Griffin RoadTrip All-in-One Car Solution | iLounge

Reviews

21

Go here to see a real good product in this category

http://homepage.mac.com/nsousa/mockups/flexdock7.jpg

Posted by Nuno on August 23, 2004 at 12:13 PM (PDT)

22

This thing is a clunky, UGLY thing.

When I design things like this, it makes me think people hardly know how to design things with aesthetics or practicality in mind anymore. The colors aren't right, the lines aren't right, the size and shape aren't right. The LCD display isn't right. Nothing is right on this thing.

I can instantly think of how I would design this product in every way. Too bad I don't have thousands of dollars to make it happen.

Posted by Z on August 23, 2004 at 9:22 PM (PDT)

23

i'll take the Lexus in the review instead wink

Posted by bob on August 25, 2004 at 9:11 AM (PDT)

24

Well, I have been using iTrip, and a Belkin Car Dock (cup holder thing) and the Belkin Car Charger. all with no problems. And I think I paid less than $80 for the 3 combined online somewhere. (MacZone.xom i think)

One thing I find depressing with all these cradles is that they are designed only for a not protected iPod. Which is a shame.

Posted by Shawn on August 25, 2004 at 10:17 AM (PDT)

25

You would be better off buying an iTrip, a car adapter and a TuneDok for less. I bought a package with all three at Audio-Outfitters for $67.00 and there are only three parts.

Dave

Posted by David Samuels on August 25, 2004 at 10:43 AM (PDT)

26

It seems to me that the objections to this product in the review are pretty superficial. The bottom line for me is functionality, not elegance. If it broadcasts a strong signal and it fits properly in the car, it looks like a winner. It's unfortunate that this thing probably just won't fit well in some cars.

I suppose it's just a matter of time before a company comes up with a similar product with a stiff snake cable-like arrangement to replace the somewhat inflexible arms in the current generation of this kind of product.

The fact that the broadcaster requires a powered USB port is a total non-issue for me. That it works outside the car would be a huge bonus in our household. Another huge huge advantage for me is the apparent ease of setting the frequency. Ipod menu based solutions just DO NOT WORK on the road.

Thanks for the review!

Posted by Carch on August 25, 2004 at 10:51 AM (PDT)

27

I have the DLO transporter and I must say that it does a fairly good job. I think all of these transmitter type of iPod adapters sound somewhat muddy on the high side. The Transporter instructions say that you need to adjust the equalizer when using it. One thing I must say is I do not have any trouble with the the receiver fading in and out. It is very solid. I am lucky to have an older car with a cassette player and with a cassette adapter there is a world of difference in the sound. I really can't vouch for the iTrip or any other type products since I don't have them. I do have a belkin adapter and with the cassette adapter and it works very well, but it has it's share of wires. So it is a trade off between wires and a somewhat bulky adapter.

Tim

Posted by Tim on August 25, 2004 at 2:21 PM (PDT)

28

Nice Lexus RX 330 "test car" lol

Posted by Joe on August 25, 2004 at 2:53 PM (PDT)

29

lexus = overpriced toyota

Posted by fred on August 25, 2004 at 3:47 PM (PDT)

30

"It seems to me that the objections to this product in the review are pretty superficial..."

I can't agree with you here. Form is always as important as function. But it's important that people realize that form is not just about looks - it's about size, stability, and usability as well, among other things. For instance, would you want a car that functioned great but looked ugly, or was too big, too small, or had an odd shape? You could ask the same questions in regard to homes, clothing, or anything else you own. People keep these things in mind even when shopping for something as simple as a toaster.

Electronics are no different than anything else in this life. Things need to have nice aesthetics for many reasons.

That's hardly superficial. It's significant and an important part of everything we consume.

Posted by Z on August 25, 2004 at 8:58 PM (PDT)

31

To put the following in perspective - I have just read various reviews and subsequent comments on this site - what a crazy world we live in.
Wouldn't it be nice if one of the many companies messing with this type of product would build a reciever into the product to scan for least used frequencies and then broadcast to them with a strong signal. Lets do that first and then let the designers put a nice front to the electronics. If we could get the right bunch of people together to form a company these days we could make a killing. Sadly marketing and making a quick buck still takes first place. Lets face it, if us mugs purchase five different pieces of fm transmission equipment along the way to finding the perfect one (which had the technology available from square one to be dsigned) all the companies are laughing their way to the bank.

By the way we complain about how software companies are using the change in year each year to tempt us to by "....." 2003 and then "....." 2004 with a couple of new features that have been programmed out for the last five years to keep us buying new versions like wee lap dogs. As far as I can see all the companies are at it! Can sombody tell me that Apple hadn't the programming expertese last year or the year before to already include the features generation 4 has in the ipod. Interesting generation 4 in 2004 next year they may just call it ipod 2005.
Don't get me wrong here (I love my Ipod and my itrip works for me) but I think a lot of us (including myself)have to do some serious thinking about what really drives us to continue to go out and buy the latest products just cause they are the latest products.

Posted by Nigel on August 30, 2004 at 5:54 PM (PDT)

32

"to put the following in perspective blah blah blah"

Posted by Joel Rogovin on September 21, 2004 at 10:53 AM (PDT)

33

Just picked up the Roadtrip ... kinda wished I had seen this review first, but I still would have purchased it.

Agree completely with the design aspect, but I fortunately don't have to use the extension arm in my Subaru Outback. Geer shift is a little tight going into 3rd and 5th, but I just move my hand a litlle.

Not sure what reviewer is saying about not being able to do line-out. I use my cassette interface all the time with this thing ... just turn off the transmitter and it works no problem.

I just like the fact I don't have to spend 5 minutes plugging in cables every time I get into my car.

Posted by Arne on September 22, 2004 at 5:51 AM (PDT)

34

Some are sdaying they picked iup the road trip???? Where, Griffin says its not going to ship here in the US :O(

Posted by Garry Moss on September 24, 2004 at 5:54 AM (PDT)

35

I'm using a RoadTrip in a 97 Honda Civic. Acceptable "AM" quality audio (but not great) as expected. But the kludgey arm thingamajig is torture to implement and an eye sore, ta boot. Suggestion for Griffin and DLO (for the similar TransPod): Design a SEMI-RIGID BENDABLE METAL ARM (like the kinds in those cool adjustable lamps) that would be more universal to mount, stay in place and positionable away from the gear shift. Please: better design. It's frustrating to pay nearly $100 for merely adequate kludgey gear to house the superior iPod.

Posted by kwXilvr on December 3, 2004 at 2:34 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 2 pages  <  1 2

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.