Contour Design Showcase 4G | iLounge

Reviews

61

It is made in Taiwan using cheap labor, I can see how they would make money on it. Good product though, got one for my 20gb... would be nice if they designed one just for the 20gb.

Posted by ipod moment on September 28, 2004 at 11:23 AM (PDT)

62

Got mine today, very fast shipping. I have to say the people at contour did their homework on this one. With the foam insert my 20 fits perfectly and it's obvious this case is as good as bomb proof for daily use. Excellent design.

Posted by cscade on September 29, 2004 at 11:32 AM (PDT)

63

I live in New Zealand (all you Americans should know where that is now, its where they filmed Lord of the Rings) and as you can imagine I have a lot of trouble getting things sent here. Luckily I found a NZ reseller based in Christchurch
I only have to pay an extra $10NZ

So what was that about the 20GB, how much thicker does it make it?

Posted by Guido Hatsis in Wellington on September 30, 2004 at 1:39 AM (PDT)

64

I emailed Contour Design about this shipping issue and this is what they said:

You have heard correct. UPS does charge around $36 for duties, fees, and taxes. We have no control over these charges and we cannot ship through the USPS because of tracking issues. As expensive as it is, UPS is the cheapest way we can ship to our Canadian customers. Also, if
you are going to place an order, you will have to place it over the phone so that you can speak directly with a representative here.

Posted by Devin Glew on September 30, 2004 at 8:47 AM (PDT)

65

I was wondering if anyone with the case and a 40 gb ipod found that the case doesn't close completely shut. I mean it closes enough so you can latch it down, but its not a really tight fit. Also, I was wondering if the inside of the case would scratch the ipod silver backside by any chance.

Thanks

Posted by Jim on October 1, 2004 at 1:21 PM (PDT)

66

Also, does it matter if I have the 40 gb hp+ apple ipod?

Posted by Jim on October 1, 2004 at 1:23 PM (PDT)

67

I have the 3-G version and it's a SUPER case! It provides super protection! Do wish the colored versions (at least black) were more readily available at retailers, as white gets dirty quickly. TIP: For touch screen protection, buy a pack of the screen protector film (about $8 for 8 or 10) for PIM screens and place it around the ipod (I think I used the ones for IPAQ and it covers the 3G control buttons, the wheel and folds over each side. It's a little harder to scroll and press the buttons with the film on, but not much and it certainly protects those unprotected areas from finger prints and scratches. The only way this case could be better is if the ITRIP could be used while the case is on the ipod.

Posted by janay on October 3, 2004 at 6:07 AM (PDT)

68

I just purchased this case last week and LOVE IT EXCEPT FOR ONE ISSUE -- it stains too easily (at least on the white model).

I'm going to call Contour today to discuss the issue (I tried cleaning via soap and water and it still won't clean -- stains on white really detracts from the beauty of the case and the matching of the iPod).

Anyone else experiencing this?

Posted by mflat5 in USA on October 4, 2004 at 3:44 AM (PDT)

69

Got mine today and I can totally recommend the AppleLinks guys. I paid 35$ for case plus international shipping. And thats all. No additional charges whatsoever.
The case (black) is very nice.
Jim: Mine is a tight fit in that the Ipod is firmly and savely enclosed in the case, but there is a gap of less than 1 mm in the rim of the closed case. This is by design though.

Posted by guppi on October 4, 2004 at 5:40 PM (PDT)

70

yeah i was looking into picking one of these up for my new 4G 20GB.......my only thing is that i was wondering if any part of the front of the ipod will get scratched by the clear plastic front. Also, does the 20GB fit nicely in there?....im anal about having it wiggle around in there and i wanted to know if there's any play whatsoever with the 20GB........anyone whos already picked up this case....

thanks for any advice

Posted by jurly on October 10, 2004 at 8:10 PM (PDT)

71

o yeah frgot to add............I've got a 4G 20GB "HP" iPod.......i dont know if that makes any difference whatsoever..........and if it doesnt then i acknowledge my being a dumbass lol..

Posted by jurly on October 10, 2004 at 8:16 PM (PDT)

72

Does anyone know if these are sold in the Apple stores?

Posted by fliphed on October 11, 2004 at 6:48 PM (PDT)

73

yeah they are.........i went today.......but only thw white ones..the ones that get dirty

Posted by jurly on October 11, 2004 at 6:59 PM (PDT)

74

Im planning on ordering one of these cases. I to am from Canada, and reading this review has got me all worried, like most of the others. So should i go ahead and purchase the case online (UPS) and then just email contour after the fact, asking for USPS?

Posted by arthur_lp in vancouver on October 12, 2004 at 11:53 PM (PDT)

75

Just recieved the black one today. Took a week to get, should have shipped it Fed Ex. Other than that its a bit bigger then i expected. Makes my 4g 20gig ipod at least 2 times bigger. Feels good just wishes it was smaller. I really like the black on white contrast.

Posted by IpodJoe on October 14, 2004 at 9:43 AM (PDT)

76

A solution to all problems for Canadians purchasing the Showcase!

Go to [url=http://www.westworld.ca]http://www.westworld.ca[/url] and contact their main office in Edmonton, Alberta. I just did and they sell these things for $29.99 Canadian plus about $10.00 to ship to Ontario - waaaaaaaaaaaayyyy better than purchasing from the U.S. These guys are so helpful and easy to use. I highly recommend them.

Posted by Devin Glew on October 14, 2004 at 10:31 AM (PDT)

77

DONT GET THE CONTOUR CASE!!!!!!!!1


the clip is defective on mine and 3 of my friends it must be on othes........my 2 day old i Pod fel out and broke into pieces......i bought a new 40 GB...............AND GOT THE DC/INCASE SLEEVE INSTEAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!1 GET THAT!!!!!!!!

Posted by jurly on October 15, 2004 at 3:21 PM (PDT)

78

Sorry about your bad experience but CLEARLY people have written good reviews about this case. Otherwise it would not be so popular. Maybe you should think things through before you say them.

Posted by Devin Glew on October 17, 2004 at 4:35 PM (PDT)

79

I am broke could someone send me an itunes giftcard to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) thanks so much

Posted by balmo in portland,oregon on October 17, 2004 at 4:47 PM (PDT)

80

does anyone know if the contour case will accomodate the monster fm tuner. the extremity case will not, so i have to take it out each time.

Posted by Hakjoon on October 17, 2004 at 8:50 PM (PDT)

Page 4 of 7 pages « First  <  2 3 4 5 6 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.