Contour Design Showcase 4G | iLounge

Reviews

41

Well, i think i shouldn't have said "resolve". but they give u the option to perfer other method of shipment.

example. USPS.

Posted by px2so on September 18, 2004 at 10:21 AM (PDT)

42

iPodlounge rocks! I have tried a bunch of cases for my iPods over the years ranging from Speck iSkin to MacXtreme and others.... The review on the Contour case convinced me to spend another 30 bucks and this case is great for me. I want to have access to the wheel in the case and remove easily for dock insertion or use in the car. This is the best case I have tried and luckily, I am not in Canada. Thanks for the in-depth great reviews!!!

Posted by brad in Boulder, CO on September 18, 2004 at 3:39 PM (PDT)

43

I wonder if the top opening would be too small for big headphone plugs/cables like the one on my Grado headphone. Can anybody comment on that?

Posted by guppi on September 18, 2004 at 4:28 PM (PDT)

44

Awesome case--like many others I looked and looked and looked for the ultimate iPod case, for me, it was the Showcase. Got in in 2 days from order, PERFECT!

Posted by Chris on September 19, 2004 at 12:10 PM (PDT)

45

Good to see the shipping issue sorted..
I pick mine up in NYC next week,

with the Click wheel protection, didnt you guys have a clear sticker over your clickwheel when you got the ipod? I did.. but I have not removed the sticker.. makes for a good protector!

Posted by kiwi on September 19, 2004 at 12:52 PM (PDT)

46

I bought the contour case last week, and after some problems with the website links and purchase options I finally ordered it... I think i had to try at least 8 times .. PLEASE CONTOUR MAKE YOUR WEBSITe BETTER! But the real reason I am writting this is to talk about the case. This is my first ipod case.. and i was impressed by the deign and the reviews online. I guess I was not thinking when i ordered this.. but I did not realize that there was a foam insert.. and if you have a 20 gig model like mine.. it doubles the thickness.. that is my fault.. but if size is a concern ... i would not reccomend this to 20 gig owners. AND yes i realize it cuts the production costs for contour by only having one mold and case for 2 ipod designs. Secondly the latch is too flimsy.. it sticks when you try to open it.. and I fear it is only a matter of time for it to break.. you really have to put a lot of pressure on the hinge to open it.. but the case is a very tight fit.. and obviously protects the ipod very well. The last problem i have had is the griffin trip does not work with this case.. all that was needed was a larger hole on top.. so if you have a 20 gig, will be taking it out of this case a lot and use an itrip.. which would make you need to take the ipod out of the case.. then i WOULD NOT reccomend this.. if not then you should be fine..
i give it a c+ for 20 gig and a b+ for 40 gig...

Posted by aaron on September 20, 2004 at 6:54 AM (PDT)

47

Will it fit in the belkin Tune dock?

Posted by Sunil Punjabi on September 20, 2004 at 6:59 AM (PDT)

48

No case fits in the Belkin TuneDok, even a skin-style case is often just a wee too wide to wedge in there (and makes the suction cup pretty useless). But, at least with the Contour, it would be very easy to pop your iPod out to drop into the TuneDok when you need too.

Posted by Patrick C on September 20, 2004 at 9:49 AM (PDT)

49

I was wondering if anyone have had any problems with the belt clip being mounted horizontally?
I was thinking that because of that, you might not be able to attach it to the waistband or pocket of your trousers.

And another question I have is regarding the UPS costs. Since I live in Sweden, I fear that I would have the same problems as the Canadians. Perhaps I would even have to pay more...Does anyone know if this is a specific problem if you live in Canada or is it a problem if you live anywhere but in the US?

Posted by Anna on September 21, 2004 at 2:52 AM (PDT)

50

Hey Anna, and others from outside of the USA, maybe you should email Contour and see if they will offer US Postal shipping rather than UPS? It may take longer but will be a lot cheaper. I should have my case later this week when in NYC. Looking forward to popping into the Apple store there as well smile

Posted by kiwi on September 21, 2004 at 4:36 AM (PDT)

51

I got my (white)contour case three days ago and it's perfect except for fact that it gets dirty/discolored very fast, especially around the edges.My newspaper brushed up against it and the rubber material became black instantly, the same happened when it rubbed on my denim jacket . While the point of buying a case is to protect the i pod, aesthetics play a major role as well. I now have to clean my case every other day just to get it looking close to the level of whiteness when I first got it. My advice is - get the black one.

Posted by brn442 on September 21, 2004 at 4:19 PM (PDT)

52

These guys
http://www.stores.ebay.com/theapplelinksstore
are actually shipping internationally (or at least to Canada) via USPS. 30$ for the case and 5$ shipping (Canada). I am definitely going to order from them once they get the black cases in.

Posted by guppi on September 22, 2004 at 8:17 AM (PDT)

53

These guys
http://www.stores.ebay.com/theapplelinksstore
are shipping internationally or at least to Canada via USPS for 5$. And they sell the Showcase for 30$. I am definitely going to order from them once they get the black version in.

Posted by guppi on September 22, 2004 at 8:20 AM (PDT)

54

Just got my black case in the mail. The Contour site says they would not be shipping until today but I'll gladly take delivery instead!

I though the case was going to be a smooth, hard plastic. It is not. It is more of a rubber coating. That's fine with me but now I understand why people were saying the white case gets dirty so fast.

Overall, the thing looks and feels great. It adds very little weight or bulk. My only complaint is that when the belt clip is taken off, the slots for the clip don't provide coverage for the iPod back. A minor problem but could be if you plan on just hucking your iPod into a bag with a lot of junk in it (fingernail clippers, pens, etc.). The clip is small enough though that it isn't too big a deal to just keep it on, even if you plan on carrying it in your hand.

Posted by MC High Life on September 22, 2004 at 11:11 AM (PDT)

55

I've just had my Contour case delivered through the EBAY Appleinks guy. It was a smooth very quick transaction. I ordered on Sunday night and it was delivered this AM. The case is tha bomb too. wink

Posted by HarveyTorriti on September 22, 2004 at 9:22 PM (PDT)

56

Hey, I've got a 20gig ipod, and am going to buy this case
Just wondering how thick the case is? How muhc extra width will it add?
thanks

Posted by spin on September 23, 2004 at 1:57 PM (PDT)

57

Countour once again excels in all aspects - product design, customer service, you name it. Just got the black ones today, and they look SWEET. Once your iPod is in one of these babies, you'll never want to take it out.

Posted by Diomedes on September 23, 2004 at 8:35 PM (PDT)

58

So I got my Case. Its not bad. A bit bigger than I expected, even with the warning posted here. Oh well. It looks good and does it job well. Went for a walk today with it on and the horizontal mount on the belt is cool. Would be nice if an LCD remote came out for the Ipod.

Posted by kiwi on September 26, 2004 at 2:02 PM (PDT)

59

Anna,
Last time I was in Sweden you could buy Contour products through Inwarehouse or through mackotect. I know Contour has European offices also so I am sure they can help.

Posted by billy202 on September 27, 2004 at 9:33 AM (PDT)

60

I have a 20Gb ipod. If Contour did make a showcase to fit I would be happy, but I think they would die as a company. this stuff is just too hard to make. Can you see another manufacturer making anything similar? There is no way that Contour is making money on this product - no way. Plastic and rubber like this is tough. No way these guys can make money at this price point. Great product guys. Just to say that I would pay $40 for your product because it really is good. B.T.W. I come from specialist plastics engineering background

Posted by jethroe on September 27, 2004 at 11:24 AM (PDT)

Page 3 of 7 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.