Apple 4G iPod: New iPod Users’ Review | iLounge

Reviews

101

I am an ipod fan, I loved my 3rd generation ipod. I just recieved the newer version of the ipod.I opened up the package and installed the software, I plugged in my ipod and my computer didnt even read it. Then When i wnated to disconnect it wouldn't let me. I turned of my computer and it still said do not disconnect. I din't get much a chance to play around with it but from what i could tell it was a piece of ####. Apple did not wait nearly long enough, and rushed into the idea of a new ipod way to soon.

Posted by Daniel on August 9, 2004 at 12:03 PM (PDT)

102

I love my 15GB ipod like crazy. But I have a problem - I've got the remote control thingy....and the earphones, PLUS the remote control, makes the whole thing way too long, so much so it looks like a mass of wires when I try to bundle them up a little with the remote control clip. Am I doing anything wrong?

Posted by Dudette on August 9, 2004 at 8:46 PM (PDT)

103

something no one has mentioned

is the lack of of a 4 pin firewire adapter for the 4g ipod

apple doesn't even sell one separately

so if you have a pc with a 4 pin firewire and usb 1.0 port you are pretty much screwed

Posted by mark on August 10, 2004 at 11:02 AM (PDT)

104

heey everyone... still have a question... it has already been asked here several times but not got answerd...

can you use the ipod as a external hd?? will win xp see the ipod as a hd without installing any software?.....

I am thinking of getting a ipod 4g 20gb, but this is a very important feature for me so i realy like to know...

( sorry for my poor english... i'm from the netherlands)

hope you can answer my questions..

Posted by Valentina on August 10, 2004 at 1:06 PM (PDT)

105

I have almost the same problem as you, my ipod plays in the best case 9 hours but not 12 as it's supposed to be.

Posted by keeper on August 11, 2004 at 3:31 AM (PDT)

106

Does anyone know how to convert existing files (thru i-Tunes or the i-Pod itself) so I can get better battery performance on the i-Pod V4? (or at least better than the 5-6 hrs. I currently encounter?

Posted by Aaron J. Fishman on August 11, 2004 at 7:54 AM (PDT)

107

I've had my 4G, 20GB iPod about a week. I'm a first time PC MP3 Player owner, and chosing the latest iPod was no mistake. I want to give any other possible owners out there my thoughts.

First pro: I think it sounds great. I don't like listening to my music with a super low bass EQ, but with the "Electronic" Preset EQ all my songs sound great! The Bass is crisp and clear, and unless I set the Bass EQ to some crazy high setting it stays clean. The headphones are also very good (but not quite excellent). AAC files sound particularilty good.

Second pro: The Clickwheel. I ordered my iPod without even knowing how the clickwheel worked. I didn't even know it was touch sensitive. This little innovation makes the iPod a dream to use. The entire interface is fantastic.

Other noteworthy pros: iTunes ease of use, the size/dimensions of the unit, fast shipping (woo-hoo expidited!), blazing fast Firewire transfers, and the unit's sturdy feel.

And now some Cons...

First Con: No iTunes Music Store in Canada! If I had known this, I probably would have put off my purchase a bit. I like buying music online, and I was a little disappointed.

Second Con: No support for licensed WMAs! I was really burnt by this. I've bought a number of songs online using Canada's Puretracks, and I was very disappointed to find out my WMAs will not convert. If you don't have iTunes MS in your country, buy your music on CDs!

Other notable cons: Clickwheel is a little too sensitive when adjusting the volume. I damn near blew my ears out the first time using my iPod. There also seem to be some hardware issues with Firewire on some Motherboards. When I use the Firewire ports on my MoBo, it would get locked in the "Do not Disconnect" mode. When I use the port on my SB Live card, it works great. Go figure.

Now I have a question for you iPodders... can you recommend a good set earbuds? I hear the Seinheiser MX are good. Your thoughts?

Posted by Andrew Kobewka on August 11, 2004 at 8:32 AM (PDT)

108

can someone help me out?

does the 4th genereation 40gig ipod have any glitches as oppose to the 20gig?

pls help me on this one...

thanx so much!

Grant

Posted by Grant on August 11, 2004 at 3:24 PM (PDT)

109

I just took a look at a sample of my files on the i-pod v4 are they are all MP3 files of either 128 bps. or 24 bps. format There are no files any higher than that bitrate. I have run the new ipod thru several battery charges/tests but I'm still getting no more than 5-6 hrs in playback. (using the i-trip or just plain headphones) In my tests, I do not use the backlight and do not make any changes. (I usually just turn on "the pod" and let it play) This has really got me stumped. Any ideas??

Posted by Aaron J. Fishman on August 13, 2004 at 4:20 AM (PDT)

110

Just so everyone knows, you can turn off the clicking noise. On both the headphones and the speaker. In fact, you can just set it to off all together. I just got my ipod 4g last week and I love it, of course its my first one so im quite the newbie.

Posted by robbiesan in Arlingotn, VA on August 13, 2004 at 4:57 AM (PDT)

111

ok ignore my statements, i re-read the review (which was excellent) and realized i misunderstood the comments.
PIECE!

Posted by robbiesan in Arlingotn, VA on August 13, 2004 at 5:27 AM (PDT)

112

Can anybody tell me? My iPod 4thG clickwheel makes a slight pinging noise when it is pressed..is this normal?

Posted by Martin on August 13, 2004 at 11:30 AM (PDT)

113

I am a newbie ipod owner. I am generally impressed with my device. It performs dreamingly and is quite easy to use. I am frustrated how quickly the body loses its luster. Already the back is oxidized to the point it is almost unattractive and the coat on the front it too easily scratched. Otherwise I hope I have this for a long time. I really can't complain especially considering that I got my ipod for about $69 under the cram and jam deal.

Posted by Terrence on August 16, 2004 at 7:14 AM (PDT)

114

I recently got a 15GB ipod, and I really like the 4G ipod, especially the click wheel, and how it doesn't scratch so easily.

Posted by Christian on August 16, 2004 at 8:17 AM (PDT)

115

AAC is NOT an Apple proprietary format. It's a standard format licensed from Dolby for use in iTunes, Quick Time and the iPod. Winamp also plays AAC encoded files.

http://www.vialicensing.com/products/mpeg4aac/standard.html

What is de-facto proprietary is FairPlay, the DRM extension of AAC that is applied to music purchased from the iTMS.

Posted by Mike Jorgensen on August 17, 2004 at 7:26 PM (PDT)

116

> namely Apple's proprietary AAC (MPEG-4)

Mmm. AAC (or MPEG-4 audio) is not Apple's format. And it certainly is not proprietary. It is both and MPEG and (I think) an ISO standard.

Apple does have a proprietary DRM system to lock AAC files. Those "protected" AAC files are the ones Apple sells in the iTunes Music Store. The iPod, of course, plays both.

Posted by Jordi Bunster on August 20, 2004 at 3:45 AM (PDT)

117

The sound quality on the new iPod is impressive (iif it doesn;t have the nasty hissing i have heard so much of). I have a Zen, A Rio and an archos and the g4 is significantly cleaner. Great sound.

Posted by Brandon on August 20, 2004 at 11:28 PM (PDT)

118

Why no FM radio or voice recording feature? Hello? I don't get it. IRiver offers this for same money. Has anyone compared IRiver to iPod?
Thanks,
Art

Posted by Art Altman in California on August 21, 2004 at 5:06 PM (PDT)

119

i have just got a brand new 20gb 4th gen ipod and on my recent holiday the headphone wire broke and now the computer is saying it has malfunctioned!!!
but apple are taking it back and are seeming very helpfull!!!

Posted by phil brind-surch on August 22, 2004 at 2:06 AM (PDT)

120

Just an IMHO...regarding sound quality from 3g to 4g. I did notice a difference when hooking the ipod up to the audio in my Audi. much clearer on the rg. At home hooked to the stereo, with Magnaplanar ribbon speakers - no noticable difference. That might be because the output used for the stereo pulls from the dock, while in the car it hooks up via casette adapter from the headphone output.

Posted by bc0001 on August 22, 2004 at 12:39 PM (PDT)

Page 6 of 8 pages « First  <  4 5 6 7 8 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.