Contour Design Showcase 4G | iLounge

Reviews

51

I got my (white)contour case three days ago and it's perfect except for fact that it gets dirty/discolored very fast, especially around the edges.My newspaper brushed up against it and the rubber material became black instantly, the same happened when it rubbed on my denim jacket . While the point of buying a case is to protect the i pod, aesthetics play a major role as well. I now have to clean my case every other day just to get it looking close to the level of whiteness when I first got it. My advice is - get the black one.

Posted by brn442 on September 21, 2004 at 4:19 PM (PDT)

52

These guys
http://www.stores.ebay.com/theapplelinksstore
are actually shipping internationally (or at least to Canada) via USPS. 30$ for the case and 5$ shipping (Canada). I am definitely going to order from them once they get the black cases in.

Posted by guppi on September 22, 2004 at 8:17 AM (PDT)

53

These guys
http://www.stores.ebay.com/theapplelinksstore
are shipping internationally or at least to Canada via USPS for 5$. And they sell the Showcase for 30$. I am definitely going to order from them once they get the black version in.

Posted by guppi on September 22, 2004 at 8:20 AM (PDT)

54

Just got my black case in the mail. The Contour site says they would not be shipping until today but I'll gladly take delivery instead!

I though the case was going to be a smooth, hard plastic. It is not. It is more of a rubber coating. That's fine with me but now I understand why people were saying the white case gets dirty so fast.

Overall, the thing looks and feels great. It adds very little weight or bulk. My only complaint is that when the belt clip is taken off, the slots for the clip don't provide coverage for the iPod back. A minor problem but could be if you plan on just hucking your iPod into a bag with a lot of junk in it (fingernail clippers, pens, etc.). The clip is small enough though that it isn't too big a deal to just keep it on, even if you plan on carrying it in your hand.

Posted by MC High Life on September 22, 2004 at 11:11 AM (PDT)

55

I've just had my Contour case delivered through the EBAY Appleinks guy. It was a smooth very quick transaction. I ordered on Sunday night and it was delivered this AM. The case is tha bomb too. wink

Posted by HarveyTorriti on September 22, 2004 at 9:22 PM (PDT)

56

Hey, I've got a 20gig ipod, and am going to buy this case
Just wondering how thick the case is? How muhc extra width will it add?
thanks

Posted by spin on September 23, 2004 at 1:57 PM (PDT)

57

Countour once again excels in all aspects - product design, customer service, you name it. Just got the black ones today, and they look SWEET. Once your iPod is in one of these babies, you'll never want to take it out.

Posted by Diomedes on September 23, 2004 at 8:35 PM (PDT)

58

So I got my Case. Its not bad. A bit bigger than I expected, even with the warning posted here. Oh well. It looks good and does it job well. Went for a walk today with it on and the horizontal mount on the belt is cool. Would be nice if an LCD remote came out for the Ipod.

Posted by kiwi on September 26, 2004 at 2:02 PM (PDT)

59

Anna,
Last time I was in Sweden you could buy Contour products through Inwarehouse or through mackotect. I know Contour has European offices also so I am sure they can help.

Posted by billy202 on September 27, 2004 at 9:33 AM (PDT)

60

I have a 20Gb ipod. If Contour did make a showcase to fit I would be happy, but I think they would die as a company. this stuff is just too hard to make. Can you see another manufacturer making anything similar? There is no way that Contour is making money on this product - no way. Plastic and rubber like this is tough. No way these guys can make money at this price point. Great product guys. Just to say that I would pay $40 for your product because it really is good. B.T.W. I come from specialist plastics engineering background

Posted by jethroe on September 27, 2004 at 11:24 AM (PDT)

61

It is made in Taiwan using cheap labor, I can see how they would make money on it. Good product though, got one for my 20gb... would be nice if they designed one just for the 20gb.

Posted by ipod moment on September 28, 2004 at 11:23 AM (PDT)

62

Got mine today, very fast shipping. I have to say the people at contour did their homework on this one. With the foam insert my 20 fits perfectly and it's obvious this case is as good as bomb proof for daily use. Excellent design.

Posted by cscade on September 29, 2004 at 11:32 AM (PDT)

63

I live in New Zealand (all you Americans should know where that is now, its where they filmed Lord of the Rings) and as you can imagine I have a lot of trouble getting things sent here. Luckily I found a NZ reseller based in Christchurch
I only have to pay an extra $10NZ

So what was that about the 20GB, how much thicker does it make it?

Posted by Guido Hatsis in Wellington on September 30, 2004 at 1:39 AM (PDT)

64

I emailed Contour Design about this shipping issue and this is what they said:

You have heard correct. UPS does charge around $36 for duties, fees, and taxes. We have no control over these charges and we cannot ship through the USPS because of tracking issues. As expensive as it is, UPS is the cheapest way we can ship to our Canadian customers. Also, if
you are going to place an order, you will have to place it over the phone so that you can speak directly with a representative here.

Posted by Devin Glew on September 30, 2004 at 8:47 AM (PDT)

65

I was wondering if anyone with the case and a 40 gb ipod found that the case doesn't close completely shut. I mean it closes enough so you can latch it down, but its not a really tight fit. Also, I was wondering if the inside of the case would scratch the ipod silver backside by any chance.

Thanks

Posted by Jim on October 1, 2004 at 1:21 PM (PDT)

66

Also, does it matter if I have the 40 gb hp+ apple ipod?

Posted by Jim on October 1, 2004 at 1:23 PM (PDT)

67

I have the 3-G version and it's a SUPER case! It provides super protection! Do wish the colored versions (at least black) were more readily available at retailers, as white gets dirty quickly. TIP: For touch screen protection, buy a pack of the screen protector film (about $8 for 8 or 10) for PIM screens and place it around the ipod (I think I used the ones for IPAQ and it covers the 3G control buttons, the wheel and folds over each side. It's a little harder to scroll and press the buttons with the film on, but not much and it certainly protects those unprotected areas from finger prints and scratches. The only way this case could be better is if the ITRIP could be used while the case is on the ipod.

Posted by janay on October 3, 2004 at 6:07 AM (PDT)

68

I just purchased this case last week and LOVE IT EXCEPT FOR ONE ISSUE -- it stains too easily (at least on the white model).

I'm going to call Contour today to discuss the issue (I tried cleaning via soap and water and it still won't clean -- stains on white really detracts from the beauty of the case and the matching of the iPod).

Anyone else experiencing this?

Posted by mflat5 in USA on October 4, 2004 at 3:44 AM (PDT)

69

Got mine today and I can totally recommend the AppleLinks guys. I paid 35$ for case plus international shipping. And thats all. No additional charges whatsoever.
The case (black) is very nice.
Jim: Mine is a tight fit in that the Ipod is firmly and savely enclosed in the case, but there is a gap of less than 1 mm in the rim of the closed case. This is by design though.

Posted by guppi on October 4, 2004 at 5:40 PM (PDT)

70

yeah i was looking into picking one of these up for my new 4G 20GB.......my only thing is that i was wondering if any part of the front of the ipod will get scratched by the clear plastic front. Also, does the 20GB fit nicely in there?....im anal about having it wiggle around in there and i wanted to know if there's any play whatsoever with the 20GB........anyone whos already picked up this case....

thanks for any advice

Posted by jurly on October 10, 2004 at 8:10 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 7 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.