DLO TransPod FM 2004 (for Dock Connector iPods) | iLounge

Reviews

41

I've only had my Transod for a week now- but I'm very pleased with it so far. It fits perfectly into the cig lighter of my 2004 Toyota Highlander; I left the holder loose so I could push it aside in order to shift gears- but it isn't really in the way that much. I do have to turn the volume up quite a bit but the sound has been just fine- no distracting squealing noise. I paid about $75 for it and think it was $$ well spent.

Posted by Lithe1 in Eastern Shore, VA on February 26, 2005 at 2:13 PM (PDT)

42

The only thing I can find wrong with the transpond is the fit. After buying a after market case that is bulking, it wont fit in the transpond. I would like to see this fixed, so i dont have to keep taking off my case to play music in my car.

Posted by peteA in omaha. ne on March 21, 2005 at 5:23 PM (PDT)

43

1st test drive- just picked the transpod up this afternoon, first impressions: first off, I wouldn't even consider using and ipod in the car using an fm transmitter, used for xm sat. and decided to buy a cd player with auxillary in, you can pick up an aiwa for $99.99.
If you are going to use the line out to either the aux. in or cassette player, use the line out on the ipod, then you can still use vol. control on the ipod. All this being said I think the transpod is great and does the job well. I like being able to plug the pod directly into a base and you don't have to put up with wires hanging all over the place. Is it worth the money, probably overpriced, but its hard to find something that works as well as this does and not be overpriced. Again would never consider paying that money to use with fm.

Posted by joegjr in pennsylvannia on March 30, 2005 at 9:23 AM (PDT)

44

This works great for my purposes - I have a marine stereo /speakers built into my bar-be-que with a Radio Shack power source which features a plug for the transpod. Rather than getting out of the hot tub/pool to change cds I can now have background all day long. As the stereo is't moving it's easy to pick up an open station. I also use it in long distance travel with the motorhome through desert or other areas not requiring constant channel changing. For daily 50 mile commutes I use the cassette adapter.

Posted by richp5 on April 5, 2005 at 11:43 AM (PDT)

45

Anyone tried this one out? Its made by CTA I believe. You are limited to the number of stations you can tune into but it is much cheaper alternative to DLO's.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=73834&item=5767456597&rd=1

Posted by powaking on April 14, 2005 at 7:48 AM (PDT)

46

DLO transpod… best fm transmitter ever. I was driving next to my friend who had an Itrip and my transpod overpowered his itrip and the sound was clear on his radio as well as mine. It produces a clear sound and it charges and keeps your ipod upright and safe while driving… well worth a hundred bucks. SOund quality is awesome... so far two of my friends have bought them due to there amazingness.

Posted by ahorn on May 1, 2005 at 9:56 PM (PDT)

47

Am I the only one who gets a perfect sound without any problems with the iTrip? I recently used the iTrip on a drive from south Florida to Washington, DC and didn't have to change the station once (I use 87.9) and the sound quality was better than using line-out through my tape deck. To my ears, it's a perfect sound.

Posted by Likelife on June 3, 2005 at 11:10 PM (PDT)

48

Likelife - no, you're not the only one. However, "perfect sound" isn't a good description. I was perfectly happy with the iTrip for about six months, and couldn't understand what the complaints were about. However, after purchasing an iCarPlay Wireless I heard what I had been missing. The iTrip, in ideal situations, sounds fine, and holds it's tuning pretty well. But it just doesn't sound as good as something that uses a true line out (read - connects to iPod's bottom). Also, the reviewers should note sometimes that tapes don't sound very good when connected directly to the top of an iPod, and even when connected to a line out, are subject to the hiss and distortion imparted from the tape deck's mechanism. Sure, there is distortion from FM too, but the tape adapter shouldn't be regarded as better than any FM transmitter by definition. Both the iCarPlay wireless and the Transpod sound much better than even "premium" sony and monster tape adapters. Yes, even when those adapters are used with a line out.

Posted by supideo5 on June 5, 2005 at 9:32 PM (PDT)

49

Oops. That should be "holds its tuning pretty well..." And, "imparted by the tape deck's mechanism..."

Posted by supideo5 on June 5, 2005 at 9:35 PM (PDT)

50

I tried a line-out cassette adapter. It was way too loud, too boomy, and there was a buzz that made the iPod unlistenable. It's likely that the buzz was a result of my cassette deck, however. Since I'm satisfied with the iTrip, I didn't spend too much time troubleshooting before returning the cassette adapters (I tried two).

Posted by Likelife on June 7, 2005 at 6:28 PM (PDT)

51

So...if I leave this plugged into my car (with the engine off), even if i remove the ipod from the Transpod, will it continue to drain the car's battery?

Anyone who has experience with this, please let me know.

Posted by AllDay AllNight on June 13, 2005 at 1:16 AM (PDT)

52

Two questions:
1.Is it correct that the only way to get sound directly into my car radio/CD (no cassette) is to replace the unit with one that has an input jack? (There's no way an input jack could be installed onto an existing unit and nothing that can be put in the CD slot like a cassette adapter?)
2. Can the transpod also be used in the house to transmit through radios in various rooms? Perhaps the sound quality wouldn't be worth it. I assume I'd need to come up with an AC adapter to do this, but it looks from the pictures like there might be a jack for that. Any answers, comments? Thanks!

Posted by lorlar on June 26, 2005 at 9:27 AM (PDT)

53

this product is terrible! i bought it and it worked fine until 3 months later when it just stopped working for absolutely no reason at all..it lights up when i plug it into the car..but it won't connect to any radio station! it sucks cause i didn't save the receipt..just wasted $100..how wonderful

Posted by X24LiNz85X on September 22, 2005 at 1:33 PM (PDT)

54

I bought the DLO Transpod when I bought my 5G ipod. For my use, it works great! No the sound quality isn't the best, but for my 30 minute morning and evening commute and other driving it works perfectly. I have two complaints. One is that it rocks back and forth, like it is not in the lighter tight enough. If anyone has any suggestions on how to remedy this, please let me know. The other is that I have to remove my case, which is an iskin, and that is not just an easy slide off and on case.

Posted by kight on January 13, 2006 at 7:46 AM (PDT)

55

kight - I have the same setup 5G 30 gig on a DLO Transpod. Might be your cig lighter? I have an Escalade and F350 and it fits just fine and hard, no swaying. Might look bad, but could attach bracket or sandwhich tie to it to stablize it. I have a skin and then a Speck armband setup with the rubber Speck wrapper permanently on my iPod. It doesn't quite fit either, but looking to dremel out the sides of the DLO and create some room. Never want to take my ipod out of the rubber+skin for fear of scratching the screen. Apple fell short on that issue!

Everyone else...mine works fine, no sound issues (HD, etc), 88.1 FM works great, maybe switch to 88.5 sometimes.

It does turn 'off' and requires a few clicks on the menu button to get it going again with the FM after we stop and go in for starbucks and return to the car, but works great.

Posted by yagrax on March 13, 2006 at 6:18 PM (PDT)

56

BTW, looking to mount my DLO Home Dock with the video out in the car or truck next. Power it with either an inverter or adpater for the 12v to the Home Dock. We have several screens in the 'lade and planning one in the 3fidy.

Yo! Boyz!

Posted by yagrax on March 13, 2006 at 6:19 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.