Apple 4G iPod: New iPod Users’ Review | iLounge

Reviews

1

Guess I have to see one in person, but the new wheel didn't strike be as less classy..

But then again, I'm not a classy person wink

Posted by Eric on July 23, 2004 at 10:44 AM (PDT)

2

I like the subtle wording about the scroll wheel complaints. As opposed to the "ugh, ugly grey scroll wheel" type comments other loungers made (yes okay I was one of them.. hehe)

Posted by Syph on July 23, 2004 at 10:52 AM (PDT)

3

I have one question: does the AC Adapter that you get with the 4G work with the 3G?

Posted by dino in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada on July 23, 2004 at 11:03 AM (PDT)

4

great. very thorough review.

on esthetics, many will be offering their disagreements. some actually do prefer the simplicity of the click wheel and don't think the gray is subtle and elegant. But overall, you're spot on about the G4 being aimed at new buyers. Owners of G3 won't be likely to upgrade, though owners of older generations will appreciate Apple going back to the NSEW layout of the buttons.

Posted by Starboard on July 23, 2004 at 11:48 AM (PDT)

5

I already bought a 4g and the are great and amazingly slimmer than the 3g

Posted by Col on July 23, 2004 at 11:59 AM (PDT)

6

I already bought a 4g and the are great and amazingly slimmer than the 3g

Posted by Col on July 23, 2004 at 11:59 AM (PDT)

7

I'm very happy with my 40gb device from another manufacturer. Still, I considered switching because of the slightly smaller form factor and the classy design of the iPod. But the fact that iTunes can only convert UNPROTECTED WMA kills it. While I've got a lot of unprotected ripped and older fileshared WMAs, I've also bought a lot of (protected) WMA music and, no matter how cool one may think iPods are, I'm not about to toss it all for cool.

Posted by tims on July 23, 2004 at 12:08 PM (PDT)

8

Excellent review written by someone who loves the product.

Posted by Dino (All Dino, All the Time) on July 23, 2004 at 12:15 PM (PDT)

9

why can't you say something about the MOST improtant thing about a music player, its SOUND QUALITY!

"it suffices to say that there are few people on the planet who would pick Dell's or Creative's 20 gigabyte products over the iPod"

I think anyone n the planet with a good pair of EARS will choose the zen or iriver over iPod 3G. I juat want to know how the 4G sound quality and equalizer compares, before deciding if i should buy it or wait for Sony.

Posted by dj on July 23, 2004 at 12:20 PM (PDT)

10

As a novice am wondering if it is practicable to put a long piece of music say Beethoven's 9th Symphony onto an ipod. If this can be done, what are any drawbacks.

Thanks.

Posted by junior2 on July 23, 2004 at 12:31 PM (PDT)

11

I'm a previous owner of the 15gb 3G and decided to upgrade because I could do so for free. I bought my 3G about a month ago at Circuit City. I was just browsing Apple's website on the day it was released when I noticed the ad for the 4G. I quickly dug out the receipt for my 3G and discovered Circuit City's 30-day return policy. I did a bit of math and discovered I was on my 29th day of ownership. I quickly returned my 15gb 3G and ordered the 4G the following day.

I just opened my 4G today and I don't really see an incredible difference. I like the click wheel because it's not as sensitive as the 3G's four buttons that I would often accidently touch. I haven't yet had a chance to test the 12-hour battery life, but I'm sure I'll enjoy it since before owning my iPod I had an old Rio 600 that got approx. 12 hours.

My biggest complaint is that the product was dirty when I opened the package. There were little clumps of dark sticky goo on the click wheel. So the first 10 minutes with my new iPod were spent cleaning it! It wasn't a good first impression and it paints a pretty unprofessional picture of Apple. Also, it seems like fast animations (ie. games like Parachute) appear slightly blurred on the display. If you're big into games then you might find this to be annoying.

I would recommend to current 3G owners who weren't in my position to make the switch free of charge to wait for the next model. I believe the changes are too small to warrant the upgrading.

Posted by himself on July 23, 2004 at 12:38 PM (PDT)

12

I'm glad you mentioned that they can now be fully charged by the USB cable! It makes me want to upgrade, even though I'm sure I'll stick with my 3g 40GB. That'll be a nice development for Windows users.

Posted by Prudence in Somerville, MA on July 23, 2004 at 12:42 PM (PDT)

13

I'm glad you mentioned that they can now be fully charged by the USB cable! It makes me want to upgrade, even though I'm sure I'll stick with my 3g 40GB. That'll be a nice development for Windows users.

Posted by Prudence in Somerville, MA on July 23, 2004 at 12:42 PM (PDT)

14

nice review but one MAJOR thing lacking (the one thing that will make me choose which mp3 player to buy), how does it sound? both through the headphone socket and line-out into a hifi etc...

i don't know about you lot but i'd choose a player because of how it sounds not because it looks pretty or takes 4 button clicks to find a track.

does it sound better than the Creative Zen? worse? i would really like to know!

i'd be very grateful if you could give us all an indication on the sound quality (and also volume levels, is it loud?).

Posted by daevh on July 23, 2004 at 1:03 PM (PDT)

15

Sound quality and additional details on battery life will be discussed in the Power Users' Review, coming soon.

I hesitate to mention that for 99% of the population using digital music devices with standard headphones and music compression, there will be no perceptible difference between these devices on raw, unprocessed audio output quality alone. The sorts of differences one will find between devices may exist only under processed output situations (equalizer adjustments), extreme circumstances (hooking an iPod up to studio monitor earphones, surround speakers, or an unamplified set of stereo speakers), and a collection of highly unusual situations that only around 10 people who read iPodlounge strongly care about. We will have more to say on sound quality, however, we strongly emphasize that we are almost loathe to discuss that issue in the context of a Walkman-style device that has already been scientifically tested and demonstrated to have excellent audio output.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on July 23, 2004 at 1:08 PM (PDT)

16

did apple say anything about the battery ?
it is still not replaceable....so anything about the battery life ?

Posted by dayum on July 23, 2004 at 1:09 PM (PDT)

17

does anyone know if the itrip or itrip2 will work with the new G4 20 gigabyte ipod?

Posted by Mikers on July 23, 2004 at 1:20 PM (PDT)

18

Hi Jeremy Horwitz,

I see your point about sound quality. But there are also people who would never use those included earbuds, but some other premium quality ones and who are has very sensitive ears. Those people do notice a difference between *very good* sound quality as in iPod 3G and *excellent* sound quality as in iRiver or most of the sony mp3 players. So having to pay 300-400 on a device that is not comparable with those other devices mentioned really annoys them, disregard of its cool looks or size. Fortunately or unfortunately I am one of those.

Apple web site says 4G has "improved playback performance". This is the sentence I want you to clarify most. Has 4G closed the gap with audiophile level or is it as same as 3G? I will be very happy if you can answer this question. I really am undecided between Apple 4G and Sony NW-HD1.

Thank you.

Posted by DJ on July 23, 2004 at 1:43 PM (PDT)

19

am i the only one who thinks this is inexcusable? the ipod languishes at the botom of the portable music player league, with average build and audio quality, and near to no format support. even on the fourth generation, it still lacks functions that competing players have had for years, including gapless playback, radio playback, recording, a PROPER equaliser, support for codecs such as ogg vorbis; flac & wma.

apple really are now relying entirely on selling the ipod as a status symbol. they seem disintested in making a featured player.

Posted by directhex on July 23, 2004 at 2:04 PM (PDT)

20

I respectfully second the requests for some statement about the sound quality.

iPods may be lots of things to lots of people, but it primary goal in life is to produce sound. To omit that completely is like writing a restaurant review without mentioning how the food tastes.

Maybe it sounds exactly like a 3G and 99% similar to comparable players - then just say so.

Looking forward to the Power Users review though. And I *am* flattered to think that caring about how the darn thing sounds makes me a power user... Whoohoo!

Posted by Soundmeister on July 23, 2004 at 2:17 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 8 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.