Bose SoundDock | iLounge

Reviews

61

I Agree, the Creature’s are nothing to rave about and I’m not even sure they sound better than the sounddock, but The Klipsch 2.1's GMX's and 2.0's all do and they are all less than 1/2 the cost of this thing. The altec mx5021 also edges this out by a large margin, but I will say this, none of thoes systems have an ipod dock. They are stand alone multimedia systems that only take stereo input via minjack. So you would either have to use a ipod dock or just lay the ipod down and use the headphone output.

Posted by lms007 on May 31, 2005 at 9:26 PM (PDT)

62

I've had the bose sound dock since the winter and have no complaints (price didn't apply as a complaint since it was a gift - thanks uncle john!!)

but since then, I rarely listen to my 4G ipod alone. I have a shuffle for running and for out and about. Therefore my full size ipod rarely leaves the sound dock, hence it is always in a state of being charged. Ocassionally when it reaches full charge, I'll take it off the sound dock and set it aside.

My question is, will this affect battery performance since I'm rarely letting the battery drain down? should I just leave the ipod on every now and then & just let it run in order to let the battery discharge?

whaddaya say, jeremy?

Posted by daveB on July 25, 2005 at 7:31 AM (PDT)

63

Excellent sound and performance. I don't rate this the same as I would a "separate speakers system" simply because most buying this would, I would imagine, be getting it because of its small footprint. It fits nicely on my nightstand (though not much else besides a lamp will) and sounds great. It's semi-portable having only the power cord (i.e., I can move it to another room in the house with minimal fuss). $300 worth of sound? Arguable, but it goes with the argument regarding PowerBooks and iBooks -- you're paying extra for minimization and portability, not processing power.

Posted by Zoidberg on July 27, 2005 at 2:16 PM (PDT)

64

There is something I don't understand.

Why would anyone in their right mind want to put their prestine polished iPod in a dock of any sort. The iPod dock, docking speaker systems, etc.

I know these things must scratch the hell out of ipods. Why would you go through the trouble of buying an expensive case, to have to remove the iPod from the case, and insert it into unpadded hard plastic dock.

no thanks. I'll keep my hard earned money and do without the scratches.

Just say no to wildly overpriced accessories.

Posted by Remington in Sacramento, CA on July 28, 2005 at 8:40 PM (PDT)

65

When listening via the Bose SoundDock at low volume, each time my iPod's disk drive "wakes up" it creates a brief (but unfortunately audible) static interference sound.

For example, if I'm listening in shuffle mode and I skip forward or backward several tracks via the SoundDock remote control, the iPod's disk drive wakes up and creates the static.

Unfortunately, it appears that this static is not due to a defect in a specific SoundDock or iPod, as I have recreated this problem on two different SoundDocks (both brand new) with two different iPods. Bose has offered no explanation or fix.

Posted by mike1234 on August 28, 2005 at 10:39 PM (PDT)

66

Has anyone heard whether Bose plans to introduce a new model of the Sounddock in the near future? I am thinking of getting one for my office but would hate to have a new and potentially better model released as soon as I purchase this one. Thanks.

Posted by Hurlinator on September 9, 2005 at 11:22 AM (PDT)

67

Dear Jeremy,

Can I ask you that the Sounddock supports the iPod nano or not? does anyone know if the remote with the ipod dock, works with the ipod nano? thanks

Posted by bestkungja on September 15, 2005 at 10:15 AM (PDT)

68

B4 i start i'd like to say that YES, Bose WILL be coming out with a dock for the NANO towards the end of 2005.
I have had the Sounddock for about 1/2 a year now and am over satisfied withit. I have also noted as someone else said, that you may hear static while shuffling songs. The sound overall is AMAZING taking into account the size of it. To note if you do want to, you can connect the ipod to an hi-fi through the earphone jack as well as listening to the ipod through the sounddock.

Posted by KiDkOOl on November 6, 2005 at 2:12 PM (PDT)

69

I want speakers for football tailgating and in my office at home. We have a 20 iPod and a new 30 iPod photo. I have a power converter in my car so can run it off that, right? Gas shouldn't be much more than the batteries the IM7 requires. Worried about lack on inputs. Price is not a big consideration. Also looking at Onstage II - any others I should consider?

Posted by salesman on November 26, 2005 at 4:55 PM (PDT)

70

I just purchased a Bose sound dock for my 5G 60g iPod. I wrote to the Bose folk and asked if the units were compatible. They said yes. When the product arrived (I didn't read the iLounge review ahead of time so didn't know about some of the points made in this review), there was not an insert designated for the 5G 60g. I put the A insert (the smaller one) in the unit, and wrote to the company again. They recommended the B unit for the 60g, so I swapped inserts. Now the unit seems to have much more play than it should. I have never had a dock before, so don't know if I should be concerned about this or not. Any suggestions?? Thanks, Susan

Posted by sjpsprout on March 2, 2006 at 5:11 PM (PDT)

71

Use the smaller insert with the 5G 60Gb iPod...it will fit more snugly. HTH.

Posted by ventivent on March 10, 2006 at 9:01 PM (PDT)

72

Thanks a lot for the excellent review mate. Very helpful.

Posted by dickybird on March 19, 2006 at 5:19 PM (PDT)

73

Bought a SoundDock yesterday at Heathrow Airport Duty for my 5G iPod Video.

2 problems:

1. There is a quiet but audible buzzing / vibration sound which comes from the right hand speaker when it is generating low range tones. Very annoying, and is obviously a fault. But now I am a long way from the shop (I'm in Azerbaijan) and I can't exchange it. Poor quality control from Bose factory. Grrr.

2. The box had a sticker on it saying "also for iPod Video", but the docking insert provided is too big (it's for the iPod photo which is thicker than the iPod ideo). It means the ipod wobbles a bit, and you can't use the clickwheel without holding the iPod with your other hand.

Yes the sound is good from such a small unit but the details let it down. Overall I am not impressed. And how am I going to replace it?? No Bose dealer for 1000's of kms from here.

Baku Steve

Posted by Baku Steve on April 19, 2006 at 5:23 AM (PDT)

74

Im torn between the Bose Sounddock and the Klipsch iGroove HG. I've read both reviews and still am not sure. What is your recommendation?

Posted by rckman25 on April 4, 2007 at 7:47 AM (PDT)

75

Jeremy,
you said "Second-best iPod-matching speakers we’ve tested to date on sound quality, featuring rich, clear sound out of the box and clean design."

I would like to know which the firt-best Ipod matching speaker is.

Thank you

Posted by Keau on June 27, 2007 at 1:37 PM (PDT)

76

Always see our most recent iPod Buyers' Guides and Free iPod Books for our latest "best of class" recommendations. Check out the iLounge Library for all the details.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on June 27, 2007 at 1:56 PM (PDT)

Page 4 of 4 pages « First  <  2 3 4

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.