Apple 4G iPod: Power Users’ Review | iLounge

Reviews

1

Are you sure the 40GB iPod is not 1mm thinner as well?

I saw a comparison of two 40GB pods at Spymac and the G4 iPod was a little thinner - not significantly, but definitely not an illusion.

Posted by Nate on July 26, 2004 at 10:32 PM (PDT)

2

Good review!! It's a shame that the 4G is not as nice looking as the 3G.

Posted by Coolpepper43 on July 26, 2004 at 10:56 PM (PDT)

3

Nate: It's less than 1mm thinner, actually only .04". Thanks for pointing that out, it's been addressed.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on July 26, 2004 at 10:59 PM (PDT)

4

I sincerely hopw that they make the click wheel white. The grey looks horrible.

Posted by bm in Brazil on July 26, 2004 at 10:59 PM (PDT)

5

Nice mention of Nintendo. smile

I also like the comments about the cheapened packaging. Although it is the product itself that matters, these cost-cutting measures cheapen the high-class image that the iPod had.

Now, this image has shifted, and the iPod is becoming an "Everyman" device.

It doesn't really matter--I've concluded that since I rarely use my 3G more than 3-4 hours a day, it isn't worth it to get a new unit just for improved battery life. Indeed, I dislike the wheel color, and the "Shuffle Songs" option is wasted on me; I rarely shuffle my music.

Thanks for another great, honest review.

Posted by Cameron on July 26, 2004 at 11:01 PM (PDT)

6

I don't think I will buy one..... But I might..

Dang I was really hoping for something *Awesome* this time around.. it doesn't pay to get your hopes up.

Eric

Posted by Eric on July 26, 2004 at 11:16 PM (PDT)

7

What a dissappointment! There we were all hoping for the new unit to blow the old, 3G unit (and all of apple's competitors) out of the water and what do we get?

A grey doughnut shaped monstrosity attached to the front of an otherwise perfectly designed unit! Why destroy the clean lines of such a well designed device with what would appear to be a sticker?! Just making it white would have lessened the impact but it would appear Apple have forgotten about the asthetics with this one. The buttons don't even light up! School-boy errors on such an otherwise perfect device.

Increased battery life and other minor changes do nothing to make up for the loss in 'cool factor' or indeed the loss of the dock and remote included with the unit.

What a let down. Suffice to say my 20gb 3G is safe with me for another few years!

Darran

Posted by Darran Kitchener on July 27, 2004 at 12:08 AM (PDT)

8

I'm about to buy my first ipod, and I am sticking with the 3rd gen, because I'm all about asthetics. Thanks for the great review, it deffinently helped me make my descision. I only wish that the 3Gs came with usb cables... that would make my day.

Posted by Monika on July 27, 2004 at 12:20 AM (PDT)

9

I don't understand people who complain about "the cool factor".
I want a music player, for playing music. No more. The strait-forward and simple aproach apple has taken is excelent, and I'm pleased they didn't vear from the iPod's previous direction. If I wanted a color screen and camera I'd get a PDA.

Posted by Gidi Morris on July 27, 2004 at 1:12 AM (PDT)

10

My 2nd gen. 20 GB iPod was getting too small for me, so I was looking forward to the 60 GB version that was rumoured.

Then Apple releases the 4th generation. "Yes... Now I can buy myself a 60 GB version" I said, because of course it had to be included in a new generation. But no..... (and Apple claims that it's not coming).

And then the first time I saw a picture I thought "Oh no.. What have they done to the wheel. It looks horrible". It may well be better to place the buttons on the wheel, but to make the wheel gray, makes it look "toyish" and cheap.

I can live with the smaller battery capacity, so I bought a 3rd gen. 40 GB iPod for the same price as the new one. And it saved me $115 (Danish price) compared to a 4th gen. because the remote and case is standard in the 3rd gen.

Posted by Hedegaard on July 27, 2004 at 2:06 AM (PDT)

11

Nobodys really discussed the lack of remote control headphones and dock with the 20Gig? Can you actually fit a remote unit to the 20?

Posted by AC on July 27, 2004 at 2:25 AM (PDT)

12

What I dont like for 4gen ipod:
1) grey wheel, which look like sticker and cheaper
2) No replaceable battery
3) Click wheel pop up button not as sensitive as touch wheel
4) light blue lighting, prefer white color
5) Buttons no backlight

What I like for 4gen ipod:
1) Slightly slimer than prior ipods
2) Better software
3) Longer battery life
4) rechargeable usb cable

Posted by tysoh on July 27, 2004 at 2:27 AM (PDT)

13

I recently bought a 15GB 3G and couldnt be happier with it. I found the lack of a USB cable no problem with my PC, rather then shell out for a USB cable I just bought a Firewire card for my PC, much cheaper!

Posted by Luke R on July 27, 2004 at 2:35 AM (PDT)

14

Good Tip for free carry case!

I ordered my iPod (UK Applestore online) last tues and was given a despatch date of the the 26th.
On the 26th (at 17:35) I got a mail from Apple saying shipping had slipped until the 30th.
Phoned up to complain this morning and mentioned the fact that the web site said "shipping now" and "available Immediately". I was instantly offered a free carry case (29.95 + VAT) as compensation!

Posted by The Valyard on July 27, 2004 at 3:40 AM (PDT)

15

One good thing: my company is in the middle of a development of a series of 3G ipod accessories that are going to knock your socks off and I am very glad that it looks like nearly all of them will work with the 4G as well.

Posted by josephdesign on July 27, 2004 at 3:48 AM (PDT)

16

wow. Some of these complaints are REALLY nit-picky. The cables are now twist-tied instead of hand wound around a sculpted interior circle? Is the material used for the box cheaper? My 4G 40GB iPod didn't feel cheap in any way. Also I don't think a white click wheel would look good on the white iPod. It works for the Mini because there is a contrast there.

Posted by croooow on July 27, 2004 at 3:57 AM (PDT)

17

From the review, "These facts have disappointed a vocal group of readers looking for revolutionary improvements". I'm in the camp that if it isn't broken don't fix it and so incremental changes to a well performing product makes sense to me. I also fully agree with Gidi above that a music player is just that, it isn't a camera, phone, pda, etc. How will a color screen make the music sound better? As to the less impressive packaging, just what do people do with the boxes after opening them, place them around the house as decorative objects?
Nice review!

Posted by beauport in Northern VA on July 27, 2004 at 4:06 AM (PDT)

18

AC: Yes, the remote will work just fine with the 20GB 4th-gen iPod.

Posted by AndyH in Berwyn, PA on July 27, 2004 at 4:18 AM (PDT)

19

Also, The backlight isn't needed. I am currently using an Oakley Microfiber Bag to hold my iPod until I'm able to get a skin for it. It's very easy to control without looking at the wheel.

Posted by croooow on July 27, 2004 at 4:21 AM (PDT)

20

I think if you own a 3G iPod, holding off for maybe the 5G or if they fix the 4G is a good idea. The changes in the 4G iPod are so small that it doesn't warrent an upgrade. I agree the longer battery life is a good thing, it's just not worth it to me when i don't even use mine more then 4-5 hours a day. Plus I'm never far from a power outlet to charge it. I will admit I do like the buttons located around the wheel, it's what I loved about the 2G iPods. I do look forward to going to the local Apple store this weekend and checking out the 4G iPods. I will agree with the statement that it is a "music player" first, and everything else second. Apple has done a great job of keeping it this way and I hope they continue on that path. If you want a video player, look elsewhere.

Posted by brian on July 27, 2004 at 4:26 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 11 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.