DLO TransPod FM 2004 (for Dock Connector iPods) | iLounge

Reviews

1

Such a rip-off. But nicer execution than the RoadTrip.

Posted by Dustin on August 25, 2004 at 10:32 PM (PDT)

2

The TransPod came before the RoadTrip, so it isn't a rip-off. It's sad to hear about the arm change, but the rest sound good.

Posted by Drew on August 25, 2004 at 10:42 PM (PDT)

3

I have one. The Fm sound is the worst that i ear on my life. Very bad. The base dock, have a entrance for minijack. The sound is always the same level, but have no graves, is metalic sound. Better when you insert minijack directly on ipod. The only one thing that i advise ok, is that you can put your ipod on a dock and charge it during the trip. And the system to conect the dock to the light connector, is softly and moves during the trip. If you put like the picture of this review, maybe will break on the 3th mille.

Posted by Wasabi on August 25, 2004 at 11:47 PM (PDT)

4

they all look rubish!

Posted by a designer on August 26, 2004 at 1:52 AM (PDT)

5

The transpod is a really bad product. It looks cheap and sounds horrible. DLO is lame. Thier cases are brutal too.

Posted by jim on August 26, 2004 at 4:49 AM (PDT)

6

I ran into a problem with the older Transpod that seems to be fixed in this version. The problem was that the fit was so tight it actually ended up splitting my ipod(3G) case open! It may have been my error or my wife's but at some point on our road trip I noticed that the case on the right side of the ipod was out of alignment and actually a bit open. I eventually was able to pop the case back together though.

The drop in sound quality was bearable...but lacks head room as noted in the article.

Great review!

Posted by heihachi on August 26, 2004 at 4:49 AM (PDT)

7

they keep changing the transpods w/o telling people so really whatever problems one person has may have disappeared later, hard to believe fm is so bad now, they went from analog tuner to digital.

Posted by ano on August 26, 2004 at 6:17 AM (PDT)

8

Great review... not sure if I'll buy into it right away though.

Concered with the power of the FM Transmission compared to the belkin or iTrip devices. Since the iTrip pulls power from the pod, I wouldn't expect the FM transmitting power to be very strong compared to a car-powered device.

Jeremy - any comments on this??

Otherwise, good job...

Posted by 4G iPOD User on August 26, 2004 at 6:20 AM (PDT)

9

I hope you guys are not criticizing a product without using it. But everyone has their own tastes. I have had 2 transpods, one for a first generation iPod and a new one I just bought for a 3rd generation iPod. It is true that the FM quality could be better, but isn't this the case with all of these types of adapters? Also the mini adapter is very hard to get out of the slot on the older models. Glad to see it has been improved.
FYI: I called everythingipod.com about this new design and it is not available for order on the internet. They told me that they are shipping them to their resellers only at this time.
The difference in the models is they changed manufacturers (duh!).
I have a cassette adapter and the high end does sound very strong. I just have to adjust it so it doesn't.

Good review from the IPodlounge guys.

Posted by Tim on August 26, 2004 at 7:32 AM (PDT)

10

When you come to ipodlouge.com , scrawled in huge black text across the front page should be "use a line in or tape adapter if possible". The incessant pounding of this mantra has got me looking into getting a new cd player with an auxiliary input. Good Review.

Posted by Johan on August 26, 2004 at 9:43 AM (PDT)

11

My sister had the first Gen, it wasn't that great and we wound up taking it back and getting a cassette adapter. I really feel bad for DLO with people so hard on them

Personally I like the Monster iCarPlay Wireless FM Transmitter for Apple® iPod™ with Dock Connection

I just can't see spending $70 for an FM transmitter!

Posted by WirelessDJ on August 26, 2004 at 3:52 PM (PDT)

12

the monster icarplay sucks by comparison with transpod :(

Posted by monstermonster on August 26, 2004 at 7:45 PM (PDT)

13

I bought a 3rd gen iPod Transpod on a recent trip to the US. It is the best thing i have ever bough.. I did a 1000 mile road trip. The arm never failed once. The sound was great. FAR better than the iTrip. The added power of the transmitter is great... just hope no one in the uk finds me. with my illegal transmitter. smile

Posted by UK person on August 27, 2004 at 2:31 AM (PDT)

14

Well, I have used both the Transpod and the Belkin FM transmitter (the one with the LCD display, not just the 4 choices of stations). The belkin out performs this any day. However I do enjoy the simplicity of having one device plug into one power outlet and charging, holding, and transmitting my music. I purchased Transpod from Best Buy at a mere $50. Opened product. I saw another one that was opened for $70. Go to Best Buy and TAKE ADVANTAGE of the deals on the open products. They come with a full warranty still, just are cheaper. Transpod...well...I like it...it isn't the best thing in the world though. Kinda big in my opinion. And unstable when mounting in the cigarette lighter. It is lightweight, but when you have both arm extensions on, it can be very unstable.

Posted by iSpider on August 27, 2004 at 8:10 AM (PDT)

15

I bought this to use with my mini and it never fit quite right. The sound was ok, when it worked. If you hit a bump the mini would bounce back out, even the employee at the store could not get it to work properly. Maybe I just had a bad unit.

Posted by mini user on August 27, 2004 at 2:52 PM (PDT)

16

Hello everybody!
It is good for me to know this web.
I'm from Taiwan ,nice to know you.
My uncle buy me a Transpod in his U.S trip .
And I realize that this one is really perfect!
No matter sound quality or outlook!
It's best already although mount must to be improved.My friend told me that the manufacture of Transpod is from Taiwan .Is that true ?Since it has a headquarter in Taiwan ,I am sure that I would introduce my friend to buy it .Is any know this Taiwan vendor ?Please let me know .It must be convenient for us to buy it in Taiwan rather than from U.s.

Posted by AAA on August 28, 2004 at 2:01 AM (PDT)

17

i don't know if it has been fixed in the newer version or not, but i returned my old one just shy of a month of using it. the interference created by the sound of the hard drive drove me nuts as well as the tinny sound of using the line out (i had to set the ipod to "treble reducer" when i got into the car). but the thing that isn't mentioned in the article is that when using the line out and not the fm transmitter, the transpod created its own interference. i kept hearing this low static, not so much a buzz or hum, but just quiet white noise in the background. i realized it was coming from the fm transmitter when i disconnected the power to the transpod. it would go away when it was not recieving power from the car, and come back as soon as i plugged it in and the fm transmitter started going again. if you can find this open box for a signifcant discount, get it, but for the full $100, if they haven't fixed that problem, i dont think it's worth it.

Posted by fogues on August 30, 2004 at 7:14 AM (PDT)

18

Why? Just use any iPod car charger, hiding it somewhere, use iTrip, and hit up a playlist. Cost me £50 better than buying all this dodgy looking crap. Heh I don't even drive, I just take over the music in the car when I'm in it.

Posted by Rob on August 30, 2004 at 1:59 PM (PDT)

19

I have the iTrip, the full-range Belkin, and the Transpod with the fully articulated arm. Of the three, the last one is the clear winner, even taking into consideration the occasional hum of the hard drive. Anyone trying to drive while attempting to tune in the iTrip should immediately have their license revoked.

Posted by liamster on September 3, 2004 at 6:11 PM (PDT)

20

I bought a transpod for 79 and it is the best thing i have bought in a long time

Posted by juanjo on September 8, 2004 at 12:52 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 3 pages  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.