Bluetake i-Phono BT420EX Bluetooth Wireless Headphones | iLounge

Reviews

1

Price take is way too large for something like this. Grab yourself an iPod mini or a pair of Shure e3c instead of this. I can't imagine anyone having a good use for these, especially considering the nicer wireless models made my Sennheiser and the like. Awfully rediculous if you ask me.

Posted by Guru in Indiana on July 6, 2004 at 7:52 PM (PDT)

2

Neat technology... not ready for primetime (for headphones, anyway).

Still... all cool stuff starts off as not-so-cool. This one has a head start at "Happy" :-D.

While I'm not enamored with these, it excites me that wireless headphones are becoming a reality for portable devices... Bring it on!!!!

Posted by azdude_15gb on July 6, 2004 at 8:06 PM (PDT)

3

it would be cool if Ten Technologies specially made ipod bluetooth headset that connects straight to the dock port of the ipod had controls for volume and foward and back track controls for the ipod as well.

besides this being really ugly to wear. it's pretty cool...wouldnt waste my money on it though

Posted by trunksgoku on July 6, 2004 at 8:33 PM (PDT)

4

HAHA

Posted by neo on July 7, 2004 at 1:47 AM (PDT)

5

What ever happend to Ten Technologies and Xtrememac, they both announced bluetooth wireless headphone devices in Jan 2004. Are they both having a lot of trouble?.

Posted by Dinesh Jeram on July 7, 2004 at 5:05 AM (PDT)

6

They could've included remote control, it ain't that hard. Pressing a button would activate a comment in the BT device and the BT device could send the necessary code to change volume/track, play/pause, etc.

Posted by iyiinsan on July 7, 2004 at 5:20 AM (PDT)

7

I'd say this is the bluetooth headphone equivalent to the first creative mp3 jukebox which had a full-sized harddrive built in, 2 hours battery time and looked like crap...

And look how far we've come....ok not that far but consider what the 6th generation of these will look like!

Posted by Aptmunich on July 7, 2004 at 6:11 AM (PDT)

8

The size of those defeat the purpose. I may as well just tape my ipod to a pair of headphones and wear it on my head as well.

:0)

Posted by Anthony on July 7, 2004 at 6:12 AM (PDT)

9

Wow! Great technology, but pointless! For that price you could buy an iPod mini! smile AND my favorite part is how the transmitter is like half the size of the ipod itself. What's the point. Given the choice to get in line to buy or not to buy, I'll take line of not to buy! smile

Posted by rockstar on July 7, 2004 at 8:26 AM (PDT)

10

If you have to deal with FM-like hiss, why not just get some wireless AM/FM radio headphones and an ITRIP? Even a great AM/FM headset is only $125-150, Itrip is $35... So $160-$185 is cheaper and you get AM/FM functionality and the option to use the IPOD in the car and on home stereos. Is there any good reason this approach won't work?

Posted by mjparker on July 7, 2004 at 9:31 AM (PDT)

11

i would like to see apple design a pair of bluetooth headphones that worked directly with my powerbooks built in bluetooth bus, via core audio of course, this could also pave the way for a bluetooth enabled 4G ipod. let's face it, having a dongle sticking out of your ipod not ideal, and it goes through the headphone jack instead of the dock? no wonder the audio quality sucks. while we're on the subject a good bluetooth gamepad would be nice too. and bluetooth midi controller... of course that would mean a lot of dough spent on AA batteries, or a lot of chargers cluttering up everything... still.

Posted by zzz... on July 7, 2004 at 10:34 AM (PDT)

12

Absolutely pointless

while some may argue its ok since its "paving the way" for new wireless technologies, so what, lets say
the price drops to 30 bucks and everyone goes out and buys them....the air would be filled with bluetooth signals you'd be listnening to someone elses ipod every few min.!!!


Why dont componies invest money in inventing products with "REAL LIFE APPLICATION".....i have yet to see a "perfect" ipod case.....

anyone that buys this is.....well......you could have gotten an ipod mini!

Posted by Badkarma89 on July 7, 2004 at 5:17 PM (PDT)

13

I think that your bluetooth device has to connect with the other device...so I don't think there should be interference from others like it.

Posted by Layla on July 7, 2004 at 6:40 PM (PDT)

14

I saw another review for this product on hardware-pacer. They gave this product a silver award.
http://www.hardware-pacers.com/pages.php?pid=287&catType=r

Posted by mimi on July 7, 2004 at 7:43 PM (PDT)

15

the hardware-pacer review is funny stuff. all reviews should have 5 pages of pictures and a "conclusion" that the product "is probably the most incredible multimedia device out there" hehehehe

Posted by 64 on July 7, 2004 at 8:13 PM (PDT)

16

Rockstar,
The only advantage this has over your iTrip/Wireless FM headphones is the added bonus of being able to use it with a cell phone. So, decide if an extra $50 is worth that feature...but otherwise I think you have a great idea! I wouldn't be surprised to see more people doing that.

Posted by eradlmann on July 8, 2004 at 5:27 AM (PDT)

17

I'll wait till the technology improves, and cost is driven down.

The device looks more of a hassle than using standard headphones.

Posted by Todd on July 8, 2004 at 10:37 AM (PDT)

18

If you always focus on "is it worth to buy for my iPod?", turely, the product seems freak with its present price and look, however, I still thank its great bluetooth benefit and multiple functions.

Posted by BlueShining on July 9, 2004 at 4:29 AM (PDT)

19

When I search on the web about this product I found two more reviews for i-phono. Does anyone has one on hand? I really like to know the feedback from a end user instead of those reviewers.
http://www.the-gadgeteer.com/bluetake-bt420-iphono-review.html
http://www.geekzone.co.nz/content.asp?contentid=3006

Posted by mini on July 9, 2004 at 8:51 AM (PDT)

20

Dongle?

Posted by GreyCleric on July 9, 2004 at 1:10 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.