 100's are much more open and have a larger soundstage. Music sounds much more natural through the 100's. The 200's are much better at avoiding leakage, but with a cost.

Posted by elob on July 7, 2004 at 8:00 PM (PDT)

36

The PX-200 and the PXC-250 (active noise cancelling model) have been reviewed extensively as having excellent response curves a natural, accurate soundstage, clarity and presence. Perhaps Jeremey found a bum pair of cans. The low freq noise cancelling (250) combined with passive blocking (both models, if you get them to fit right!) is adequate and comparible to 'phones costing twice the price. They are rather high impedence and therefore do not play as loudly some as others, possibly an issue for the 200, but the amp in the 250 provides a boost. And, of course, if you dont need to overcome ambient noise, you can listen quite comfortably at lower volume levels, and save damaging your hearing for clubs and concerts.

Posted by Larry on July 8, 2004 at 9:46 PM (PDT)

37

Just had my standard issue ipod earphones stolen and need to replace them. I mostly play dance music, so like a bit of base. What do you recommend?

Posted by Gordy on July 10, 2004 at 2:29 AM (PDT)

38

The MX500's represent an excellent value. At work, I usually listen to them through a dedicated (JMT Audio PIMETA Home) headphone amp. Straight out of my computer they sound very good, too. They allow me to hear the phone ring while the music is playing--which is a good thing for me.

The MX500's presentation is smooth, detailed and airy. At home, they more than hold their own when played though a Meier Audio PreHead headphone amp (although my decided preference for a "high end" listening experience is the Etymotic ER-4S). With the neat little foam coverlets in place over the ear pieces, they are comfortable and non-fatiguing over many hours of listening.

At $19.95 list, and typically available on the internet for about $15, the MX500's are an outstanding bargain. Highly recommended!

Posted by Patrick on July 12, 2004 at 10:52 AM (PDT)

39

the guys at sennheiser really know how to make headphones. i haven't tried the 3 above, but i do have a px100 for my ipod (with volumebooster). breakin time is a little longer than most other headphones because of the folding pads, but once you get usd to them every piece of music sound totally different. they pick up things you never knew existed

Posted by kades on August 18, 2004 at 3:38 PM (PDT)

40

I have tried the PX100 and ended up buying the PX200s. The PX100s are GREAT, but have quite a bit of sound leakage. I recommend the PX200s if you intend on using them in a quiet environment.

Posted by Imagoro on September 3, 2004 at 6:10 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.