Bose SoundDock | iLounge

Reviews

1

Does this unit work with the Photo Ipod?

Posted by Iown24ipods in SF on November 3, 2004 at 6:37 PM (PDT)

2

Yes, as mentioned in the article.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on November 3, 2004 at 7:01 PM (PDT)

3

Thanks for a balanced review that doesn't fall for the Bose hype. I haven't heard it, but based on prior experience with Bose, I'm sure that "pleasant" is a good description. I'm glad you pointed out that computer speakers systems available for a fraction of the price offer superior performance.

Posted by mattwardfh in Texas on November 3, 2004 at 7:09 PM (PDT)

4

I appreciate your thorough reviews, they are quite helpful for would-be buyers of these products. The only gripe I have is that you only compare the JBL's Creature speaker system for sub-sat systems. There are comparably priced far superior speaker systems like the $73 (at Amazon .com) Level 9 Sound Design's Monsoon Planar 9s, a magneplanar satellite with conventional sub woofer system. I have heard the Creature multiple times but it doesn't hold a candle against the Monsoons, the magneplanar drivers have such a better transient response, better (deeper) sound stage, and much better clarity. If you ever get around to it, you should give them a try.

Posted by poisonfist on November 3, 2004 at 9:19 PM (PDT)

5

If the input plug of the power supply is 12 volts, i would be easy to connect an external battery pack! Is it? Or is it more than 12 volts? Like the JBL ONstage is 18 Volts.

Posted by angelito in Qu├ębec, Canada on November 3, 2004 at 9:25 PM (PDT)

6

The key is that the speakers must match the iPod. We're always glad to include in our reviews any product that meets that criterion.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on November 3, 2004 at 10:59 PM (PDT)

7

I purchased the sounddock last month for my wife who does scrapbooking workshops in a large hall. She had been using a wired set of speakers which worked fine but the cords between the speakers and subwoofer and the cords for the dock for the ipod were a pain to keep wrapping up. The sound dock is a perfect solution. One cord for power and the speaker fills the large hall with music for the 4-6 hour event. for transport, I put the packing foam that came with the sound dock and put the bottom half in a small gym bag that is the same size. It has a shoulder strap and two side zipper pouches that hold the ipod and power cord. works great!

Posted by msuspartan on November 4, 2004 at 3:26 AM (PDT)

8

Thats a great point msuspartan, one can't overlook the ease of use here. JBL's creature, while they sound pretty good- are way more to set up. While I don't think the price justifies all of this... The sound dock is a very descent product. Bose is clearly capitalizing on both the quality, and brand name of the iPod and their own products. And why shouldn't they. They both make great products. overall, great review Jeremy, but I would have scored an A-. wink

Posted by apple juice in USA on November 4, 2004 at 5:21 AM (PDT)

9

I wrestled with the question of whether to award A- or B+ on this one, and what it came down to for me in the end was that the price-to-performance ratio did not permit our highest (A) recommendation. It's so expensive, without fully justifying the price with superior functionality or sound to a sub-$100 product, that it is a strong but still niche item. That's a B+, not an A-.

An A- or A is the sort of product that may cost a bit more, but delivers a lot more than a lower-priced alternative. When I think about whether I would recommend spending $300 on a SoundDock or about the same amount on a set of Etymotic ER-4P earphones, there's no question which I would recommend for the dollar amount.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on November 4, 2004 at 7:49 AM (PDT)

10

Syncing with the computer is not a big issue for me. When I am at my computer, the computer is playing my music, so the iPod can sync directly without the speakers.

I am looking for a system that is truly portable. Since I will also use the speakers in my office, max volume won't be a big issue--though quality sound will be. When I compared these systems a few weeks ago, the iM3 systems was ideal for my situation.

I listened to the InMotion speakers at the Apple Store here, and was impressed with the bass response. I'd imagine that the iM3 are equal--if not better than the original InMotion. I also considered the OnStage, but it's not really portable either.

Great review.

Posted by Gordy. in Atlanta, GA on November 4, 2004 at 8:27 AM (PDT)

11

SoundDock is targeting a decidely non-techie audience, which is fine. I certainly don't keep my computers in my living rooms and so connect my iPod directly to a regular stereo system around the house. If I didn't have the stereos already setup, I'd likely find the SoundDock to be an aesthetically appealing piece of gear that "just works".

As to the Bose debate, I can say something. I am a recovering audio nut and professional musician (I went to MIT) who used to build tube amps and custom pre-amps, use tweaky British speakers, etc. But after hitting 35 years of age 11 years ago I grew tired of always listening to "the system" and not "the music". I sold everything I had built/bought and replaced it with a Bose Lifestyle 5. No knobs, no EQ, no oxygen-free cables. And you know what? In real life, with my real life homes with real furniture, and with real recordings (always imperfect in various ways) it sounds GREAT. Just FINE. I stopped tweaking and started just listening to music again. I don't worry about the kids tripping over cables and I don't worry about speakers that need to go right where the couch is. Put the little cubes on the bookshelf, hide the subwoofer behind a chair and go.

Is it the best possible sound? No. But it is one the best combinations of function and aesthetic I have found, and I can live with that. Most importantly, it freed up my head to listen to music again - like the iPod has.

Posted by BradPDX in Portland, OR USA on November 4, 2004 at 8:54 AM (PDT)

12

Do the speakers also charge the Ipod while it's playing? Or do any speakers out there?

Posted by Amethyst Anne Aurelia in New York on November 4, 2004 at 9:08 AM (PDT)

13

I just plug my iPod into my stereo. I've already got speakers, and a Navipod. Not sure what the market for non-portable speakers is--people who don't own a stereo already? I guess I'm missing something. I would sooner by an Airport Express than a separate set of bulky speakers.

Posted by rossco63 in seattle on November 4, 2004 at 9:44 AM (PDT)

14

Did anybody notice?:

The form of the Bose SoundDock reminds me very much of the B&O Beosound 1 radio CD-player. The same curved front; the same slight "leaning backwards". Put an iPod in front of a Beosound 1 and you'll get the idea.

As I own a Beosound 1, I use that to play music from the iPod aloud. I like the sound of that combination.

But with the good looks and the "pleasant sound" of the SoundDock, I'll have to fight temptation. wink

Posted by Sieb in Netherlands on November 4, 2004 at 10:15 AM (PDT)

15

Yes, they do charge your iPod. Any docking accessory should do that.

Re who would want a compact speaker system instead of a full stereo with multiple components: I would! Something simple without tons of wires that doesn't take up so much SPACE! I do have a stereo with all that mess, and that's fine in some rooms, but in other rooms you just want something that sits on a table without hogging your living space. Powered speakers or docking speakers meet that need.

Posted by Nagromme on November 4, 2004 at 10:27 AM (PDT)

16

The Bose unit is very cool, don't get me wrong-I want to want one. But I paid less for my refurbed 15 gb iPod last year. And my stereo is already nice and tidy and sitting on my built in bookshelves. I can rattle my whole house with it, so I guess I don't need another stereo in my bedroom, but it's a small house. I can sit on my couch and zap my pod with the Navipod, which already cost $50 at an Apple Store. So I feel I've already had my share of gouging on Podables.

Posted by rossco63 in seattle on November 4, 2004 at 10:56 AM (PDT)

17

to Sieb: how to connect iPod with the B&O Beosound 1?

Posted by Mikafra in Germany on November 5, 2004 at 1:21 AM (PDT)

18

I bought one of these the day they cam out & it's incredible. It fills the entire house with crisp, clear music.

Posted by Puppage in CT on November 5, 2004 at 4:30 AM (PDT)

19

Has anyone had this work with IPOS Photo 60GB? it says it does, but does it really, on the Apple ssore site there are a couple of reviewers who say it won't fit in the slot, its too thick?

Posted by Iown24ipods in SF on November 5, 2004 at 6:43 AM (PDT)

20

to Mikafra:

The Beosound 1 has a DIN AUX connector in the bottom. I use a 3,5 mm stereo jack to DIN-AUX-in cable.

Posted by Sieb in Netherlands on November 5, 2004 at 9:16 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 4 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.