Contour Design Showcase 4G | iLounge

Reviews

26

Well I had to pay the fee for Canada. UPS charged me 28.55$ for a "Brokerage import fee", however on this site http://www.xdr2.com/canada.htm
it says that for an object with a value of 40-100$CAD the fees are only 16.75$CAD.
HMMM... Interesting UPS.
I don't know who to call first.

Posted by thume in Hungary on September 16, 2004 at 8:41 AM (PDT)

27

For you folks that purchased at Fry's...did they have the 4G version of this case? If so, I know where I'm going this evening wink

Posted by Andy on September 16, 2004 at 9:40 AM (PDT)

28

I am a regular purchaser of products using online stores, auctions (EBay, Yahoo, etc.) from Canada. I will never again order from a company that ships via UPS. Their brokerage fees are internal profit generators. They do not pay any of it to Canadian or U.S. Customs. It is simply a fee they have implemented for shipping things across the border. Technically it is for opening the shipment at customs but I know for a fact that this is a random process at best.
If you order from anyone or talk to Contour about shipping their case tell them to send it via good old United States Postal Service (USPS) and it will arrive cheaper and with no additional fees. In reverse send thing to the U.S. via Express Post and you will avoid the same problems.

Posted by Steve on September 16, 2004 at 10:42 AM (PDT)

29

Andre: The radtech protects the wheel. I have one offered on the classified. .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Posted by 2dogsrule on September 16, 2004 at 6:17 PM (PDT)

30

I phoned Contour 2 days ago to tell them about the ups fees that I had to pay. I got am email from them yesterday saying that they'e going to send send me a free showcase to make up for it (a black one, so now I have both).
That's great customer care! I'm really happy with their service.

Posted by thume in Hungary on September 16, 2004 at 7:04 PM (PDT)

31

I ordered & received mine in 30 hours from everythingipod in the UK - simple but effective case, you still see enough of the ipod unlike those urggh skins and other cases. Definately recommended.


Now thats what i call magic!

Posted by sweetness on September 17, 2004 at 3:12 AM (PDT)

32

.... and i can see the engraving on the back.....


much sweetness

Posted by sweetness on September 17, 2004 at 3:14 AM (PDT)

33

Apple.ca sold the previous gen of these cases so hopefully they will carry the new ones. That will help us Canadians avoid the UPS raping.

Posted by inkmonkey on September 17, 2004 at 7:22 AM (PDT)

34

I contacted Contour about the shipping issue. They agreed to send me another black Showcase. Great customer service as usual!

They have resolved the shipping charge issue. Anyone ordering from contour should not experience such problems anymore.

Again, the product is the best out there. Quality and Design of the product is exceptional!

I highly recommand this case to anyone, from those from US or Canada! No one shall be disappointed with their customer service because they are one of the best i've had to deal with in the market!

Great Job Contour! Any furthure prducts in the ipod line, i will be sure to purcahse again.

Posted by px2so aka. guy on September 17, 2004 at 2:55 PM (PDT)

35

regarding ordering from contour for Canadian Customers, have them ship using 'USPS' instead of 'UPS'.

Rarely do they charge duty charge, and if there is, the fee is very small.

Posted by px2so on September 17, 2004 at 2:59 PM (PDT)

36

Does anybody know if Monster's Dock Connector plug will fit through the bottom hole of this case?

Posted by sara on September 17, 2004 at 5:31 PM (PDT)

37

Picked up a Showcase 4G at Frys Electronics last weekend. I still have a #### Exoflp 4G case on order, but I didn't want to risk getting my new iPod scratched up waiting for the #### case to ship, which could take weeks. So far I'm very happy with the Showcase. My only gripe, a minor one, is that I wish the hole on the bottom was a little wider. My PocketDock with Lineout won't snap onto the bottom dock connector while the case is on. I have to open the case, snap on the PocketDock, then close the case. I can live with that. As for Clickwheel protection, it's easy to add it inexpensively. While I was at Frys buying the Showcase, I picked up a 12-pack of Micro Writeguards PDA screen protectors for $7. Just cut down one of these plastic PDA screen protectors with a pair of scissors, and you've got Clickwheel protection that works pretty well.

Posted by azcoyote in Phoenix, AZ on September 17, 2004 at 6:20 PM (PDT)

38

So...if the iTrip isn't compatible with this, then the RemoteRemote2 (http://www.engineeredaudio.com/products/remote2.html) won't be, either, right? :(

Posted by Shifuimam on September 17, 2004 at 8:34 PM (PDT)

39

I can't believe no one except me thought about using a MARWARE SportSuit Convertible model for the 1G/2G model on a 4G iPod. It fits perfect and I purchased it right at the Apple Store. The sales idiots swore to me that it wouldn't work on a 4G model and boy were they wrong! It works great and can be found discounted down to $19.00 usd. If you don't believe me take your 4G iPod with you and check it out for yourself. You won't regret it. And the Griffin iTrip fits perfect on it too! I can't say the same for the 3G version.

Posted by Mike on September 17, 2004 at 8:48 PM (PDT)

40

To one of you lucky Canadians who will be receiving an extra black case:
Would you be interested in selling it? If so, please email me at
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Also: In what way did they resolve the shipping cost issue?

Posted by guppi on September 18, 2004 at 9:19 AM (PDT)

41

Well, i think i shouldn't have said "resolve". but they give u the option to perfer other method of shipment.

example. USPS.

Posted by px2so on September 18, 2004 at 10:21 AM (PDT)

42

iPodlounge rocks! I have tried a bunch of cases for my iPods over the years ranging from Speck iSkin to MacXtreme and others.... The review on the Contour case convinced me to spend another 30 bucks and this case is great for me. I want to have access to the wheel in the case and remove easily for dock insertion or use in the car. This is the best case I have tried and luckily, I am not in Canada. Thanks for the in-depth great reviews!!!

Posted by brad in Boulder, CO on September 18, 2004 at 3:39 PM (PDT)

43

I wonder if the top opening would be too small for big headphone plugs/cables like the one on my Grado headphone. Can anybody comment on that?

Posted by guppi on September 18, 2004 at 4:28 PM (PDT)

44

Awesome case--like many others I looked and looked and looked for the ultimate iPod case, for me, it was the Showcase. Got in in 2 days from order, PERFECT!

Posted by Chris on September 19, 2004 at 12:10 PM (PDT)

45

Good to see the shipping issue sorted..
I pick mine up in NYC next week,

with the Click wheel protection, didnt you guys have a clear sticker over your clickwheel when you got the ipod? I did.. but I have not removed the sticker.. makes for a good protector!

Posted by kiwi on September 19, 2004 at 12:52 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 7 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.