Altec Lansing inMotion iMmini / iM300 | iLounge

Reviews

1

Sign me Up!!!!! i have heard the original inmotion speakers and if these sound better like the review says, these will sound unbelievable.

Posted by Jeff on September 13, 2004 at 7:05 PM (PDT)

2

The best review here seems to be for the JBL Creatures. Why not review some other 2.1 speaker systems?

Posted by michael on September 14, 2004 at 3:43 AM (PDT)

3

why not just buy a pair of NICE speakers and a dock???

Posted by ? on September 14, 2004 at 2:36 PM (PDT)

4

"why not just buy a pair of NICE speakers and a dock???"

because they are portable... that's the selling point

Posted by ? on September 14, 2004 at 8:03 PM (PDT)

5

Thoroughly underwhelming and way OVERPRICED, if they sound ANYTHING like the original inMotion set, regardless of its portability factor. BTW, Altec makes a generic inMotion for other HD and portable players, based on the original 3G/4G design (but without the docking capability). While it also lists for $130, buy.com for the longest time was blowing those out at $39.99 per, while the original 3G/4G design was still selling everywhere for $149, and later $129.

Perhaps the non-iPod world already had a clue about just how bad a solution these things really are, you think?

Posted by buffalowings on September 15, 2004 at 8:08 AM (PDT)

6

The "generic" inmotions are the iM2, which have only one driver per channel and don't sound like the other inmotions. nice try tho.

Posted by jagov on September 15, 2004 at 2:39 PM (PDT)

7

i love my imotion and especially now that i am traveling around europe

Posted by Infusion in Around the world on September 26, 2004 at 8:37 PM (PDT)

8

Well I think that this is a very good product considering the price of the bose system. ill be purchasing it for sure

Posted by david on September 27, 2004 at 9:27 PM (PDT)

9

To jagov: considering the miniscule wattages involved here, do you really believe one full-range driver vs. two smaller ones makes that much difference? The original iM was bad enough; half again the drivers ain't gonna make that much difference here good or bad. And besides, the iM2 uses a larger driver to 'push air' (yeah, right).

iMs are a neat, tidy idea with a pretty look, especially the latest ones. Shame all of them have such mediocre sound worthy of a cheapo stereo clock radio. Too bad that the SQ any of the iMs doesn't match the looks. I guess if you must have true portability, the iMs are about as good as it gets right now, which is too, too bad because the sonic performace of the iPod deserves FAR better.

If portability isn't an issue, there are some killer speakers available in the same price range (Paradigm Atoms, for one), though some amping would be needed. But it'll still be cheaper than what Bose wants for their system, not that their SoundDock is really meant to be portable, anyways.

Posted by flatliner on October 1, 2004 at 2:32 AM (PDT)

10

what kind of speakers are compatible with ipod mini? what are the wattage?

Posted by edward on October 14, 2004 at 6:43 PM (PDT)

11

i am thinking of buying the IMmini, but i want to know if the battery life is worth my while, because i would want to bring it to the beach and listen to the music while i chill.... if it lasts only an hour or two, then there is not much point...

also, which would be the better choice in terms of portability, the iboom, or the IMmini?? could someone *please* do a review of the iboom. *please*

cheers.

Posted by soulspawn in australia on November 19, 2004 at 10:43 PM (PDT)

12

i have one and it works really well, i love it. but u cant control the volume from the actual ipod, you gotta use the top volume control and YES IT DOES WORK WITH ALL IPODS. THE MINI IS THE ONLY ONE TO CONNECT IN THE DOCK BUT THERE IS A PROVIDED CORD THAT CONNECTS ALL OTHER IPODS INCLUDING SHUFFLE AND PHOTO

Posted by BlueSIm on June 14, 2005 at 10:47 AM (PDT)

13

In 1995 I bought a pair of "Realistic" wooden tower speakers that stood a good 4' tall, contained no less then 4 12" Subwoofers and 2 2" tweeters that sounded fantastic connected to a small Radio Shack amplifier.

Total cost of these old school floor model gems from radio shack w/amplifier? About $120.

Not that anybody would find such a configuration a reasonable solution. Just trying to make an example about how overpriced these type of iPod speaker systems are.

Posted by Remington in Sacramento, CA on July 28, 2005 at 9:15 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.