Bose SoundDock | iLounge

Reviews

41

Jeremy,

I completely understand what isn't compatible with the SoundDock...it is the size of the Photo I-Pod and not the software. I am able to play my Photo I-Pod as long as there is no slot adapter inserted. It does not look as nice...but I am hoping that Bose will come out with a new one and I will be able to buy just that piece. Thanks for the review!

jenny

Posted by ifyrnice2me in Florida on January 3, 2005 at 12:14 PM (PDT)

42

I called Bose and this is what they told me:

"We're working on it now."
"We don't know when it will be available."
"We don't know whether it will be free and currently have no information concerning pricing."

Hope this helps (or doesn't.)

Posted by bkh on January 6, 2005 at 3:07 PM (PDT)

43

Sorry, the above post was about the Photo iPod adapter.

Posted by bkh on January 6, 2005 at 3:10 PM (PDT)

44

Hey there,
Can anybody here help by telling me how I connect my Ipod with my Beosound 1 ... I have the Monster cable but I can't connect it with the Beosound because it has an AUX din A5.. I have bought an adpter but the sound doesn't come through... Anybody can tell me what can I do... Many Thanks

Posted by OlivierB in Belgium on January 10, 2005 at 2:10 PM (PDT)

45

Hey there,
Can anybody help me by telling me how I connect my Ipod with my Beosound 1 ... I have the Monster cable but I can't connect it with the Beosound because it has an AUX din A5.. I have bought an adapter too but the sound doesn't come through... Anybody can tell me what can I do... Many Thanks

Posted by OlivierB in Belgium on January 10, 2005 at 2:12 PM (PDT)

46

I saw one of these in a Bose shop and was instantly attracted...shame about the price though...

Posted by williamseymour in shrewsbury, UK on January 11, 2005 at 9:29 AM (PDT)

47

Does the Sound dock have any line-in? Planning to buy one but this might be a bit of an issue if it doesnt cause means that i can Only use it with the ipod...

Posted by briangrech on January 15, 2005 at 3:30 AM (PDT)

48

I just received my soundock this morning. It now comes with all 5 adapters for all different types of IPOD.

I have tried all volumes and there is no way the music will distort. I was sceptical about this product but thought I would try it before buying connnectors to my existing JVC stereo system.

However, I am hearing parts of the melody I never heard on my current stereo.

It is absolutely fabulous.

Ok - let;s get real, the separation between left and right is not as good as a standard stereo, but it's not bad. Anyway, that's just a question of physical speaker location.

I don't get any hiss on acoustic or very soft music at low levels and am 100% satisfied.

Played the same songs on my stereo then on the Soundock and in all honesty, I was seriously impressed.

The stereo is now off to by brother's this week.

I now have a small compact but powerful jukebox with every album I've ever owned.

What more could a geeky IT-girl want?

Buy it - you won't be disappointed

Posted by dandylioncat in UK on February 1, 2005 at 2:18 AM (PDT)

49

Does anyone know what the wattage is of the Bose Sounddock?
Thanks

Posted by georgeambler in uk on February 1, 2005 at 11:59 AM (PDT)

50

does anyone know if the sounddock has any inputs (other thatn the ipod dock). That would be great to be able hook it up to a tv or game system to help justify the price.

ps- great review. thanks.

Posted by podskater on February 3, 2005 at 11:01 PM (PDT)

51

Does this product work with an ipod mini? By the way, my friend has one and it sounds awesome!

Posted by robertll on February 7, 2005 at 3:22 PM (PDT)

52

Jeremy,
I recently purchased a sounddock based on your informative review and reccomendations from friends and I noticed that after extended playing, the ipod is always in a charged mode. How does this affect the ipods battery charging cycle since the power source never seems to be fully discharged. Are these batteries lithium ion or nicads

Posted by Starlight Pines in Flagstaff, AZ on February 8, 2005 at 7:33 AM (PDT)

53

does anyone know if the remote with the ipod dock, works with the ipod mini. thanks

Posted by Dawood on February 8, 2005 at 3:32 PM (PDT)

54

I've just bought one got it home. A minute after getting it out of the box it was filling my house with great sounds. It even gives my separates a run for their money.

A great review that convinced me to buy this great product!

Posted by mightywhelk in Norwich, UK on February 9, 2005 at 1:18 PM (PDT)

55

Re: ipod photo compatibility

I stopped at the nashville bose store and asked the saleslady about compatibility:

40gb photo: compatible out of the box

60gb photo: compatible after contacting bose and having them send a 'free' 60gb adapter plate

tho' i'm curious - why do bose stores not stock these 60gb adapter plates so they can hand them out as cust's need them? i'm considering getting a soundock, but i'd like to leave the store knowing that the soundock ALREADY fits my 60gb photo (i.e. without waiting for bose to send it), ya know?

Posted by lechocolatemoose in nashville, tn on February 9, 2005 at 9:53 PM (PDT)

56

This product works with all 3g, 4g, and mini ipods. The remote works with the mini and the regular ipod. Hope that helps people

Posted by robertll on February 13, 2005 at 11:31 AM (PDT)

57

I found the Bose SoundDock in a local store. Looks good, sounds amazing. I want one.

Posted by Sol in Brisbane, Australia on February 14, 2005 at 4:12 AM (PDT)

58

There are several questions that keep appearing about the SoundDock on this thread. I work for Bose so I am in a position to answer them.

iPod Photo
Bose will be releasing inserts for the iPod photo very soon. Currently the product ships with five inserts (2x 3rd Gen, 2x 4th Gen, 1x Mini). The product was designed before the launch of the iPod photo, hence no insert as of yet.

Inputs/Syncing
There are no inputs or connections to connect the Bose SoundDock to your PC/Mac. The product is soley designed for the iPod with simplicity in mind.

Speaker Design
There are two full-range loudspeaker drivers inside the SoundDock providing a rich, full, stereo sound. It is NOT monoaural. The small size of the SoundDock will not provide as defined stereo seperation as a conventional seperate speakers, but does benefit from TrueSpace signal processing which gives a more spacious sound without detracting from the source material. The Bose SoundDock easily fills most average sized rooms very well. Remember that the product is designed as an easy to use, space-saving option for those customers that wish for excellent sound with maximum convenience (charging, remote, no speaker cables, etc)
Bose do not release specifications for their products, eg power rating, frequency response, etc.

Portability
The system is mains powered and has been designed as an indoor system. It weighs only 2kgs though, so is easy enough to move around the home.

Overall, it is encouraging and satisfying to read that so many people are delighted with their SoundDock.

Rob

Posted by RobF1 on February 14, 2005 at 12:55 PM (PDT)

59

The Bose SoundDock is great and anyone who says that it isn't either is on the payroll of JBL or has too much wax in their ears.

I listened to Creatures in the store-they are toys for teenagers. I brought both an On Stage and a SoundDock home to decide which one I wanted for travel. The On Stage puts out very impressive sound for both its size and price, but it doesn't come close to the SoundDock in richness.

As far as needing a bass and treble control like the Creatures, haven't you figured out how to use the EQ settings in the iPod yet? If you need more than the EQ settings the iPod offers, you are listening to the speakers, not the music.

Deciding between the On Stage and the SoundDock was difficult, however. I wanted something for my frequent 3-4 day hotel stays and the On Stage is clearly more portable than the SoundDock. Well I am sitting in a hotel in Toronto, 1500 miles from home, listening to the SoundDock right now. It meant that I had to carry an extra piece of luggage to transport it here, but there is no question in my mind that it was worth it. I have enjoyed the time I had to myself in this room so much because of the SoundDock. Yeah, the On Stage could have been squeezed into my usual luggage and the SoundDock doesn't come close to the two stereo systems I have in my home and the one I have in my office, but it is better than anything else that wouldn't require a dolly or a porter to tranport it through an airport.

I wanted to counter this review so that anyone who appreciates true quality isn't lead astray. Go and listen to a SoundDock. It is made for anyone who understands exactly what the specs of stereo mean, but doesn't give a damn about them--they want to listen to the music and then decide for themselves.

Posted by shuffler on February 19, 2005 at 6:04 PM (PDT)

60

NICE LOOK, BEUTIFUL SOUND QUALITY, SPACE-SAVING DESIGN. A LITTLE PRICEY THOUGH.BUT OVERALL IT IS WORTH THE $300.

Posted by EQUINOX341095 in miami on April 4, 2005 at 10:54 AM (PDT)

Page 3 of 4 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.