Apple 4G iPod: Power Users’ Review | iLounge

Reviews

61

Well, I've owned my G4 for about 2 days and I can say that I love it. I previously owned a 1G and 2G, happy with those, but really thought that scroll wheel alone was always best. In the end, it is about the music -- itunes has created ipod fanatics -- the more they sell the better the next generation of ipods will be.

Posted by Ted Delisi on July 27, 2004 at 6:50 PM (PDT)

62

You guys who complain about people who complain too much are also complainers. (As am I, apparently!)

Mort

Posted by Mortimer on July 27, 2004 at 7:09 PM (PDT)

63

I was hoping the shuffle option would shuffle the contents of the current selections, or just turn on/off shuffle. Instead, it completely changes your music selection to "random of anything on the drive." I'm really disappointed with mine. I miss my Gen3 :(

Posted by CcntMnky on July 27, 2004 at 7:33 PM (PDT)

64

"And I think most of the people whining about the grey click wheel probably haven't seen one in person. And they probably have a 3G iPod. And they're probably looking for something to criticize so they don't feel bad about not having the latest model.

By MT on Jul 27, 04 9:21 am"

Exactly. I was telling my best friend about the new 4G iPods coming out at the beginning of last week, and he asked me what was different about it over the iPod he has (3G). I listed the upgrades to him and he said "well, I don't consider that an upgrade...it's just as iPod."

He probably genuinely doesn't care that my iPod is newer than his, but with him, you never know...when I decided to buy an Alienware Area-51m laptop earlier this year, he decided to as well. Then, when I got my system configured with a 3ghZ P4 Processor, he had his configured with a 3.4ghZ P4.

Posted by nusilver on July 27, 2004 at 7:56 PM (PDT)

65

The Bad: Click Wheel works a bit better than it looks,

<== do you mean looks a bit better than it works? cause i cant see anything bad in that it works better than it looks... i think it looks good!!

Posted by Thomas on July 27, 2004 at 8:40 PM (PDT)

66

4G, or Not 4G : That is the Question.

Posted by David Lee on July 27, 2004 at 8:41 PM (PDT)

67

I just bought a 4G 40 gig to replace my old Archos 20gig. I couldn't be happier with the design. I love that I control everything with one hand so easily. I have used a 3G and much prefer the click wheel.
As far as asthetics...I bought this to play music. Personally, I like the grey wheel....bur I cannot imagine why someone would choose a 3G over the 4G just because they don't like the grey wheel!

Posted by Hans in Fairhaven on July 27, 2004 at 8:59 PM (PDT)

68

Top article gents. Keep em coming.

Although I'd love the extended battery life of a 4G, in 15 years time, it'll be the 3G that will be remembered as the classic piece of design.

Until such time as I stump up for a 4G, this is what I will continue to tell myself....

Posted by Scotsdave on July 28, 2004 at 12:11 AM (PDT)

69

Any idea when iTunes is going to include a VBR AAC encoder? The CBR encoder is great, yet it wastes space on certain songs, and doesn't provide high enough bitrates on others.

Posted by ShowsOn in South Australia, AUSTRALIA on July 28, 2004 at 2:37 AM (PDT)

70

I'm happy with my 3G at the moment. But i will probably definitely upgrade when the 5G comes out.

Reason being i do like the 4G alot, but not enough to spend the cash :p 5G will probably do it for me though.

Posted by Chibimiffy on July 28, 2004 at 3:04 AM (PDT)

71

Whilst I too was bemused by the critique of the box that the 4g ipod comes in, I have to say I disagree with those who feel it was a shade over the top. I appreciate that at the end of the day it's the machine itself that we're all looking to salivate over, however I think those that criticize are missing the point.

Sure, if one was just looking at a standard piece of kit from Sony (or indeed Creative) then we'd be looking at a different argument but in the case of Apple, whether one likes it or not they have a degree of kudos and their customers are expecting a little more than the norm. Yep, it's a box! But let's not forget that someone is employed to make and design that box and as with everything that Apple does we expect them to get it right. The art of paper engineering (and it is an art) goes back centuries, certainly to the Japanese and who knows maybe more, I'm no historian. And, as most people who buy into the apple philosophy would agree, aesthetics are all (well, maybe not all, but you get my drift).

I guess it's not an argument that everyone will agree with but as someone who works within the visual arts I appreciate when a company makes an effort in the packaging department. Of course that still means it'll end up in the dustbin/garbage can (I'm english) alongside the tetrapak cartons and polystyrene trays dripping with fish oil and cling film strangulating itself, but hey, for a moment its not just another consumer toy; it carries an aura of high culture which lifts it above the ugly and mundane of much contemporary electronic goods. I guess what is being observed within the review is that as Apple becomes more of a mainstream business we are beginning to observe a move away from this 'personal touch' under the demands of economics.

Alas 'tis the way of all things creative.

Posted by tony on July 28, 2004 at 3:28 AM (PDT)

72

Whilst I too was bemused by the critique of the box that the 4g ipod comes in, I have to say I disagree with those who feel it was a shade over the top. I appreciate that at the end of the day it's the machine itself that we're all looking to salivate over, however I think those that criticize are missing the point.

Sure, if one was just looking at a standard piece of kit from Sony (or indeed Creative) then we'd be looking at a different argument but in the case of Apple, whether one likes it or not they have a degree of kudos and their customers are expecting a little more than the norm. Yep, it's a box! But let's not forget that someone is employed to make and design that box and as with everything that Apple does we expect them to get it right. The art of paper engineering (and it is an art) goes back centuries, certainly to the Japanese and who knows maybe more, I'm no historian. And, as most people who buy into the apple philosophy would agree, aesthetics are all (well, maybe not all, but you get my drift).

I guess it's not an argument that everyone will agree with but as someone who works within the visual arts I appreciate when a company makes an effort in the packaging department. Of course that still means it'll end up in the dustbin/garbage can (I'm english) alongside the tetrapak cartons and polystyrene trays dripping with fish oil and cling film strangulating itself, but hey, for a moment its not just another consumer toy; it carries an aura of high culture which lifts it above the ugly and mundane of much contemporary electronic goods. I guess what is being observed within the review is that as Apple becomes more of a mainstream business we are beginning to observe a move away from this 'personal touch' under the demands of economics.

Alas 'tis the way of all things creative.

Posted by tony maas on July 28, 2004 at 3:31 AM (PDT)

73

Opps, sorry.

Posted by tony maas on July 28, 2004 at 3:32 AM (PDT)

74

Jeremy,
Did you also test and compare MP3 playback quality on the new ipods? Personally, I have encountered some really nasty and unacceptable playback artifacts on my 3G ipod (flutter), that did not occur on cheap CD-MP3 players, neither on the iMac. This effect has been posted on ipod lounge and elsewhere. Its existence has been confirmed, by users and even by Apple as far as I know. It's definitely a bug in the MP3 decoder of the iPod.
Could you check this out? I am willing to provide you with a couple of small AIF, AAC and MP3 files that clearly display the problem I'm referring to.


Hans Erik

Posted by Hans Erik on July 28, 2004 at 4:27 AM (PDT)

75

Good review and nice web-site,

i'm DJ and i want to be able to record my mix one day on the XG...just like SuperMAtt i don't interested on the CRAPPY 8KHz...only 44KHz for a good music quality.
If somebody know about a accessoire or a hidden news!!!
I like to use my MIDIdisk..but i want one day the beautiful IPOD...
anyway IPOD is the walkmann Killer...THX Apple

Posted by francesco mauritz on July 28, 2004 at 5:06 AM (PDT)

76

I have tried the new click wheel in an Apple store, and it is great because it isnt indented anymore.

It is hard to get to indented buttons on my 3g, especially because i have a case which makes it harder!!

Posted by me on July 28, 2004 at 5:08 AM (PDT)

77

I'm on my way to replace my 3g 40g with another 3g 40g before best buy brings in the new ipods. I just don't like the blue-ish screen and the click wheel does nothing for me. Good review tho made me think about the upgrade more realistically.

Posted by toothpaste in NYC on July 28, 2004 at 5:24 AM (PDT)

78

I think I'm 50/50 on this. I get the point on the grey Vs. white wheel issue but the single circle is classic.

If you can't see that your blinded by 3G loyalty.

This is the future kids, let your tastes mature and learn to love it!

Posted by 4G Champion in UK on July 28, 2004 at 6:31 AM (PDT)

79

You still can't beat the 3G iPod!

Posted by 7 on July 28, 2004 at 6:39 AM (PDT)

80

I have a First Generation now, Do you think i should get the new 4G? My battery lasts maybe 1-2hrs, and i dont think its worth it to replace the battery. Let me know what you think

Posted by 30Block on July 28, 2004 at 8:37 AM (PDT)

Page 4 of 11 pages « First  <  2 3 4 5 6 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.