Contour Design Showcase 4G | iLounge

Reviews

1

I just got mine today. UPS charged me for $36 service charge :(.

I live in Canada. Contour, please note this. When sending across border, use epedition. I feel so ripped off.

Good product tho. But talk about being overcharged.

Posted by Guy on September 13, 2004 at 7:20 PM (PDT)

2

BLAST!!!! Still no access for an itrip!

Why!?!?!

Posted by ajservo1 on September 13, 2004 at 8:06 PM (PDT)

3

Mine arrived 27 hours after I ordered it! This case is everything I wanted. I've got a 40 gigger, so I don't need the insert. The only thing I have problem with is that the Belkin audio cable will not fit into the headphone jack unless you spread the top apart slightly. I am now using the Belkin Auto Kit, so that is no longer a concern.

Posted by Galley in Greenville, SC on September 13, 2004 at 8:08 PM (PDT)

4

Received my 4G Case last week. It is my first Contour case (and my first iPod). So far I am very pleased with this case. It holds my 40GB iPod securely, shows off the iPod through the transparent front and back, and gives me easy access to the ports and the wheel. I use my iPod as a sync disc for my files between my office and home computers, so I am constantly using the iPod. I think this case will take all the bumps and drops that I know I will put it through.

Posted by Ron on September 13, 2004 at 8:13 PM (PDT)

5

HEY GUY~!
where abouts in canada do you live?
i also live and canada and i just ordered my 3G contour case. but $36 SERVICE CHARGE?! im really nervous. i like the case and all, but i dont like the fact that i might be paying $100 just for a case. pls respond.
thanks in advance.

Posted by deadstock in canada on September 14, 2004 at 12:45 AM (PDT)

6

If there's no way around the service charge, have a trustworthy American order one, and send it to you.

Posted by Galley in Greenville, SC on September 14, 2004 at 5:05 AM (PDT)

7

hey guys,
I am thinking of ordering, and I too am in canada. I was thinking of getting one delivered to a friend in California and then dispatched to me via USPS. I am in New York though, next Week, is there anyplace I can buy this retail in New York City???

Posted by kiwi on September 14, 2004 at 5:05 AM (PDT)

8

Don't worry. $100CDN is only like six bucks in real money.

Posted by troll on September 14, 2004 at 8:57 AM (PDT)

9

This may be dumb because I haven't checked yet, but does anyone or their site have pics of the black one?

later, TC

Posted by supercarrot900 on September 14, 2004 at 10:07 AM (PDT)

10

"The Bad: Doesn't protect the 4G iPod's Click Wheel"

What case will and how??

Posted by Andre on September 14, 2004 at 11:39 AM (PDT)

11

Actually, $100 CDN is worth $77.30 USD. Unless by real money you meant Euros, in which case it's €63.14 EUR.

Posted by monsterdonkey in Vancouver BC on September 14, 2004 at 12:19 PM (PDT)

12

Nah! Real Money= British Pounds. 43.05 of them.

Posted by Garry Marshall on September 14, 2004 at 3:26 PM (PDT)

13

Maybe they'll sell their cases though the Apple Store or come mass merchandiser like CompUSA. Found out I have to pay $20 for UPS 2nd Day. The case is worth $32, but not $52.

Yeah, I know it's not as much as you Canadians have to pay, but still, to REQUIRE you to go with UPS or FedEx 2nd Day when you could ship it USPS and get the same item delivered in a 3-5 days for waaaay less, is ridiculous.

BTW, it CAN still be shipped UPS or FedEx Ground across the Pacific to Hawaii. I know this because when I was in computer retail, we used to do that all the time. Just order with sufficient time ahead of when you need the product and don't get gouged for shipping. I don't know why these companies ALWAYS insist that you have to use a premium service at higher rates. The reality is that you don't. Must just be easier for their shipping department or they get some kick back from the UPS and FedEx.

Posted by Roger Smith on September 14, 2004 at 4:20 PM (PDT)

14

Could any one else in Canada let me know if they got burned by the service charge? I want to order one, but I'm nervous 'bout that
thnx

Posted by Foliage on September 14, 2004 at 5:16 PM (PDT)

15

Here is what happened. BTW i'm the first person to post here under the name "guy".

I ordered it through the international UPS choice at Contour Store. Fair enough.

It appears Contour didn't send it using "expedition" so my package went through the customs and automatically there is approx. $30 service charge just for openning it up and looking at its content.

Of course they charged me TAX on the product.

I honestly won't order from them again, So in total the whole package costed me close to $86 CAD.

It's ironic, i must have been the problly the most anticipated person for this case to come out. I held back from purchasing my ipod for this case to come out!

Well, i have to say the case is great. Just that i got screwed along the way.

Posted by px2so on September 14, 2004 at 6:09 PM (PDT)

16

UPS loves to screw Canadians on ALL cross-border purchases.

Canada Customs says UPS can charge you whatever they feel like and advises people not to use them

They've been overcharging for years. Sometimes, they hit you with the bill at the door. Other times, they'll just get your signature, drop it off and you think you've seen the last of them. Then, months later, out of the blue, you'll get an invoice saying pay up or we will eat your children . . . . .

They are bad, bad mother (f)'s who have grown rich on our backsides.

- Humbug

Posted by raincoast in Nanaimo BC on September 15, 2004 at 8:01 AM (PDT)

17

I am in Canada as well and asked Contour via email about shipping cost before ordering. They did mention 30$ handling fee, which I could not quite believe, but I guess now I do. Thats ridiculous. I guess I will have to find somebody in the US to send me a 'gift'.

Posted by guppi on September 15, 2004 at 9:00 AM (PDT)

18

I put my order today to it shipped to my friend in NJ who will meet me next week in NYC when I visit.
Looks like a great product, pity about the distribution.

B

Posted by kiwi on September 15, 2004 at 11:33 AM (PDT)

19

I got the 37$ Service Charge for Canada!
I phoned Contour, the guy told me not to pick it up and to leave it at the UPS depot for the next couple of days until they sort it out.
I hope they'll just let us send them back if they can't get rid of the charges.
I don't want to pay that.

Posted by thume in Hungary on September 15, 2004 at 12:21 PM (PDT)

20

I just got mine at Fry's Electronics, $29.99. Fits my 40gb perfectly. My only complaint is that it gets dirty easily. Put it in my pocket and my wifes pocketbook last night and it now has black smudges on it. Instructions say to wash it, which I havent done yet. Over all a product I would recommend.

Posted by Ray on September 15, 2004 at 2:22 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 7 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.