JBL On Stage Speakers | iLounge

Reviews

21

Any idea how the JBL On Stage speakers compare with the Bose SoundDock Digital Music System? I know they're a lot cheapers (Bose is $299), but what's the difference in sound quality, etc?

Posted by Geri-Ann Galanti on October 24, 2004 at 5:16 PM (PDT)

22

Geri imo they seem to have a bit more bass (they are quite a bit larger), although I like the mids and highs of On Stage more--the Bose semms a bit muffled. One thing that differs is there is no computer hookup on the Bose so you can't do downloading etc. while it is docked in SoundDock.

Posted by bc on October 24, 2004 at 7:09 PM (PDT)

23

Good review...thing I'm concerned about is the lack of Remote. If I leave the Ipod on Sleep timer, can you confirm that it will shut off at my desired time?

Posted by lg on October 25, 2004 at 10:58 AM (PDT)

24

lg, the on stage doesn't "talk" to the iPod---besides the amplified speaker function, it just allows the computer to connect to it for downloading, and also charges it. So there should be no problem with the sleep timer functioning. Of course with the charging function you won't run the iPod batteries down either, even if you leave it on continuously.

Posted by bc on October 25, 2004 at 2:27 PM (PDT)

25

I just picked up the On Stage speakers. I may be missing something, but I can't figure out how to play my iPod Mini while the firewire is connected to my computer. My iPod will only display the "OK to disconnect" message.

Posted by Tracy Miller on October 25, 2004 at 9:06 PM (PDT)

26

Tracy, I did some investigating. Apparently this is a windows op system problem---not hardware----and it doesn't happen with macs. There is no workaround known as yet. The same thing apparently happens with other docking speakers with a computer connection.

Posted by bc on October 26, 2004 at 9:01 AM (PDT)

27

bc, My iPod Mini is happily connected to my G5. Maybe it's an issue with just the Mini's. Even when the iPod is playing, once I place it in the On Stage dock, it shuts down, and you can not turn it on.Thanks for the info.

Posted by Tracy Miller on October 26, 2004 at 6:56 PM (PDT)

28

It will play with BATTERIES !! Just buy a 18 Volts Drill battery and put a 3 amps fuse inline and with the Drill charger you're Fully portable to travel ! But NONE store sold JBL Onstage in Canada. Does someone will sold me his. I have a P.O.Box in N.Y. State, but Apple don't accept to sold at P.O. Box, i am at 6 hours from the closest Apple store. So help me. Sold one to me.

Posted by angelito on October 29, 2004 at 7:12 PM (PDT)

29

If you can sold a JBL ONstage to me i'll buy it. I'm leaving in Canada i have also a P.O. Box in N.Y. States. I wish to get one soon.

Posted by angelito in Qu├ębec, Canada on October 29, 2004 at 7:35 PM (PDT)

30

Bah. For MUCH less money I bought myself a pair of Altec Lansing VS4121's. Not as portable as these, seeing as they're an actual speaker set, but the sound quaity blows these out of the water (the 6" woofer helps).

I got the Altec's for $80 Canadian on sale at Futureshop, regular $120 I believe. Best purchase I ever made.

And they use a standard stereo miniplug, so they work no problemo with the iPod.

Posted by Gramage on October 30, 2004 at 12:30 PM (PDT)

31

I've been looking at both the OnStage and Bose as possible "office audio" solutions. Both look nice and sound "ok", but are far too expensive. Ignoring portablilty, what's a really good value for computer speakers *with quality sound* that will work well with the iPod?

Posted by philion on November 1, 2004 at 4:03 AM (PDT)

32

I'm hoping someone will weigh in on philion's question as have the same question.

"I've been looking at both the OnStage and Bose as possible "office audio" solutions. Both look nice and sound "ok", but are far too expensive. Ignoring portablilty, what's a really good value for computer speakers *with quality sound* that will work well with the iPod?"

Posted by krimer on November 5, 2004 at 4:06 AM (PDT)

33

Buy.com is selling the JBL OnStage iPod for $104 + shipping (currently out of stock, but taking orders). That makes it the best buy in my book.
http://www.buy.com/retail/product_jump.asp?sku=10389872

Posted by early adopter on December 15, 2004 at 8:39 PM (PDT)

34

Buy.com is selling the JBL OnStage iPod for $105 + shipping (currently out of stock, but taking orders). That makes it the best buy in my book.
http://www.buy.com/retail/product_jump.asp?sku=10389872

Posted by early adopter on December 15, 2004 at 8:39 PM (PDT)

35

WTF! No IR remote? Com'on JBL. What were you thinking? I'm not going to like walking up to my iPod everytime I want to skip a song or change the volume. And if you say that it was desiged to sit on a desk next to a PC, you are truly stupid. If I'm at my PC I'll be playing music from it, not my iPod. Demand for these "speaker docks", is for those who want to extend the reach of their iPod into the kitchen, living room, bed room, etc... NOT buying it due to this lack.

Posted by YourMom on December 16, 2004 at 2:56 PM (PDT)

36

Other then the missing remote, JBL seems to have done everything right. It will satisfy those who will replace their current iPod dock, and those who will replace their standard PC speakers with this puppy. Still a shame that there is no IR support.

Posted by YourMom on December 16, 2004 at 2:59 PM (PDT)

37

I'm looking for a porch (has outlet) and car (no outlet) solution. Does anyone know if the JBL OnStage or Bose SoundDock can be plugged into a cigarrette lighter somehow?

Posted by 20carat on December 21, 2004 at 10:46 AM (PDT)

38

G'day everyone
I have read all the posts with much interest as I am about to buy a set of portable speakers for my 20gig G4 ipod.
I have narrowed it down to the Altec foldables and the JBL Onstage but now notice the JBL Ontour.
Anyone else compared all three? Especially keen to know more about the OnTours.
My needs are mainly travel - hotel room, office etc

Merry Christmas to all from the land Downunder!

Posted by Pete285 in Australia on December 22, 2004 at 12:04 AM (PDT)

39

Could some one give me aproxamate dimensions of the outer box for the onStage SPeakers?

Thanks,
~new

Posted by newParadime in NY on December 23, 2004 at 7:44 AM (PDT)

40

"I'm looking for a porch (has outlet) and car (no outlet) solution. Does anyone know if the JBL OnStage or Bose SoundDock can be plugged into a cigarrette lighter somehow?"

Course they can...you would just have to buy a cig adapter with the appropriate plug and voltage levels.

Hope that helps dude

~new

Posted by newParadime in NY on December 23, 2004 at 8:10 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 4 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.