Speck Products Skin Tight 4G iPod Skin | iLounge

Reviews

1

when my girlfriend bought me my new clickwheel 20gb, the first thing that came to my mind was, "I have to buy a case!!!" I am a HUGE fan of metal cases (i have owned three for my past and present PDAs - c500, Toshiba PPC, and currently Sony TJ37) and I know that having that steel protect my major investment is definately a must have. I tried looking for a steel case for my ipod and found only one but it didn't appeal to me. i read the reviews and felt that i should hold off. well, on a trip to the apple store, i saw these Speck Cases for the iPod mini and asked the rep if they had any for the clickwheel 20gb, he came in ten minutes with the three pack: blue, clear, and pink. i bought it without hesitation. In fact, the 'ice' is on my ipod right now. here is my opinion:

GREAT protection.
A pain in the butt to take off and put on.
Doesn't slip easily into back pocket because the case seems to grip really well to clothing or any cloth material.
Although, because of this rubber case, i can leave it on my dash and make a sharp corner and the ipod wont slide around (YAY).
The cutouts for the ipod dock and the headphones are perfect. I can plug in my iTrip without any problem and the same for the dock.

My only problem with it is this: After using it in the dock for the week and a half that I have had it, it has seemed to not close completely at the bottom. it has sorta "remembered" to stay open and doesnt quite close like it did when i first bought it. with that in mind, i definately love this case. i sold the other two on ebay (the pink and the blue - ebay screen name is emperor_sammy) because, in my opinion, clear is the only way to go. i hope this helps anyone make a decision in buying this case or not. My rating,

A- or B+ (Close call really)

Posted by Sammy on October 5, 2004 at 9:52 AM (PDT)

2

I solved the lack of screen/wheel protection issue by cutting a piece of overhead transparency plastic down and slipping it into the case along with the iPod.

I can still operate the wheel through the plastic and it's easy to cut out a new piece when the plastic gets dirty.

Posted by Jeff on October 5, 2004 at 10:03 AM (PDT)

3

I've borrowed a friend's green 3G speck iSkin for my 20GB 4G while I get my own skin. I really like the design and the flap at the bottom and I think the price is very reasonable (the normal iSkins are 70NZD!). I'll definately be looking into buying this, probably the 3-pack set.

Posted by Sophie on October 5, 2004 at 7:03 PM (PDT)

4

Like Jeff above, I use clear sheet material (mylar, in my case) cut to size to offer some scratch protection, much like I did with the Specks I used on my 3G. Generally it works pretty good, and is easily replaceable much like the protector sheets for a pda screen are. However, thin mylar doesn't offer much protection in the case openings for any hard knocks, however.

I've been using the white Speck (3-pack purchase) for about a month now, and while I can't complain about the price it does show dirt fairly easily. And yes, the fit around the 40GB 4G IS INDEED tight and initially is more than a little pain to put on if you are cautious of overstretching and deforming the material. But from experience, the Speck skins seem to take a fair amount of manhandling without any permanent damage to the skin. For me, the docking flap is well worth the effort.

4 out of 5 stars.

Posted by flatliner on October 5, 2004 at 11:44 PM (PDT)

5

I saw a 3-pack of these in the Apple store for $30 and asked if I could buy just one for $10. I was told they only sell them in 3-packs and if I wanted to order just one online that it would cost $20. First off, I have but one ipod so why do I need three cases? Even if I can give/sell the other two, it's not worth my time when they should just sell me one. And to pay twice as much for just one seems kinda absurd when you think of how simple and cheap the rubber case it.

After looking around I decided that if I was going to have to spend $20-30 anyway, I might as well get a good hard shell case, so now I have the contour design showcase on order. I wish I could have just walked into the apple store (or any other local shop) and get 1 of these cases for $10, but I'm not going spend three times as much for three cases for my one and only ipod.

Posted by nessak on October 6, 2004 at 6:13 AM (PDT)

6

i had one that scratched my 15GB 3G ... now i use iSkin Evo (much better material)

Posted by alby on October 6, 2004 at 7:30 AM (PDT)

7

Ha! Nessak, come on... I can't go to the store and buy just one can of beer out of the 6-pack... You can't fault the retail stores for that one... wink But your right about only buying one... a 3-pack usually comes as a 'volume' discount though... so 1 wouldn't be just 10 bucks... it would probably be in the range of 15-20. So a 3 pack is a better value... Still a rip though. Overall a pretty nice solution.

Posted by apple juice on October 7, 2004 at 3:41 AM (PDT)

8

i have just received my speck clear ipod skin 10 out of 10 nice fit good to hold say no more

Posted by baker dave on October 7, 2004 at 7:27 AM (PDT)

9

Ummm... at least here in NYC I CAN go into a store and just buy one bottle/can from a six-pack. Ahhh... civilization.

Posted by penum6ra on October 7, 2004 at 7:55 AM (PDT)

10

Where on earth do they not allow you to buy single beers (here you can either take a bottle from a carrier or snap a can off the ring.)

Posted by bumsmell on October 7, 2004 at 8:23 AM (PDT)

11

ehy.. i liv in aus, and i can't b fkt ordering it in since im flying to NYC soon, i was wandering if its possible to buy just the 1 from ne shops in NYC ? if so, any one know a good shop ??

Posted by Gen0cide on October 8, 2004 at 3:20 AM (PDT)

12

I orderd my 4G iPod case just a few days ago, and am eagerly waiting for it to arrive. Does anyone know if this iPod skin case will fit into a DLO TransPod car kit? Or will it have to be removed each time I want to put it into the holder?

Posted by Luke on October 11, 2004 at 2:18 PM (PDT)

13

I recently purchased the iSkin Evo2 for my 4g/20 and I am actually very pleased with it. I like the screen protection - in my opinion superior to others. The fit is perfect and the look and feel and excellent. I only have one issue which is that, while it provides great protection for scratches, and even pretty good for bumps, it really isn't much good for spills. However, I have found a partial solution. I purchased screen protection film for my PDA that works very well in protecting the click wheel while providing no obstruction of the function whatsoever. I highly recommend using it. I just put one of the rectangular overlays so that it completely covers the clickwheel. The iSkin overlaps that and provides an additional measure of scratch and spill protection. I also cut a small piece of the film to cover the remote port on top as I don't use that either - keeps dust and other junk out of there. Just an idea.

Posted by Knowman on October 13, 2004 at 8:07 AM (PDT)

14

hey alby, same here, it scratched mine too.
mine went in the moment i took it out of the box. When i took it out, there were numerous scratches on the back:(

Posted by xen on October 13, 2004 at 8:10 AM (PDT)

15

I got a blue one. Works nice. Makes the iPod less slippery. Peace.

Posted by Capnquirky in Shell Pile New Jersey on October 14, 2004 at 8:22 AM (PDT)

16

It's marvelous, it fits perfectly on my 40g 4gen ipod. Put a bit of baby powder inside; this will prevent scratch, or difficulty to put on. It's nice, i have a blue one, the ship it in 3 days to Canada! Also, it doesn't slip on a table. The only, i have to buy screen and clic the wheel films to protect it. I like the open bottom to fit on ipod. It's a grat product. I will give my ipod sleevz, that having to remove to puton the ipod base, also the plastic window of podsleevz, do air bubbles, and reflections of lights that put me nervous, i just push away the air bubbles all the time.

Posted by angelito in Qu├ębec, Canada on October 19, 2004 at 12:22 PM (PDT)

17

Jeremy, I hope you are watching these comments. I just recently got the iPod Battery ii because of your glowing review on it, and I got to say I have absolutly no regrets. I almost think that thing is more remarkable than the iPod itself, I could run my iPod for days on it. smile Well anyway what I want to know is if this skin will work with the battery. I really need to know as I feel that my iPod isn't save with the included clips as is. The only real concern I have is that it seems that the iPod is held in very tight in those clips, so this skin might not work. However you reviewed both, you might have better accessibility to see if that would work.

Posted by Phoenixfury in Elkhart, IN on October 19, 2004 at 9:52 PM (PDT)

18

The biggest problem I have found is that my iTrip keeps popping off..... I've now bough an iSkin Evo2 for my 4G 40gb and it's infinately better!!!

Posted by GoldFishRock on October 20, 2004 at 6:12 AM (PDT)

19

Waiting two months for a 4g case to come out has eneded up with my iPod all scratched up and raggedy. Oh, well, its just the marks or a strong loving relationship. I was a bit hesitant to buy a case for a beat up iPod but I am glad I did. I love the non slip aspect of this case, tho it does make getting the iPod in and out of a tight pocket kind of difficult. I have pulled out money and other pieces of paper with the iPod from my pocket, hopefully, I have recovered them all.
I really like the indentation around the click wheel with this skin on, as I can feel the wheel thru my pocket fabric and control the iPod. Interestingly, I have found that I cannot control the scrolling action thru a stationary peice of wool, but if the wool is moving along with the finger, there is no problem. I can scroll thru two layers of stationary cotton fabric, tho. I have no iDea what the technology behind the touch sensitive scrolling action is.
I am suprised that no one has mentioned the inelegance of the need to have the bottom flipped open to use the Belkin power adapter for the car. This makes using the iPod with the bottom open kind of awkward. I went ahead and cut a hole in the bottom of the case to fit the Power adapter. So now my sleek iPod in its sleek case has a jagged, home-cut hole in its bottom. I wish Speck had provided a score to easily cut a properly positioned hole for the Belkin connector.
Have I told you yet today how much I love my iPod?

Posted by Maxwell in Ventura CA USA on October 25, 2004 at 7:40 AM (PDT)

20

I love my (pink) speck case, but I have to point out that even with my mere 20 GB iPod, the bottom doesn't close completely. There's still a small line across the back that's exposed. No scratches yet, but if I took my iPod to the beach or something, the sand would definitely get in there and mess it up.

Posted by Laura S. in New York on November 6, 2004 at 3:54 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.