Macally PodCase Armband | iLounge

Reviews

1

Bought the MacAlly car charger in Canada and brought in back to the UK in my Saab and it works!! Blue light comes on and charges my iPod. It may be the car you're using?

Posted by MikeyMoo on July 12, 2004 at 12:01 PM (PDT)

2

Don't blame the equipment, blame the user. 90% of the time it is the user that is faulty not the equipment.

Posted by toothpaste in NYC on July 12, 2004 at 1:15 PM (PDT)

3

It was a defective part. Tried it in two cars (with three total cigarette lighter/charger ports), two iPods, two cables, no go. We have tested easily more than half a dozen other iPod chargers, and numerous other charging accessories for other devices, in the exact same vehicles, charger slots, etc. with no problems whatsoever.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz on July 12, 2004 at 1:27 PM (PDT)

4

Jeremy,
toothpaste just called you faulty! You going to take that from a generic household disposable product? Hey toothpaste! Jeremy outta shove his defective MacAlly iPodCarCharger up your....

Posted by saniko on July 12, 2004 at 6:40 PM (PDT)

5

ouhahahahhahahhahahahh!!!!

Posted by word on July 12, 2004 at 7:48 PM (PDT)

6

Jeremy,

I bought a belkin car charger and it was defective. I assumed, unlike you, that it was isolated and not a product design problem. The new one works fine. Did you ever consider exchanging before reviewing? Just a thought.

Posted by Feeling mean-spirited today on July 13, 2004 at 3:39 AM (PDT)

7

That case is huge. Think I'll be sticking with my Roadie. I second mean-spirited, maybe you should try returning the charger and testing a new one.

Posted by Matt on July 13, 2004 at 6:19 AM (PDT)

8

No one said that it was a product design problem, just that the one we received did not work properly.

Following a period in which almost all of the iPod-connecting accessories released into the marketplace were Apple authorized and designed to be safe to use, we've recently seen an infusion of cheaply made, unauthorized iPod accessories that are of lower quality and reliability. This concerns us because the products may represent a bad value, even at lower apparent price tags, and can conceivably do harm to the iPods they are connected to.

Another product we are about to review is a very inexpensive power accessory that, most likely due to the fact it's unauthorized, does not bother to regulate power to the iPod properly. As a result, it appeared to stress the iPod's internal battery and rapidly burn out its own batteries, making a loud sizzling noise all the while.

While there is nothing wrong with an "unauthorized" product per se, we will indicate to our readers when we have problems with a product. If the reviewable unit we receive for testing purposes has problems, that's not a good sign for the average person who receives something.

This may be different from the practice of publications that will only give you the results of their best tests, or only bother to review products that they can say good things about. Our feeling is that our readers deserve to know the truth about our experiences, and should be able to make up their own minds as to whether to take the risks that their experiences will be similar.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz on July 13, 2004 at 7:08 AM (PDT)

9

You are all crazy, and please calm down

Posted by Bo on July 13, 2004 at 6:54 PM (PDT)

10

I don't mean to sound like a smartass, but in most cars you do have to start the vehicle to get the cigarette lighter to work. If you did actually do that, please disregard. Otherwise, open your hand and proceed to smack yourself on the forehead while saying "D'oh!" smile

Posted by Greg on July 13, 2004 at 8:15 PM (PDT)

11

I bought the Griffin PowerPod and it works great.

It comes with a 3G to FireWire cable (I wanted another anway so that I could leave the dock plugged into the mains all the time) and it looks perfect.

I would highly recommend the PowerPod

Posted by Fearghal Kelly in UK on July 16, 2004 at 1:10 AM (PDT)

12

Does anyone know if the armband works when the iPod is in an iSkin evo?

Posted by Jay on August 3, 2004 at 10:20 AM (PDT)

13

Just bought a MacAlly car charger. Worked first time, though not until the ignition was on. I also confirmed that my new iTrip was working fine with my FM radio.

Turned off my iPod (4g 20 gig) and got the Charging icon on the screen.

I'd say it works just fine, and you either got a bad charger, or your ignition was off when you tried to use the charger.

Posted by FloydC on September 22, 2004 at 12:50 PM (PDT)

14

My 3G 20gb with iSkin evo fits in the armband, albeit somewhat tightly. I have been using the armband at the gym with both my iPod and a Rio Carbon for about four months. I have some quibbles with some of the construction of the armband. 1.) The pass through in the cover for the power cable is actually annoying in that it makes removing a device more difficult, since the earphone plug in catches on the hole (I don't route the earphone cable through the hole, since I use the combo elsewhere = not in the armband). 2.) There is very little "give"/ stretch to the armband, hence one must keep it quite tight in order to keep it from working its way loose and falling down one's arm, thereby making it somewhat uncomfortable. 3.) The velcro strap can be very difficult to release (there is no tab), when you tighten it and engage the velcro for a pretty good length. 4.) For some reason, the strap is quite abrasive and has torn up the cloth on the breathable gym shirts that I use, to the point where I have had to discard two of them. And that's the positive news!

Posted by FeisterMeister on June 15, 2005 at 4:18 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.