comments

Ahh, I want to get this case but I don't want to buy from those sites. Does any know where i can get the case in the east side of Toronto?

Posted by Silly Rabbit, Drugs are for kids on October 11, 2004 at 3:00 PM (PDT) Comment 21

i just received mine in the mail today. here's my short review:

ordered it earlier this week. their email confirmation of my order seemed to lose my shipping address so i emailed it and they replied the next day acknowledging it. a day or two later they emailed me a shipping tracking number that was invalid in both fedex and ups. i emailed them about it and heard nothing for a couple days. it came today so i don't care about that any more but i'd rate their customer support as mediocre. the unit seems to be very well designed and made. everything lines up great, feels solid and meaty. even though i have 6 hours with the thing i'd give it a solid A. the screen/wheel film on the other hand i'd rate very low. they didn't include any instructions on how to apply them. by the time i figured out that i had to peel a layer off and so on i had smudged them up and had to wash them which removed most of the adhesive. i'll buy wheel/screen protectors elsewhere but i think i'll be a long time powersupport case customer. i'll report back if i run into the silicone cracking issues the chick up above mentioned.

Posted by c9h13o3n on October 15, 2004 at 6:59 PM (PDT) Comment 22

Will a mini wearing the square Silicone Jacket fit in the Ten Technology FlexDock reviewed here?

Posted by Songdog on January 26, 2005 at 6:43 AM (PDT) Comment 23

What color case is shown in the review? They offer transparent or white. The pictures you show look more like "translucent" than transparent, so I don't know what to order.

Posted by Fuzznfangs on February 4, 2005 at 8:57 AM (PDT) Comment 24

i think it's for squares...

Posted by punkrockavocado on May 5, 2005 at 6:05 PM (PDT) Comment 25

This is an excellent case; the fit is perfect and it provides excellent protection. After trying several other rubber type slip on cases I can say this is the best I’ve see so far, I purchased on for both my son and myself.

Posted by RJP63 on July 15, 2005 at 8:23 PM (PDT) Comment 26

Does this attract a lot of lint and dust like the iskin?

Posted by Lost_Delirious on July 19, 2005 at 4:53 PM (PDT) Comment 27

Is this compatible with the Sik Ram Din?

Posted by dorfmeister on August 19, 2005 at 9:28 PM (PDT) Comment 28

Hi, everyone. Is the round version just as good as the square one?

My daughter wants the round, but I'm not sure how it would review, and Jeremy hasn't yet gotten around to reviewing the run of the mill rounded silicon jacket.

I posted at the iPod mini site of iPod Lounge, but have had no responses.

Perhaps it's a question that no one knows the answer to.

- k

Posted by kuvasz on August 29, 2005 at 3:40 PM (PDT) Comment 29

I found my answer. The round type jacket is basically reviewed, though not in the review ratings but as a sort of subheading under Power Support's Swivel Fix Stand.

Here it is:

"Round Type Silicone Jacket Mini
While we love the Square Type Silicone Jacket, there’s less to be said for Power Support’s Round Type case for the iPod mini. It’s a very simple product - a silicone rubber sheathe with five holes, four of which are obvious: one at the top for iPod insertion, one each for screen and Click Wheel, and one for the Dock Connector port. The Dock Connector hole is on the too-small side; it works fine with Apple and Belkin peripherals, but not ones with larger Dock Connector plugs.
And unusually, the top hole is on the too-large side: it’s entirely open with an odd design that includes a precision-molded lip to hold the iPod mini in place, and a back flap of rubber that stands taller than the front and sides off the top of the Silicone Jacket. The flap is unlike the company’s more protective slit-like opening on the 3G iPod Silicone Jacket, and given the case’s small fifth hole located dead in the center of the rubber, it’s probably designed to work with a lanyard necklace, though none is included.
The best thing we can say about the Round Type is that it’s reasonably protective. Power Support wisely decided to pack-in screen protection in the form of scratch-resistant Crystal Film and Click Wheel protection with transparent Wheel Film. Together with the case, these two Films protect all of the iPod save its top, Dock Connector port, and Action button, making the case offering above average in overall protectivity.

That said, unlike Power Support’s Square Type case, the Round Type case offers little that we haven’t seen before. It’s a fair overall compromise for those who want a little more thickness and a different sort of Click Wheel protection than what’s offered by Lajo’s exo3 series cases. Generally speaking, if you don’t have another rubber case already, it’s a fine pack-in for the Swivel Fix mount, but it’s not super-stylish and wouldn’t independently be our first choice in this case category."

I wonder why they buried this important review here, rather than with the square type review. From the review of the square type, readers are left assuming that there is not a great difference between the two.

This oversight needs to be corrected. Glad I stumbled upon it before purchasing the round type.

- k

Posted by kuvasz on August 29, 2005 at 3:53 PM (PDT) Comment 30

too boxy

Posted by ipodminilovr on September 16, 2005 at 5:02 PM (PDT) Comment 31
 1 2 >
related reviews

Report: Apple ‘tentatively’ plans mid-September iPhone event
Apple faces class action suit in California for labor violations
Apple, AT&T now sending $40 checks to some iPad 3G owners
Apple denies iOS “back door” access in new report
Notes from Apple’s Q3 2014 earnings call
Apple Q3 2014: 35.2M iPhones, 13.3M iPads, 2.9M iPods, $37.4B revenue
Simpsons World, FXNOW coming to Apple TV?
WSJ: Apple asking suppliers to make 70-80M new iPhones this year
Apple ‘iTime’ patent includes wristband sensors
Tips app debuts in iOS 8 beta 4

related reviews

Incipio offGRID Smart Bluetooth Low Energy-Enabled Portable 6000mAh Backup Battery
Divoom Voombox Travel Rugged Portable Wireless Speaker
Logitech protection+ for iPhone 5/5s and +trip
Beats Powerbeats2 Wireless
Incipio Steno Ultra-Thin Bluetooth Keyboard Folio for iPad Air
OtterBox Resurgence Power Case for iPhone 5/5s
Gumdrop Cases FoamTech Case for iPad Air
Ztylus Camera Case + RV-2 Revolver Lens for iPhone 5/5s
JBL Synchros Reflect In-Ear Sport Headphones
JBL Synchros E50BT Over-Ear Headphones

related reviews

iLounge Picks: Five Great Summer Party Speakers
Editorial: Endings And Beginnings
Live From CE Week 2014: Brand New iPad, iPhone + Mac Accessories!
What’s New In iOS 8 For iPad, iPhone + iPod touch
iLounge Multi-Editorial: WWDC 2014’s iOS 8, OS X Yosemite + More
The Complete Guide to Apple TV Channels
iHistory: From iPod + iTunes to iPhone, Apple TV + iPad, 2001 to 2010
iHistory: From iPod + iTunes to iPhone, Apple TV + iPad: 2011 to Today
Viewing only downloaded iTunes Match tracks
Splitting purchased content between two iPads