Apple 4G iPod: New iPod Users’ Review | iLounge

Reviews

21

Why would anyone ever consider buying a sony player? You would have to convert all your music to Artrack, because sony refuses to support mp3!
It also looks worse than a Zen raspberry

Posted by Rich on July 23, 2004 at 2:52 PM (PDT)

22

I think the grey clickwheel looks nice. (hides).

Posted by mxu57 on July 23, 2004 at 2:59 PM (PDT)

23

Great review. I bought my 3G 15GB ipod a couple of months ago, and the new models won't make me want to upgrade. The 15GB does everything that I want (although the extended battery life would be sweet).

The review doesn't say if the new IPOD would work as an external USB drive. I love the fact that my IPOD works as a firewire drive.

Also I love the way the 3G buttons glow red when activated. Too bad that's missing on the 4G.

Too bad the remote isn't included with the new models (nor was it included with my 3G 15GB model). I bought mine off ebay and use it regularly, to save wear and tear on the ipod interface, as well as on the headphone jack.

Posted by wongkar on July 23, 2004 at 3:02 PM (PDT)

24

Great product! Great review. We must have one now! I hope they get to NZ (New Zealand) soon. I beleive [url=http://www.ipodcases.biz]http://www.ipodcases.biz[/url] will be getting the new g4 cases when they are available.

Posted by ipod cases on July 23, 2004 at 3:35 PM (PDT)

25

I think the grey wheel looks good too. Wouldn't the iPod look very blank and plain with a white wheel like the Mini. The White Wheel works on the Mini because the rest of the body isn't white.

Posted by optimize on July 23, 2004 at 3:50 PM (PDT)

26

"Yeah, the iPod really can't deliver high-quality bass without a TK-421 unit, which we can install right here for you."

Reference anyone? And yes, marketing of frivolous feature sets is always that ridiculous.

Posted by Big Jim on July 23, 2004 at 4:08 PM (PDT)

27

i still think that the 3G Ipods better

Posted by cjl2g on July 23, 2004 at 4:26 PM (PDT)

28

"...and Eastern European users will discover that their song, artist and album information (of virtually any language of origin) is displayed properly on the screen."

Interesting. Has anyone out there tried it with songs whose metadata is written in Greek? (I suppose I'm referring to Greeks, but if a non-Greek has tried it, please share your experience.)

Posted by Konstantinos on July 23, 2004 at 4:28 PM (PDT)

29

I too was one of those who had a 40 Gb 3g for just 12 days before the announcement of the 4g. I returned it to Mac Mall and for a 15% fee, they were most gracious about accepting it back.

For me, the click wheel pleases both my aesthetic and functional sides. I disliked all the accidental brushes with the controls on the 3g when all I wished to do was to change the volume. The sound is great (using AAC for most of my rips), and for my part think Apple did a good job.

Now I only need a good case for the beastie!

Posted by NM Mountain Man on July 23, 2004 at 4:42 PM (PDT)

30

Does this thing still have headphone wires?

Come on Apple... Do what you do best and make a wireless music player. Oh, and anyone that sends that goofy FM headphone trick can choke on MPG2 compression.

I like my 1G better than my 3G. Still hate wires.

Posted by MotoJaz on July 23, 2004 at 5:07 PM (PDT)

31

I thought there was a no advertising policy on this board. ipod cases seems like a shamless plug.

Posted by na on July 23, 2004 at 5:50 PM (PDT)

32

Great reference drop with the comment about the TK-421 circuit. I believe that was from a hilarious scene in the film "Boogie Nights."

Posted by toslink on July 23, 2004 at 6:26 PM (PDT)

33

To junior2: There's no problem with putting long pieces of music on an iPod. I've got all of Beethoven's symphonies on mine, among many other things.

Posted by Matt McIrvin on July 23, 2004 at 6:50 PM (PDT)

34

Konstantine, in the Apple site they say that the 4G has Greek language support (I assume that means the menus can be in Greek also), so I guess they now have a better Greek font than the horrible one the 3G has. (The 3G can display Greek tags with no problem, but the font is ugly and takes a lot of space: there's too much space between each character, enough for another character).

Posted by Gabriel on July 23, 2004 at 7:24 PM (PDT)

35

But still Apple supply the earbuds. These "high quality" items are no different in comfort or function from the tat I got with a $60 Walkman some years ago.

I like the look of this 4G iPod. But I think I'll stick with my 2G - it still works.

Posted by PrettyGreenParrot on July 23, 2004 at 8:37 PM (PDT)

36

I've heard from the apple forums that the 4G iPod sounds better than the 3G. I'll find this out when I go to my Apple store this weekend.

(2 More Years Before I Get out of H.S. and get my iBook for college!!)

Posted by Next on July 23, 2004 at 8:47 PM (PDT)

37

Jeremy Horwitz- So am I correct in my understanding that if you had neither right now, you would take the 3G with all the accessories (stores are throwing in dock, remote, and case; minus the USB 2.0) for $299 instead of the 4G without many accessories for $299? Thanks.

Posted by cigarzfan on July 23, 2004 at 9:16 PM (PDT)

38

Surely the only way to know how they sound is to go and listen yourself. Everyone hears things slightly differently and oppinions differ as to how music should sound, its not purely based on THD. Try before you buy!!!!

Posted by ???? on July 23, 2004 at 11:46 PM (PDT)

39

I have upgraded from the 3G 15GB to the 4G 20GB.
From the first moments on the Apple site the simplicity of the Click Wheel alone was enough for me to make the switch. I had returned a mini once upon a time when I figured 4GB storage did not justify its pricetag, but terribly missed the ease of the Click Wheel.

Though I don't consider myself to be a techie, i must admit that the sound quality and comfort of the factory earbuds did not satisfy me at all. The In-Ears were a complete failure that always fell short(figuratively and literally from my ears) and were returned immediately to the Apple store shelf. But I have made an investment in earbuds from another company that are now great for my own personal tastes.

Due to daily use of the iPod in my 9 to 5 office job, lack of need for extra accessories, new-found ClickWheel simplicity, increased storage capacity and battery power gain, the lowered price has been a great value for me!

I must say that I am now satisfied with my 4G iPod and content with my iBook, and I look forward to my future fulfillment with both.

Posted by Trent on July 24, 2004 at 1:52 AM (PDT)

40

What's the issue with quality? If yout want to rip at 320 kpps MP3 or Apple lossless - you'll be OK. I know Itunes doesn't have that great of quality, but rip your own! - lossless on an IPod sounds good (albieit a non-standard) - they'll get there. And in the meantime - use what you got.

Posted by louden on July 26, 2004 at 9:07 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 8 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.