Power Support Silicone Jacket 4G | iLounge

Reviews

1

The thing I hated most about the iSkin Evo, which I gave up on using, was that the material would collect all sorts of lint from my pocket. Is the same true for this product as well?

Posted by rhythmicmoose on October 4, 2004 at 6:59 AM (PDT)

2

Ya same here! But I don't REALLY have a problem with it enough to quit protecting my iPod.

Posted by Steve on October 4, 2004 at 9:08 AM (PDT)

3

get a Contour Design carrying case...i was looking at getting one of these and didn't like that it wasn't absorbent when it came to drops...i saw the Contour design case in the apple store in charlotte and love it...best darn $40 bucks i spent. this link should help [url=http://www.contourdesign.com]http://www.contourdesign.com[/url]

Posted by brian on October 4, 2004 at 7:36 PM (PDT)

4

This may be a really stupid comment, but i'm about to buy and iPod and was wondering something. Would it be by any chance possible to fit an iPod with any kind of silicone case on it into apple's dock? I doubt it, but I really like the silicone cases except that i don't want to have to keep taking it off in order to use my dock. It just seems like it would be annoying to have to do that everytime I want to dock it.

Posted by Dan Peterson on October 4, 2004 at 8:22 PM (PDT)

5

USE THIS.

http://www.burninglove.de

Posted by florian on October 4, 2004 at 11:42 PM (PDT)

6

the thing i find difficult with all of these ipod prophylactics is the fact that they make the ipod's "bigger." The 'protection' factor is certainly a plus, but I still find myself using the Apple case.

Here is my theory:
I think that's part of Apple's design intent. They made this case without a window, so you have to remove the ipod to interface with it... but THAT'S the point. You experience your ipod. When you pull that chrome and white plastic from the black case, it draws attention. (Its like freeing Excalibur from the stone.) Its about the experience. When your interfacing with your ipod behind a silicone jacket, its like talking to a relative in prison- ya know with those phones... sure you see it- and hear it, but your not experiencing it you can't touch it. (by the way... I don't have reletives in prison... i do watch tv though) Anyway, the Apple case also has a cool "hidden" feature... You can wrap your headphones cord around the belt clip... Kinda cool, and its just something Apple left for the users to discover. Also the small metal detail that is left over from the spring in that belt clip is finished to echo the chrome finish of the ipod back, and when the ipod is in the case, it looks like a window to the ipod. (soooo coool) Those are the small details that Apple is known for and best at... Which is why I can't stay away from them. There were some rumors that Apple is going to start making more accessories for the ipod, and personally I can't wait. Sorry for verbal purge everyone, I'm good at that.

Posted by apple juice on October 5, 2004 at 4:48 AM (PDT)

7

This item still isn't for sale on PowerSupport's US website...Does anyone know when it will finally go on sale? I've been waiting for weeks

Posted by TroyB on October 5, 2004 at 5:45 AM (PDT)

8

Any reviews on the radtech podsleevz or the iskin evo2? Have these products come out yet?

Posted by New Ipod User on October 5, 2004 at 9:49 AM (PDT)

9

"There were some rumors that Apple is going to start making more accessories for the ipod, and personally I can't wait"

Lets hope their new case doesnt have a stupid tag that scratches the back of the iPod...

Posted by Syph on October 5, 2004 at 10:47 AM (PDT)

10

"Any reviews on the radtech podsleevz or the iskin evo2? Have these products come out yet?"

I bought the rad tech pod sleeve for my 4G 20g and it is really cool. The lowest profile cover for the pod that I found and does a perfect job of protecting against scratches and minor bumps. Very nice product, which looks and feels like suede and doesn't add bulk to something which should stay sexy and small.

Posted by Erock on October 5, 2004 at 11:22 AM (PDT)

11

I had the same problem with the iSkin exo2, which was that it picked up all sorts of lint when in my pocket. Syncing it was a huge pain, as the case had to be removed, and finally, it stuck in my pocket when I would try to remove it, which I guess would be less of a problem for those people who use some kind of clip or wear realllllly baggy pants.

I went with some kind of sticker for the ipod, along with a screen-protection sticker, because not only does it look very cool (I went with carbon fiber), but it also can be put into the dock without any trouble, saving me a LOT of time.

I would overall recommend that people just don't get a silicone case unless they don't mind any of these issues or use their ipod always out of the dock and never in a pocket.

As always, don't trust anything I'm saying because I haven't actually bought this product...

Posted by Chris on October 6, 2004 at 3:33 PM (PDT)

12

Ha! chris that was funny... spout off all the facts and then... "oh by the way..." Thats so funny... Its like those stupid Geico commercials...

Ha! I don't even have an iPod! Ha!

just kidding

Posted by apple juice on October 7, 2004 at 3:55 AM (PDT)

13

I bought an iskin evo2 for my 4G 20g and am very happy with it. It fits nicely and the screen protector is a hard piece of plastic, not a piece of film. The screen protector has special "soft contact" surfaces that keep the protector in place. (I understand that in previous models of the iskin case the protector would eventually fall out.) The case does have an affinity for pocket lint though.

Posted by ipod_addict on October 7, 2004 at 1:32 PM (PDT)

14

I orderd my 4G iPod case just a few days ago, and am eagerly waiting for it to arrive. Does anyone know if this iPod skin case will fit into a DLO TransPod car kit? Or will it have to be removed each time I want to put it into the holder?

Posted by Luke on October 11, 2004 at 2:22 PM (PDT)

15

i just bought a 20 4G ipod. i want to buy a case for it but i really dont know whats good out there. there seems to be so many different kinds.

Posted by sweetasianeyez on October 11, 2004 at 4:32 PM (PDT)

16

Brian to answer your question. it is possible. if you get a 4g iPod and a 3g ipod dock along with ####'s exo3 it might work. 1inch is 2.5cm that means
new 4g 20gb ipod is 1.488 cm thick
OLD 3g 40gb ipod is 1.855 cm thick
meaning theres about 3mm left for a case. so if you want to try to buy the 7mm case from [url=http://www.####.biz]http://www.####.biz[/url] (exo3 i belive) and buy a old 3g dock. hope this helps.

P.S. more likely to work if you get the 20gb 4g iPod. wont work with 40gb 4g

Posted by Dhrub11 on October 14, 2004 at 2:23 PM (PDT)

17

correction on last post
meaning theres about 3mm left for a case. so if you want to try to buy the 7mm case from [url=http://www.####.biz]http://www.####.biz[/url] (exo3 i belive) and buy a old 3g dock. hope this helps.

it should be .7mm case not 7mm

my bad

Posted by Dbster in Georgia on October 16, 2004 at 9:38 AM (PDT)

18

my friend got it. it is a total waste of money. dont get it. it collects dust, doesnt fit in the dock, and is reallly hard to take on and off.

Posted by Carla on October 16, 2004 at 10:41 AM (PDT)

19


I've just recently purchased a new 4G 20 gig iPOD. I realize that some like covers, and some say it takes away from the beauty. Well i think i need some sort of case, and i have pretty much narrowed it down between either leather or a silicone jacket. Which is better protection and which is better looking ????

Posted by NT17 in Florida on October 18, 2004 at 3:10 AM (PDT)

20

I really need your help... can you please explain to me how to use my voice memo on my ipod?

I'm recording everything but can seem to play it back... what am I doing wrong?

Thank you for your time!

John

Posted by john on October 29, 2004 at 10:16 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.