Dension ICELink 1.1 | iLounge

Reviews

21

yep, i was having exactly the same problems before the Sirius tuner. I had actually hoped adding it might even HELP matters but at the very least it didn't make it worse!

Posted by krzy on August 7, 2004 at 1:06 PM (PDT)

22

Does anyone have an Icelink hooked up to a Sony headunit? How's it working? I've got my iPod hooked up (without an Icelink) through the CD changer inputs of my Sony headunit and it works great. The changer has to be hooked up so the head unit still thinks the CD changer is supplying input to the jacks, but the jacks now work as an aux input for the iPod whenever I select the CD input. Voila! If the Icelink showed the song info in the headunit, it'd be worth it, but $170 (incl. shipping) for glorified patch cords seems crazy expensive. I'm still considering it, but it really adds limited utility for me. Charging and output through the firewire is the best feature, but I'd want to keep the iPod close enough to read/access anyway, so I want to keep it mounted close to me on the dash. Reaching over to go to the next song on the iPod is hardly taxing. Now that I think about it, the iPod will actually be closer than my headunit once I mount it. (btw I turn the iPod all the way up and control volume through the headunit.)

Posted by JoeS in Austin on August 7, 2004 at 1:23 PM (PDT)

23

for Kevin D. you have to find a balance between you ipod's volume and the car stereo. Also, be careful to check your eq settings

Posted by Zo in New York on August 7, 2004 at 7:19 PM (PDT)

24

I think a better option, which has about zero chance of going wrong and will cost about the same, is to simply buy a new headunit that has an AUX input available. Unless you already have an expensive aftermarket headunit installed, and it doesn't have an AUX input, for less than $200 you can get a great stereo and a great way to connect your iPod to your car with crystal clear audio quality.

Posted by I am speed in Austin, TX on August 7, 2004 at 9:11 PM (PDT)

25

krzy,
i have an icelink hooked up to a sony head. i don't have the icelink that allows you to control through the head unit, i found the idea a bit too much for me. the ipod sits within arm's reach and you can read the text just fine. no sound issues, no hardware issues. it just looks real clean and the charging and output through firewire are great.

Posted by Travis on August 8, 2004 at 4:08 AM (PDT)

26

Thanks for the input, everyone. While surfing I came across the SiK IMP ($30), which charges AND provides a line out through the firewire port. Also, the Belkin car kit ($40, referred to previously in thread), which also includes a built-in amp to adjust line-out levels. I'm leaning toward the IMP, because I don't know anything about the quality of the Belkin amp and don't want to introduce any distortion. Either one looks like a pretty good solution..... Anyone have experience/input on either?

http://www.sik.com
IMP

http://www.belkin.com
Auto Kit for iPod w/ Dock Connector

Posted by JoeS in Austin on August 8, 2004 at 7:28 AM (PDT)

27

I have a SiK IMP running into the aux-in of a kenwood deck with a clear universal cell holder from radioshack to hold the ipod. I mounted the plug in the holder to create a dock-like insertion. The IMP power is spliced behind the dashboard and the remaining cable hidden. It looks very clean, sounds incredible, and was completed for $35. I could not be happier...ok, I could...I have an ever increasing fascination with the Alpine solution. Really clever deck control would be the selling point. Not the half-control of the BMW or Icelink.

Posted by Jonathan Perry on August 8, 2004 at 8:48 AM (PDT)

28

In regards to my post above. I've contacted Dension twice to get a replacement and both times they've said that I would have one the next day and it has never arrived. I repeat DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY. Take your money elsewhere.

Posted by Mscot on August 9, 2004 at 9:48 AM (PDT)

29

apparently, i was the first to have an aux-pod installed into a 2003 Grand Cherokee (according to PAC-Audio, the manufacturer) and I my jeep had SERIOUS problems with the install. However, the engineer there is being EXTREMELY helpful and they are in the proecess of finding a fix for my problems. For the few moments that the unit works, it is AWESOME! But then my radio and car security system go nuts. So at least i can see that when they get it fixed it will be sweeeet! I'll keep you all posted....

Posted by chris cecil on August 9, 2004 at 10:49 AM (PDT)

30

Had mine for three months now and it is great. occasionally switches off but only very occasionally. on the whole extremely pleased with it.

Posted by Clive Parrott on August 9, 2004 at 11:28 AM (PDT)

31

It sounds like the people having problems are the ones with aftermarket stereos. How does the icelike work with regular factory radios? I have a ford ranger and I'm thinking of getting this. Anyone have experience with ford radios?

Thanks

Posted by Steve on August 10, 2004 at 12:56 PM (PDT)

32

I'm holding out for the Alpine solution coming in late September - should be *sweet*
http://www.alpine-usa.com/products/leading_technology/leading_tech_kca-420i.htm

Posted by Nich Anderson on August 10, 2004 at 4:14 PM (PDT)

33

Will the Alpine unit fitt regular factory radios or do i have to buy a new Alpine head unit?

Posted by Andreas Olausson on August 10, 2004 at 9:06 PM (PDT)

34

update on my porsche becker icelink. i've had it for a week now and have experienced no problems with it not turning off or powering up. the tracklisting on the headunit does not correlate with the track number of the selection that is playing but there has been no problem with forwarding or reversing tracks with the headunit. ww

Posted by willywoody on August 11, 2004 at 4:40 AM (PDT)

35

Hi,

I have a Sony MP-70. Even the newest firmware crashes head unit display. Then I loose the connection much as the review stated.

I have been sent the AUX connection kit though. Will try that out soon.

Great service from [url=http://www.ihavetohave.it]http://www.ihavetohave.it[/url] - [sales@ihavetohave.it] - UK Based.

Posted by Paulo on August 11, 2004 at 7:13 AM (PDT)

36

Steve, I am using mine in a Ford Focus with the standard cd Stereo. its great.

Posted by clive Parrott on August 11, 2004 at 11:14 AM (PDT)

37

I have an earlier model for my Toyota Echo 2000. The unit simulates a CD-changer. Some of the features (fast-forward and reverse) worked for a while but now no longer do. Skip forward/back works. Unfortunately, I mostly listen to audio books and the controls I need are fast-forward/reverse; not skip-forward/reverse, so I'm SOL. The iPod usually turns on and off as expected, though sometimes the volume gets stuck on low and I have to fix it manually.

Also, no track numbering or info is communicated to the head unit.

As stated in the review, basically I have an expensive way to get line-quality audio input into my head unit and charge the iPod in the car.

Now I'm just holding out for what I *really* want which is a head unit into which I can insert the iPod like an 8-track tape and then just pull it out again any time I want. I'd pay $500 for that -- more than the iPod itself.

Posted by Chris on August 11, 2004 at 4:41 PM (PDT)

38

I too found the Icelink WAY too expensive for what it does. Instead I bought a connector from PIE (http://www.pie.net), GM9-AUX, that converts the CD changer port on my Firebird OEM head unit to an aux-in port. Sik imp is on the way to provide power and sound out the Firewire port. Only hassle is that I have to manually turn off/on the iPod mini.

Posted by Jason P on August 11, 2004 at 8:19 PM (PDT)

39

I took care of this problem about 6 months ago. My HU has an aux-in so I just connected a RCA to mini cable to it, ran it to my iPod, then bought a universal phone holder from RadioShack, molded a Car Power adapter with shaved side hooks(the ones that hold the iPod to the cable) and Off I went. Sounds Great and cost me around $40. You can see it at http://www.cardomain.com/id/arguck

Posted by ARGuck on August 12, 2004 at 5:42 AM (PDT)

40

Just installed the Icelink V1.1 in my 1999 BMW M3 and so far am extremely satisfied with the installation, fit, function and operation with the 4G iPod. Installation involved abandoning my CD changer and the iPod is controlled through the factory head unit CD controls giving me forward, back, play, etc as well as volume, and on/off control. The mount is a Pro Clip made specifically for the E46 BMW's and installs well and looks great! As the iPod is close enought to see track info and access direct iPod controls when necessary Icelink works very well for my needs. Not the best ultimate solution but a big step in the right direction of iPod integration.

Posted by Blair B on August 12, 2004 at 6:59 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 4 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.