Apple 4G iPod: Power Users’ Review | iLounge

Reviews

81

im not really feelin the new iPod, i was thinking about getting it but im goin 2 kepe ma 3g iPod instead. i think they shud have made the click wheel (which i am luvin by the way) white instead of that horrible grey, and make it recessed and light up da buttons. the color change in da screen isnt dat bad, but i do like the old 1, so they shud hav sticked 2 dat or made it colour. i dont tink i will b changin ma iPod until da next generation is released, hopefully wit a colour screen. even better - get rid of da buttons and just hav a touch screen!

Posted by reiss on July 28, 2004 at 9:17 AM (PDT)

82

The 4g ipods way better tha the 4g ones. u ppl are only critisizing it cos it makes u feel better that u ahve a worse ipod! u guys r pathetic

Posted by Obi wan on July 28, 2004 at 9:58 AM (PDT)

83

Well, i for one like it. I'm not sure about the comments stating that the packaging makes the iPod an "everyman device". I think that sounds a bit elitist. I think Apple is on the right track. They will never please everyone. One improvement...bigger, color screen.

Posted by Chris on July 28, 2004 at 10:26 AM (PDT)

84

Jeremy,
Did you also test and compare MP3 playback quality on the new ipods? Personally, I have encountered some really nasty and unacceptable playback artifacts on my 3G ipod (flutter), that did not occur on cheap CD-MP3 players, neither on the iMac. This effect has been posted on ipod lounge and elsewhere. Its existence has been confirmed, by users and even by Apple as far as I know. It's definitely a bug in the MP3 decoder of the iPod.

Could you check this out? I am willing to provide you with a couple of small AIF, AAC and MP3 files that clearly display the problem I'm referring to.

Hans Erik

Posted by digidivi in Maarssen, Netherlands on July 28, 2004 at 10:34 AM (PDT)

85

Nice review.

I have an original 5 gig iPod (scroll wheel) and held from buying a 3G iPod because I didn't like the four-button placement. Now that they're back around (well, on ) the wheel, I have ordered an updgrade.

Personally I would prefer the white backlight rather than blue, but as I don't use the backlight that much it probably won;t be an issue for me in real life.

Have a nice day!

Posted by Séan on July 28, 2004 at 10:57 AM (PDT)

86

I had ordered my 3G Pod from Apple.com with the new "Cram & Jam" offer - the weekend before the release. I was blown away when I got the e-mail saying that I was paying the $69 ($200 off w/ibook) for the 3G 15GB but receiving the G4 20GB.

As a relatively-new Pod owner (my dad had a G2) I am happy and content. I think many people are upset by the non-revolutionary G4 for the wrong reasons.

I think Apple is completely on-track with the G4. They are trying to become more and more streamline with a minimalist style. The single, flush wheel of the G4 coupled with the slight grayscale create a unique "Apple" image that many people want to be associated with.

As for the sound quality, battery life, and other 'guts' of the iPod - I feel that we cannot expect miracles, but can demand the best. As far as I'm concerned, the iPod is the best out there for style, ease of use, and power.

Posted by Auggie on July 28, 2004 at 12:47 PM (PDT)

87

I have a 20gb 3rd gen and it's just the best bit of kit I have. Constantly used (with the iTrip as well) there's nothing about the 4th gen that makes me think I must upgrade. The red lights under the function buttons is a classic piece of design and aids playing in the dark, like falling asleep to. Maybe I'll wait til the 5th gen arrives as by then I should imagine my 3rd gen will be worn out!!

Posted by Emacdave on July 28, 2004 at 1:59 PM (PDT)

88

I guess I'm one of the lucky ones who's 40GB 4G iPod is not experiencing the noise problem with AAC lossless tracks.

I purchased my unit through the Apple on-line store 7/23. Based on the FedEx tracking, it shipped out of Shanghai on 7/25, hit Anchorage on 7/26 and was delivered here on the east coast Tues. 7/27.

After reading the review here, I immediately set out to check the unit out. I used a CD in my collection that's a pretty demanding audio selection (mostly opera and classical pieces) and converted the tracks to AAC lossless. The bitrates ranged from 678 kbps to 703 kbps.

I ran the iPod repeatedly over these tracks, switching forward and back, letting them play through normally, skipping between tracks, etc. So far, I guess I've lucked out. No noise, no static, no sounds of the hard drive.

On the Apple Support forums, there are several threads indicating that the newer units coming out of Shanghai for the past week seem to be OK. Anyhow, I'll be happy for small favors.

Oh, and by the way - I love the click wheel!

Posted by JackS124 on July 28, 2004 at 3:03 PM (PDT)

89

Thanks for the comments about the sound quality, and for testing with the Ety's. Either the ER-4's or the ER-6's (depending on your budget and preference for foam or silicone) are a nice "real world" combination with the iPod. Of course, now you make me want to try the UE-10 Pro's...

Posted by Soundmeister on July 28, 2004 at 3:38 PM (PDT)

90

Yo, Sebhelyesfarku, check your spelling, man. "Noisey" is not a word. I think we can all attest to the intelligence of non-iPod users, yes?

Posted by Joshdude on July 28, 2004 at 5:05 PM (PDT)

91

Oh snap that was way earlier. Ignore me, please.

Posted by Joshdude on July 28, 2004 at 5:07 PM (PDT)

92

Anyone know if the 3G 20g dock fits the 4G 20 ipod?

Posted by Evil on July 28, 2004 at 6:25 PM (PDT)

93

DAMN IPOD TO HELL FOR COMING OUT WITH SOMETHING BETTER AND CHEAPER JUST AFTER I GET THE 3G 40GIG IPOD! GRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!

Posted by Jay on July 28, 2004 at 7:53 PM (PDT)

94

I belive the reason for the gray click wheel is for your dirty paws. I had a mini for a few months, with the white click wheel, and there is a dirt ring around it. I wish my mini had the gray wheel.

Posted by super I on July 28, 2004 at 8:02 PM (PDT)

95

I've recently tried the 4g iPod with the click wheel, and I like my 3g with the touch buttons better. In terms of size, Does anyone honestly need more than 40 gigs of music on a portable music device? You're never possibly going to listen to all of it unless you've got it all encoded in some ungodly high bitrate. I've got 6.5 gigs which is 1600 songs, and honestly, I probably won't ever listen to every song more than once, unless I always have it on play all.

Posted by Tim on July 28, 2004 at 8:23 PM (PDT)

96

The new 4G iPods are so disappointing from an aesthetics perspective that I have found myself frantically attempting to find an old 3G model to buy. That stupid Click Wheel is an atrocity. It is ugly as sin and totally destroys the ultra-cool futuristic nature of the 3G design. This is definitely a step backward in the iPod's evolution. I'm probably going to wait for the 5G now.

Posted by Jackson Stephens on July 28, 2004 at 8:23 PM (PDT)

97

Another excellent article!

One thing I find myself wondering: has it been determined yet whether the longer battery life in the 4G models is thanks to a reconfiguration of the 4G model's guts, or if it's just a more durable battery? (To put it another way...should the battery in my 40GB 3G die, and I sent it to Apple for battery replacement, could I expect to get back a longer-lasting battery in return?)

Posted by benscripps on July 28, 2004 at 8:25 PM (PDT)

98

"and some later-model 3G iPod users began to report that their units featured blue screens,"
I bought my 3g 40Gb about a month after it came out (10 months ago?) and, interestingly, the screen has a blue tint on it. Not as purplely as the 4G but MUCH bluer then the 3g in the photo.

Posted by booksacool1 on July 28, 2004 at 9:25 PM (PDT)

99

Jeremy,
Did you also test and compare MP3 playback quality on the new ipods? Personally, I have encountered some really nasty and unacceptable playback artifacts (an 'under-water' effect )on my 3G ipod, that did not occur on cheap CD-MP3 players, neither on the iMac. This problem has been posted on ipod lounge and elsewhere. Its existence has been confirmed, by users and even by Apple as far as I know. It's definitely a bug in the MP3 decoder of the iPod.
Could you check this out? I am willing to provide you with a couple of small AIF, AAC and MP3 files that clearly display the problem I'm referring to.

Hans Erik

Posted by digidivi in Maarssen, Netherlands on July 28, 2004 at 10:01 PM (PDT)

100

The 4G ipod is great. Software is good so it the shuffle feature so you get to to listen to some great songd that you would normally not look for. Had mine for a day now and i love it! Much more sleek and simple than the 3G ipod. Going to America tomorrow so i will be using it a lot on the plane.

Posted by Jon Hood on July 29, 2004 at 1:04 AM (PDT)

Page 5 of 11 pages « First  <  3 4 5 6 7 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.