Contour Design Showcase 4G | iLounge

Reviews

21

Fellow canadians.. Most london drugs here, at least in BC, carry like a whole shelf of iPod and iPod mini accessories~ now all they need is to have the actual players in stock! XD

Posted by Mike on September 15, 2004 at 4:24 PM (PDT)

22

Got mine today via their website. Payed for UPS ground, and got it 2nd day! Not bad!

Great case, absolutely bullet proof. Feels nice in the hand, and shows off the iPod well. Only complaint - no iTrip, because the top of the case gets in the way. Fortunately (I guess) I don't use iTrip much. Still - I highly recommend.

Posted by Bryan on September 15, 2004 at 5:59 PM (PDT)

23

in stock uk next day delivery £29 does what it says on the tin! showcases ipod within and to be honest im sure no one would wish to hide this iconic symbol have 20gb great fit everyday user friendly and im sure will give great protection best of the bunch!!!

Posted by tigrrrr on September 16, 2004 at 6:25 AM (PDT)

24

hi everyone - this case is really good. From Canada but bought my case from Fry's last weekend in the US. Great case.

Fellow Canadians feeling ripped off - I think I can give some feedback - because I buy a lot of products on the web from different web-sites in Canda. The problem actually lies with UPS. On the cheaper UPS Standard UPS does not include customs brokerage and administrative fees. But on the Express services they include it. Therefore they charge it to us directly on Standard but it is less than Express methods.

However the express service costs about US$44 or US$45. So it would actually cost more using expedited or express - best to check the UPS web-site.

Whenever I have bought product from the US in the past I always end up paying more. Problem is that UPS and Fedex are really the ones with the issues and also the government in Canada. Canadian customs requires these couriers to jump through administrative hoops so they make us the end-users pay for it.

The problem is that Contour is a small company (I must confess that I own a couple of their products) and they really don't have that much control over UPS and Fedex. I guess that they should have realized that this could be a potential issue and put this on their web-site. Whenever I have bought product from their web-site in the past (two times only) they have always emailed me back to make sure that I understand the costs. Maybe someone forgot to do this in the rush to get product out?

The real problem is that because we live in Canada we get stiffed for charges by UPS and Fedex. Either we get charged for it on UPS Standard or brokerage and admin is included in the higher priced epxress services.

My concern is if they get all these negative recommendations they will just become one of the many companies who just stop shipping to Canada. You know why bother!

my thirty-six cents

Posted by billy202 on September 16, 2004 at 6:49 AM (PDT)

25

(sorry I forgot to write the below)

Guy, foliage and ron why don't you call Contour. At least ask what they can do to help you. I am sure they don't like this situation anymore than you do. I am biased because I like their products but we do need small companies like this to produce these type of products otherwise they don't make products like this and we don't get the product.

explain the situation to them I am sure they will try and do something for them.

Kiwi give them a call and ask them. I just went to their web-site and they have removed the UPS Standard option - probably because of all the heat they are getting.

If you do not ask you do not get

Posted by billy202 on September 16, 2004 at 6:53 AM (PDT)

26

Well I had to pay the fee for Canada. UPS charged me 28.55$ for a "Brokerage import fee", however on this site http://www.xdr2.com/canada.htm
it says that for an object with a value of 40-100$CAD the fees are only 16.75$CAD.
HMMM... Interesting UPS.
I don't know who to call first.

Posted by thume in Hungary on September 16, 2004 at 8:41 AM (PDT)

27

For you folks that purchased at Fry's...did they have the 4G version of this case? If so, I know where I'm going this evening wink

Posted by Andy on September 16, 2004 at 9:40 AM (PDT)

28

I am a regular purchaser of products using online stores, auctions (EBay, Yahoo, etc.) from Canada. I will never again order from a company that ships via UPS. Their brokerage fees are internal profit generators. They do not pay any of it to Canadian or U.S. Customs. It is simply a fee they have implemented for shipping things across the border. Technically it is for opening the shipment at customs but I know for a fact that this is a random process at best.
If you order from anyone or talk to Contour about shipping their case tell them to send it via good old United States Postal Service (USPS) and it will arrive cheaper and with no additional fees. In reverse send thing to the U.S. via Express Post and you will avoid the same problems.

Posted by Steve on September 16, 2004 at 10:42 AM (PDT)

29

Andre: The radtech protects the wheel. I have one offered on the classified. .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Posted by 2dogsrule on September 16, 2004 at 6:17 PM (PDT)

30

I phoned Contour 2 days ago to tell them about the ups fees that I had to pay. I got am email from them yesterday saying that they'e going to send send me a free showcase to make up for it (a black one, so now I have both).
That's great customer care! I'm really happy with their service.

Posted by thume in Hungary on September 16, 2004 at 7:04 PM (PDT)

31

I ordered & received mine in 30 hours from everythingipod in the UK - simple but effective case, you still see enough of the ipod unlike those urggh skins and other cases. Definately recommended.


Now thats what i call magic!

Posted by sweetness on September 17, 2004 at 3:12 AM (PDT)

32

.... and i can see the engraving on the back.....


much sweetness

Posted by sweetness on September 17, 2004 at 3:14 AM (PDT)

33

Apple.ca sold the previous gen of these cases so hopefully they will carry the new ones. That will help us Canadians avoid the UPS raping.

Posted by inkmonkey on September 17, 2004 at 7:22 AM (PDT)

34

I contacted Contour about the shipping issue. They agreed to send me another black Showcase. Great customer service as usual!

They have resolved the shipping charge issue. Anyone ordering from contour should not experience such problems anymore.

Again, the product is the best out there. Quality and Design of the product is exceptional!

I highly recommand this case to anyone, from those from US or Canada! No one shall be disappointed with their customer service because they are one of the best i've had to deal with in the market!

Great Job Contour! Any furthure prducts in the ipod line, i will be sure to purcahse again.

Posted by px2so aka. guy on September 17, 2004 at 2:55 PM (PDT)

35

regarding ordering from contour for Canadian Customers, have them ship using 'USPS' instead of 'UPS'.

Rarely do they charge duty charge, and if there is, the fee is very small.

Posted by px2so on September 17, 2004 at 2:59 PM (PDT)

36

Does anybody know if Monster's Dock Connector plug will fit through the bottom hole of this case?

Posted by sara on September 17, 2004 at 5:31 PM (PDT)

37

Picked up a Showcase 4G at Frys Electronics last weekend. I still have a #### Exoflp 4G case on order, but I didn't want to risk getting my new iPod scratched up waiting for the #### case to ship, which could take weeks. So far I'm very happy with the Showcase. My only gripe, a minor one, is that I wish the hole on the bottom was a little wider. My PocketDock with Lineout won't snap onto the bottom dock connector while the case is on. I have to open the case, snap on the PocketDock, then close the case. I can live with that. As for Clickwheel protection, it's easy to add it inexpensively. While I was at Frys buying the Showcase, I picked up a 12-pack of Micro Writeguards PDA screen protectors for $7. Just cut down one of these plastic PDA screen protectors with a pair of scissors, and you've got Clickwheel protection that works pretty well.

Posted by azcoyote in Phoenix, AZ on September 17, 2004 at 6:20 PM (PDT)

38

So...if the iTrip isn't compatible with this, then the RemoteRemote2 (http://www.engineeredaudio.com/products/remote2.html) won't be, either, right? :(

Posted by Shifuimam on September 17, 2004 at 8:34 PM (PDT)

39

I can't believe no one except me thought about using a MARWARE SportSuit Convertible model for the 1G/2G model on a 4G iPod. It fits perfect and I purchased it right at the Apple Store. The sales idiots swore to me that it wouldn't work on a 4G model and boy were they wrong! It works great and can be found discounted down to $19.00 usd. If you don't believe me take your 4G iPod with you and check it out for yourself. You won't regret it. And the Griffin iTrip fits perfect on it too! I can't say the same for the 3G version.

Posted by Mike on September 17, 2004 at 8:48 PM (PDT)

40

To one of you lucky Canadians who will be receiving an extra black case:
Would you be interested in selling it? If so, please email me at
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Also: In what way did they resolve the shipping cost issue?

Posted by guppi on September 18, 2004 at 9:19 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 7 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.