iSkin eVo2 | iLounge

Reviews

1

As I have mentioned in the forums a couple times. Well myself and another fellow. I have had problems with iTrip and the Evo2 on a 4G 40G iPod. I lose connection somtimes with the iTrip. It maybe just mine but I have tried to contact iSkin on two ocassions and have not gotten a reply from them on the isssue. They advertise that it is compatible with the iTrip, but I have had issues with mine since day 1. I need to put excessive pressure to get a proper connection. The other fellow in the forum had to wrap around a couple rubberbands to make his work.
I have given up trying to reach iSkin on the issue, since I do not use the iTrip that often. All in all it is a great skin for the ipod. I have no other issues with this case. Just wish iSkin had better support on there products. Maybe they will see the light with this public review on the best Ipod site in the world.
Great review Jermemy. Keep up the good work! Thought I would thow my 2cents in on the case. Wonder if any body elses had the same issues as me?

Posted by budaboy in N Vancity on November 9, 2004 at 2:51 AM (PDT)

2

You guys didn't show the back view of the skin!

Posted by apple juice in USA on November 9, 2004 at 5:08 AM (PDT)

3

another negative thing to mention about the "clip" is that the plastic circle piece on the inside will melt onto the back of the ipod if left on while repeated playing and charging takes place. I had to work on it for 30 minutes to get it to unstick without breaking it or scratching the chrome on the back. luckily plastic and chrome don't "weld" but it was still a pain in the neck. I won't be using the clip attachment any longer for fear of damaging the back plate or worse.

and i too have had problems using the itrip. i have resorted to flipping back the top while using it.

and not to sound too nagative, but my biggest complaint would have to be the lint. the rubber attracts every piece of dust and lint and dirt within 3 feet of it. it's quite annoying having your beautiful ipod displayed looking like crap. if i wasn't so concerned about scratching it, i would have taken the iskin off long ago. i'm just waiting for ####'s cases to come out in hopes they've got a little better product.

Posted by Frank Owen in Tampa, FL on November 9, 2004 at 5:43 AM (PDT)

4

Frank, the people over at ####'s have reccommended rubbing your case with baby powder. I wasn't having much of a lint problem before, but after the baby powder, there isn't one at all.

I have one of ####'s skins(exoflp4g), as I didn't like the open wheel and the port cover on the evo2.

Maybe an open wheel is better for the 3g, but I was worried that with a physical click wheel, that crud might possibly get into it.

Posted by jessica in va on November 9, 2004 at 6:50 AM (PDT)

5

I'm going to get a #### skin as soon as they let me order a 40GB one (exoFLPfb)

I have an iSkin now and it's very cool. I don't use the belt clip.

#### has a cool clip (TwistClip) that just holds the skin from the outside, so no plastic touches the iPod, just silicone. And it works with the iSkin as well!

Posted by croooow in Fairfax, VA on November 9, 2004 at 7:01 AM (PDT)

6

I have an iSkin evo for my 3G iPod, and overall it works well. I have no dock connecting issues myself, and the iTrip seems to work 100% with the case on. I don't see why iSkin would change the top of the case where the iTrip connects.

That said, the REVOclip was not good. Despite gentle treatment, mine snapped off after one month of use, and my iPod took a tumble. Fortunately, the thickness of the rubber case prevented any damage but I have not bothered to replace the clip as I simply do not trust it. Now I just slip the covered iPod in my pocket and call it good.

I thus agree with several comments that the clip is indeed suspect. Otherwise, I like my iSkin evo and use it all the time.

Posted by BradPDX in Portland, OR USA on November 9, 2004 at 7:36 AM (PDT)

7

Is the Belkin Auto Kit one of the accessories that the iSkin doesn't accommodate?

Posted by Kate Nepveu on November 9, 2004 at 7:44 AM (PDT)

8

Monster ICarPlay is a pain-and-a-half to plug in when you've got an Evo2 4G iSkin on. You have to keep the rubber flap bent back while you stretch the hole open big enough to fit around the plug. No way can you do this while driving!

Posted by jazmaan in Santa Monica, CA on November 9, 2004 at 9:58 AM (PDT)

9

I second the complaints about the iTrip--a regularly lose my connection with the iSkin on--and have resorted to having to pulling the top skin back to plug it straight on. I would not recommend this case until this is addressed.

Posted by Gazza C on November 9, 2004 at 10:44 AM (PDT)

10

Probably, Kate ... my Belkin Media Reader doesn't fit =(

Posted by nyorker on November 9, 2004 at 1:17 PM (PDT)

11

i am furious- just took off the skin and found scratches galore on the case. And the plastic disc has permanently adhered (melted?) to the back of my brand new iPod. i cannot believe that I spent $30 to protect my pristine iPod, only to have inflicted more harm in the end. Do not buy this !!!

Posted by jenny b. in Philadelphia on November 9, 2004 at 3:12 PM (PDT)

12

An iSkin Tale -
i first got an iskin for 3G at the Apple Store. then 4Gs came out and i preordered one. **iTrip did not work. **the headphone jack was misproperly aligned. but iskin still rules so i got a lava

do NOT get the glo ones. the pics online are photoshoped so i exchanged it for Sonic. which looks just like online.

this was several months after the initial release of evo2 and i think they changed the mold because everything works (except itrip sometimes randomly unplugs but a lot better than before.

Posted by Exvicious in Schaumburg, IL on November 9, 2004 at 3:59 PM (PDT)

13

oh, and obviously don't use the belt clip. they should just take that out, it breaks and melts (?!) to the ipod? that's ridiculous.

Posted by Exvicious in Schaumburg, IL on November 9, 2004 at 4:01 PM (PDT)

14

I bought the Arctic White version as soon as it came out. I love the case, but unfortunately it's more yellow now than white. Don't know why; it just slowly changed over the course of a month or so.

I work in a lab, and have tried all kinds of chemicals to restore the color, but to no avail.

I'm ditching the case on Thursday, when my iSee-20 is scheduled to arrive.

Posted by CameronP in San Diego, CA, USA on November 9, 2004 at 4:23 PM (PDT)

15

I've had one of these since they were first released. I only use my iPod with the iTrip or plugged in to the Apple cables. Other than the usual complaint about the crap belt clip and the melting disc, I've been very happy.

I have a 40 GB model and my girlfriend has a 20 GB, both with the evo2. Both cases were pre-ordered and so were obviously early ones. They both seem to work just fine with the iTrip and with the Apple cords, the only accessories that either of us have. I've had the iTrip pop out a couple of times when the iPod is being carried around but it's a rare occurence The lack of wheel protection will be addressed with an iPoDonut.

No signs of scratches. If only it worked with a dock - I'm waiting for #### to come out with the appropriate alphabet soup model for my 40 GB.

Posted by KeithT on November 9, 2004 at 5:51 PM (PDT)

16

Jeremy,

in response to your comment "whenever ####'s 4G cases arrive" above, I have this very day personally arranged (ie without reference to ####) for a set of samples of all #### 4G cases to be sent to you as iPodlounge reviewer and 'editor in chief'. One thing you will no doubt notice is that all the 4G cases are now iTrip friendly. Included in the samples is a new innovation in art cases - a reproducable design using 3 different silicone colours. the shipment is being sent by DHL so as to arrive as quickly as possible. I anticipate that you should receive it on Monday.

Posted by Piquet on November 10, 2004 at 12:05 AM (PDT)

17

its crap

nuff said

Posted by Infusion in Around the world on November 10, 2004 at 12:59 PM (PDT)

18

It'd be nice if there were pictures of this one glowing in the dark, since it seems to be the Vamp color.

I'd like to see what glow in the dark goodness I might possibly be missing out on.

Maybe it didn't glow all that well, and I've got all of the glow in the dark goodness I need with my skylite case.

Posted by jessica in va on November 10, 2004 at 10:29 PM (PDT)

19

About the iTrip issue... I have not used the iSkin eVo2, but I do have the Speck rubber cases for the 4G iPod. I had the same problem with the Speck cases, it was difficult to attach the iTrip firm enough to get a good connection and then sometimes I'd lose the connection.

I noticed that the iTrip seemed to be prevented from plugging in snugly because it was hitting the rubber on the top towards the sides of the case. It seemed like the opening on top was big enough from front to back, but not from side to side.

I decided to take matters into my own hands and used an exacto knife to trim off a little rubber from the sides of top opening. I cut about a millimeter or two off each side, making the top opening a little wider. It should be mentioned that I bought the three-pack of cases from Speck, so if I ruined one I wouldn't be completely screwed, and of course, I took my iPod out of the case before attempting to cut it.

After performing this procedure my iTrip connects firmly and works great, no more lost connections! The top of the eVo2 looks similar to the Speck case, so this might work for some of you too. Keep in mind that anytime you take an exacto knife to a product, you run the risk of ruining it... but it worked for me.

Posted by feakbeak in Plymouth, MI, USA on November 11, 2004 at 10:21 AM (PDT)

20

WHat is the best leather 4G case?
How about the Marware C.E.O Classic 4G?

Posted by Dr. Varun on November 13, 2004 at 6:28 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 4 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.