Bose SoundDock | iLounge

Reviews

21

As mentioned in the review, and the first two comments of this thread, the iPod Photo fits in the SoundDock, period. We've tested it and it works perfectly.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on November 5, 2004 at 11:32 AM (PDT)

22

to Sieb: thanks alot..however: I will have that SoundDock next week
grin

Mikafra

Posted by Mikafra in Germany on November 6, 2004 at 4:47 AM (PDT)

23

Why is it that no one ever mentions the Harmon Kardon sound sticks? I listened to them next to JBL's Creature system, and liked them much more, besides, they look great.

Posted by seandavid010 in So Cal on November 6, 2004 at 10:21 AM (PDT)

24

seandavid010, possibly becuase they used to be USB-only input devices (the h/k SoundSticks that is). However, SoundSticks II has iPod-compatible 3.5mm stereo mini inputs now and a revamped EQ. The volume control, which was accessible only from the computer before, is now in the form of touch-sensitive pads near the base of the right satellite.

Posted by bc1 on November 7, 2004 at 7:53 AM (PDT)

25

i like its design but as it said in the art. itll be hard for me to consider the price

Posted by tozenter in Thailand on November 8, 2004 at 3:05 AM (PDT)

26

I love the Soundock. Its the best accessory I will ever buy for my IPod. I have a poker room with no stereo, now it does. I never set my Soundock up within arms reach so the remote is Fantastic. It is portable, as I will take it to Vegas in February very easily. its called packing it in a bag, and there ya go, portability. The sound is incredible, and this is coming from a true music lover and a guitar player. While the "techophiles" may want to tweak the settings of the sounds that tyhe human ear never even picks up, then let them. For the rest of the world, the sound can not be beat. It is way better than the "pleasant" mentioned in the article. The SOundock is worth every penny, and gets a A+++++ rating in my book. You can not go wrong with this piece of equipment. As close to perfect as it gets. A little more equalizer control would make it absolutly perfect, but 99.99% is just fine with me.

Posted by BadAxe on November 8, 2004 at 8:09 AM (PDT)

27

Jeremy has nailed this item to my way of thinking. I've heard the Soundock at the Bose store, and I own a JBL Creature II set up. Personally I think the Creature II sounds a bit better...certainly the stereo spread is much better, plus I like the bass / treble adjustments. But portability is a bit of a problem, plus set up takes a few minutes.

I think the Soundock is pretty portable. Just put it in a bag or your suitcase. Set up is easy..just plug it in.

Here's my take: I'd rate the Soundock A+ if it only costs $199. And I'm an audiophile. I think Bose speakers sound OK, but I chose both Linn and B&W Linear Phase speakers over Bose products for my home system run through a Naim amplification system.

At $70 a set for Creature II's from Amazon, I could have THREE sets of Creature II's for a lot less than the Bose Soundock, and have one set at the office, one in the living room, one in the bedroom, and not NEED portability!

Thus the dilemma: on one hand the Soundock is so functionally cute, and I do like the remote. But doesn't it make better sound to get three Creature II's and just leave them at work, and in two rooms in the house and only move the iPOD?

I'll probably get the Soundock for my girlfriend. That way it's a minimal fuss for her..she can plug in the ipod, charge it up while listening, and use the remote.

Posted by revchrisesq on November 9, 2004 at 3:10 AM (PDT)

28

GOT IT YESTERDAY! Great look, better sound that I thought!

Posted by Mikafra in Germany on November 9, 2004 at 11:34 PM (PDT)

29

The Whole Idea of the bose system is not for portability. It is about replacing your current home stereo. The system does a very good job of this howeverplaying your Music collection through such high quality speakers may not be such a good idea, I personally have my MP3's encoded at 192kbps which I think is optimum quality but at 128kbps noise quality will be noticed on these speakers.

Posted by Retro_user in UK on November 10, 2004 at 5:28 AM (PDT)

30

It seems that there are only 2 real advantages to the SoundDock:

1. The drop-and-play ability
2. The remote control

It strikes me as a no-brainer that some company should put out an iPod dock with a line out and a remote control receiver. You could just leave it on your desk plugged into the speakers of your choice. $50-75 seems like a reasonable price for such, but even if it cost $100 it'd offer all the ease of the SoundDock with superior sound at a better price.

Hey, maybe I should make one! Oh wait, I have zero engineering skills.

Posted by zyzzyva in San Francisco on November 11, 2004 at 10:52 AM (PDT)

31

For what I need a smaller system for - namely my garage and my back porch - the Soundock should work great. In those enviroments the Bose signal processing will work just fine. I do not want to have all the wires and three separate speakers to deal with much less move around. I already have my regular stereo hookup so what I need is something easily moved and plugged in. There is another major advantage in that the iPod is charged when hooked into the Soundock. The price is really the only issue but I'm sure I'll breakdown sooner or later.

Posted by bcmiami on November 12, 2004 at 1:34 AM (PDT)

32

Unfortunately, I have to express a negative review for the SoundDock. I recently received one in the mail from Bose. Beautiful ergonomics, lovely sound, and the remote is a nice touch.
However, after using the SoundDock for two and a half weeks, the contact for the ipod has started to work intermittantly. Sometimes when I unplug the unit from the power source, and then re-attach unit, the ipod will connect? and music will flow forth.
I have an ipod mini, and the SoundDock has "adaptors" that allow it to be used with all ipods. Errr, well, no. The mini rocks back and forth in an alarming fashion, which is probably the reason for the connections on an erratic basis. Also, the power adaptor when hooked up with the wall outlet power cord makes for over 10' of line. It's rather bulky and doesn't fold well when trying to place them out of sight, like say for instance, in the kitchen on a crowded countertop, or in a small bathroom for that special "my time alone" ambiance.
I will be contacting Bose to see what they can do for me on a warrenty basis, and based on past experiences, they will most likely be very polite and eager to help.
As I've said, the SoundDock is simple, beautiful, fills any size room with true tones. But before you buy it, I would recommend purchasing an extended warrenty just in case.


Posted by vfrgurrl in yes on November 19, 2004 at 7:01 PM (PDT)

33

Hmmm... I came here to check the review after just seeing a big ad for the SoundDock in "Le Monde." Annoyingly (in true Bose fashion) neither the ad nor the website lists the price!

I'd be tempted by the built-in dock and the remote, but the looks don't do much for me; the way the iPod sits in front belies the smooth formfactor.

A friend has the Bose CD/Radio, which isn't bad, and my parents have a B&O one-piece (at 3X the price!). I recently got the Tivoli Model II and I think it's the best of the 3, and the cheapest. I just need to find the right cable to plug my iPod dock into ...

Wouldn't mind a remote, though!

Posted by iPodPartout in Old Europe on November 20, 2004 at 1:11 PM (PDT)

34

Is the sounddock stereo or mono. I know the tivoli's are mono and this bose system seems to be mono as well? Otherwise it would seem like stereo sound stage is lost due to the close nature of the left and right speakers which unfortunately can not be separated.

Posted by Fa04u12 on November 29, 2004 at 3:54 PM (PDT)

35

In the interests of full disclosure, I have an anti-Bose prejudice based partly on their out of balance price to performance ratio, and partly on the kind of people they tend to market to. In this case, I have to admit I fall squarely in one of their customer segments. (Damn their black-hearted souls)

When we cook, which we do a great deal, we like to listen to music continuously without having to leave whatever you are working on to fuss with technology.

We have a great audio system in the living room that we can hear in the kitchen if we crank it, but it isn't easy to control from the kitchen in case the phone rings. My parents also taught me that it's less than hospitible to deafen the visting mother-in-law/friends in the living room.

I happened across the SoundDock over Thanksgiving and found it appealing for a number of reasons:

1. Clean, simple industrial design.
2. Single box and small footprint with minimum cables to manage.
3. Slim remote control unit.
4. Decent sound quality that surprised me.

We never intend to move the unit so portablity and batteries are non issues. There are no computers nearby for sync to be an issue. We do need a place where we'll remember to charge the iPods so we could put this in the same place with the cell phones chargers.

All that said, the price of the SoundDock is too high based on the price and utility of the iPod that it supports. An add-on that costs *more* than what you are adding it to? I think not. I'd buy this in a heartbeat at $199.99. I can only think that Bose did a pricing elasticity study and found that people in the their target markets are still willing to pay at premium for products bathed in the iPod's cool glow. I hate those people.

It's a damned shame that the SoundDock is such a good fit for me but the price is so outrageous.

Posted by Brian Murphy on December 5, 2004 at 8:24 AM (PDT)

36

Yes, it's typical Bose...makes you hate yourself when you fork it over for one of their products. I bit the bullet, here's what I think after a month:

- It's actually reasonably portable. It fits in my compact Swiss army computer carryon roller with room for my laptop, toiletries, camcorder and a host of other miscellaneous items. You will need to roll it, though.

- By experimenting with the many EQ settings in the iPod you can really tailor the sound to your liking. Tweaked this way, I think it sounds remarkably good, with a living room-filling SPL and the illusion of good bass.

I'm beginning to think it actually was worth it...

Posted by bkh on December 18, 2004 at 2:39 AM (PDT)

37

Dear Jeremy,

Can I ask you again if you are absolutely sure that the Sounddock supports the iPod Photo?

When I check on the Apple on-line store, it specifies that it DOES NOT support the iPod Photo!

Is it perhaps that there is an earlier model which did not have a docking piece for the Photo model but that there is one now that does have it?

I appreciate very much your response and congratulate you on a great Site!!

Merry Christmas to all the readers!!


Jaime from Spain

Posted by Jaime in Spain on December 24, 2004 at 8:41 AM (PDT)

38

Jaime - this from Macworld:
(1) Attach the dock slot adapter for your particular size iPod (five sizes, for any dockable iPod except the new iPod Photo, are included—Bose plans to provide an updated adapter for that iPod in the near future)

Posted by bkh on December 25, 2004 at 2:44 PM (PDT)

39

Jeremy,

Can you outline how to make the 40GB Photo Ipod work with the speaker? I just can't find any other resources that say they are compatible yet.

Thanks! jenny

Posted by ifyrnice2me in Florida on January 1, 2005 at 5:15 PM (PDT)

40

I got a Sound Dock for Christmas and at low listening levels it exhibits a pronounced hiss which is especially noticeable with chamber music. I exchanged it for another, and this one exhibits the same problem. I would expect much more form Bose at $300. Is anyone else having this issue? This hissing sound is driving me nuts!

Posted by Chris Webster in New Jersey on January 2, 2005 at 6:54 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 4 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.