Gravis G-Pod | iLounge

Reviews

1

Link to Gravis is wrong that points to the joystick manufacturer. The proper url is:

[url=http://www.burton.com/gravis]http://www.burton.com/gravis[/url]

Posted by Dizzy on July 21, 2004 at 10:50 AM (PDT)

2

The one on the website looks like it's leather ( and hideous ), and I'm not talking about the G-Pod BB ( I understand that one is supposed to be leather ).. There is no little black lines that makes it look like nylon on their website. Strange.

Posted by Josh on July 21, 2004 at 1:43 PM (PDT)

3

Hmmmm Does anyone make cases in this price range with similar materials, but not camo? Thanks.

Eric

Posted by Eric on July 21, 2004 at 2:42 PM (PDT)

4

Cool.. I want one! Now to find out where they sell them in Australia.......

Posted by camson in Melbourne, Australia on July 21, 2004 at 2:48 PM (PDT)

5

im confused.......
this iste shows it as being made out of a cloth, where as the gravis site shows it as being leather.....

as josh says...the leather looks grross and i would very much perfer the cloth version

so..which one does gravis distribute?!?!?!

Posted by ronin on July 21, 2004 at 3:38 PM (PDT)

6

Before we went to print, we actually contacted Gravis about the photo on their site, which is/was inaccurate. They've said they'll fix it, as there is no camouflage leather G-Pod; they opted to go with nylon instead.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz on July 21, 2004 at 5:33 PM (PDT)

7

What's the point of getting a super slim iPod and sticking it in a case that makes it twice as thick?

Posted by br- on July 21, 2004 at 7:43 PM (PDT)

8

i don't like the camo

Posted by mike on July 21, 2004 at 8:12 PM (PDT)

9

Maybe to protect it? A smaller case can't offer the same kind of protection that a beefier case can. As far as the case, it's pretty cool looking in my opinon. The camo is growing on me, should see though when i get it.

Posted by suka on July 21, 2004 at 10:32 PM (PDT)

10

That seems like a very good case. Like the camo, and the thickness doesnt bother me. iŽll try to find it here in norway.

Posted by graks on July 21, 2004 at 11:30 PM (PDT)

11

anyone know where i can but this in the UK? or someone who will ship to the UK?

Posted by gameon on July 21, 2004 at 11:37 PM (PDT)

12

sigh. can't ANYONE design a nice ipod case?

Posted by mitch on July 22, 2004 at 2:51 AM (PDT)

13

Hey Everybody,
I just wanted to say thanks for all your comments. I wanted to touch on a couple of questions real quick for some of you...The G-Pod photo on our site is actually wrong. The correct fabric is a nylon rib-stop that is highly durable. I would also like to add that for the ones who aren't really feeling the camo, we have some solid colors coming out soon too...If you have any questions or feedback, feel free to send me an email. I'll try best to answer your questions in a reasonable time. If you are wondering who I am or what I do at Gravis, I'm responsible for designing all the bags and accessories. Thanks again for the support!

Peace,
Douglas

Posted by Douglas Davidson on July 22, 2004 at 2:56 AM (PDT)

14

I WANT ONE.

Being a boarder I dig Gravis. Got the Gravis cell block for my DV-cam and their passport document case both in camo. I have been using one of their smaller cellbocks (minidisc size) for my ipod but it doesn't quite fit.

Only problem is that their UK distribution is patchy. I had to hunt high and low to get the stuff I already got.

I can see this being a popular product but what will UK distribution be like for it? Are they going to push it out further than one or two that you can order via Snowboard shops?

Where can I buy one online?

Posted by hanuman on July 22, 2004 at 3:12 AM (PDT)

15

Gameon,
Try stopping by these stores for the G-pod in the UK. If you have trouble finding it, tell me...

THE CONSORTIUM         
MIDLAND DIVING EQUIP   
DOGFISH            
NO RETURNS LTD WITH    
URBAN OUTFITTERS               
WHEELBASE UK LTD               
HIGH ON PIE LTD        
NEW EYES LTD           
WELLGOSH LTD           
SAIL AND SKI LTD               
THE ONE 40 FIVE STORE

Peace,
Douglas

Posted by Douglas Davidson in living out of my suitcase! on July 22, 2004 at 4:16 AM (PDT)

16

That looks great.. looks like I've finally found a case that I'll actually use. (my iSkin wasnt in use for long lol)
I like the version in the pics here than on the Gravis site, but nevermind. The camo is cool, and this looks like a better designed case than the DC one. It will be mine!

Posted by Sypher on July 22, 2004 at 4:27 AM (PDT)

17

Hi Everyone,

I bought one of these earlier in the week and I thought i'd add my comments and thoughts.

Also, I'm in Australia, and if anyone else is interested in getting one, you should check General Pants stores, they're the only store I could find that stocked them.

The Look: The nylon camo design really grows on you. Your doubts will be gone once you actually hold it in your hand, and feel how strong and durable it is. It also happens to look hella cool because the colours are fairly muted and subtle. I'd also agree that it'd be a great case for boarders and active people. The red gravis logo is a great touch.

The fit: I was worried that the 20 might be really loose, however the case holds the ipod very firmly, there is no chance it's going to fall out. I don't know how you'd go with a 30-40gig version.. it'd be a tight fit. As far as the button holes lining up, they fit perfectly on mine.

The Clip: The clip is the STRONGEST clip i've EVER used. It's so strong that I had a little bit of trouble to get it on my belt! I feel very safe that my precious ipod isn't going to come off. It would easily hold onto a bag strap, or pants or even a just a shirt. I think it's metal, so it's not likely to snap at any time in the future.

Design: I am very happy with the useability of the case. The dock and headphone jacks are easily accessible without having to open the case. The iTrip can be used just by opening the flap. The only time you'd want to remove it is to use the dock. I used to use the dock all the time, however however, now I dont think i'll be using much at all! As far as being fairly thick, I dont believe it adds any more bulk than say the apple case did and the belt clip is at lot thinner and doesn't add much to the bulk. The screen and buttons are easy to see through the clear plastic over the front. It's good to see that they opted to protect the screen instead of leaving the case open on the inside.

All in all, this is a GREAT case. I'm VERY happy with it. What makes it even better is the price!! $15USD or $30AUD retail! If you're not a fan of the skin type of cases, and want a strong, good looking and protective case to keep your ipod in, then I think you really won't regret getting one. Good work Gravis!

Cheers,
Cameron

Posted by camson in Melbourne, Australia on July 22, 2004 at 3:04 PM (PDT)

18

O.M.G.

that case is sooo awsome. im glad the actual thing is nylon. not the leather. I cant wait to get one!
too bad the site is always sold out. does anyone know of places in the us? stores or websites?

Posted by ronin on July 22, 2004 at 9:17 PM (PDT)

19

If anyone knows anywhere I can order this online in the UK can you let me know?

Posted by dan on July 22, 2004 at 10:30 PM (PDT)

20

thanks for the list of UK dealers douglas, have been contacting them and so far the only positive has been from one40fivestore.com - they replied:

Hello chris

We are waiting ourselves for the delivery from Gravis. They have been ordered and we are expecting them in the next two to three weeks.
We will be putting our Gravis stock online also when its here.
Sorry I cannot be of more help at the moment.

Cheers...ed.

i want it now!!

Posted by gameon on July 23, 2004 at 2:09 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 5 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.