iSkin eVo2 | iLounge

Reviews

41

I bought a ghost glo case for my 4g 20gb ipod. The glow pics on the site are probably photoshopped, as my case glows a greenish colour, not blue. But i like green better than blue anyway, so i dont mind.

The screen protector is great, and i dont think the absense of a wheel protector is a problem as the wheel isnt white anymore.

The clip is ok... it istn a spring clip but it stays on your pants pretty well. I did have the problem with it sticking to the back of the ipod, but it came off pretty quick. And it didnt leave any marks or scratches on the back of the ipod. I think i'm gonna try putting plastic wrap between the ipod and the belt clip disc... i'm thinking that might help with the sticking.

overall i think it's a great case, as long as you dont mind the clip being a bit annoying.

Posted by Aisha on January 8, 2005 at 3:42 PM (PDT)

42

oh and also... the glow case i got isnt see-throuhgh (the non glow ones are kinda see through) so you cant see the edges of the screen protector through the case

Posted by Aisha on January 8, 2005 at 3:47 PM (PDT)

43

is it true that the monster icarplay is a pain in the butt with this case? i need it to fit! I also have a question about the glow cases i found the comments confusing, one person said they don't glow like the pictures and onother person said they glow a different color then they really are!?! Do you recoment the glow cases or just the regular ones???

Posted by rae-pae on January 9, 2005 at 9:52 AM (PDT)

44

Does anyone know if this works with SendStations pocket dock/ line out combo?

Posted by BRoge in Georgia, USA on January 12, 2005 at 9:31 AM (PDT)

45

I have an iSkin eVo2 and I wasn't aware of which colors were glow in the dark or not and I didn't realize until AFTER I ordered. Oh well, that really doesn't matter. I don't use the belt clip because it is very flimsey and I don't trust it holding onto my ipod; I'm afraid it's going to slip!!

Posted by Caroline on January 16, 2005 at 4:15 PM (PDT)

46

Well, I bought the iSkin for my 20G iPod and I love it.

I do use the belt clip, but I read the warnings on here first and my solution was to trim a WriteRight screen protector to fit the back of the iPod and apply it to the back before I put the iPod in the case.

I haven't taken it back out of the case yet, but I figure that should protect the back of my iPod should I ever decide to take it back out of the iSkin. Provided the WriteRight screen protector doesn't meld itself to the back of the iPod, but I can't imagine why it would...

Other than the aforementioned bonding which I've hopefully avoided, I love the case. The only drawback I've found to it is the fact that the rubbery silicon collects all kind of pocket lint and I find myself licking my finger and wiping it down fairly frequently. Other than that, no complaints here. Well worth the money and much better than the $20 Apple belt clip that I returned...

Posted by AshmanE on January 19, 2005 at 8:34 PM (PDT)

47

I have the iSkin evo2 and am pretty satisfied with it. Had no problems with connecting the iTrip either.

Just wondering: do you guys keep it in the case while recharging your iPod?

Posted by dom. on January 20, 2005 at 5:30 AM (PDT)

48

I just got my evo2 today. I think it is great, and I can manipulate my iPod without fearing scratching it.

But I was wondering if the flip puts a bit too much (angular?) stress on the connector while connected (duh), that after some time the innerparts of the connector jack will become loose (that used to happen a lot with the jack of the headphones in sony's cassette walkman).

Posted by Hukes on January 25, 2005 at 8:38 PM (PDT)

49

I just got my evo2 today. I think it is great, and I can manipulate my iPod without fearing scratching it.

But I was wondering if the flip puts a bit too much (angular?) stress on the connector while connected (duh), that after some time the innerparts of the connector jack will become loose (that used to happen a lot with the jack of the headphones in sony's cassette walkman).

Posted by Hukes on January 25, 2005 at 8:38 PM (PDT)

50

Will somebody help me I can't decide whether a #### case or an Evo2

Posted by Hector on January 27, 2005 at 1:39 PM (PDT)

51

I recevied my evo2 today, and the back clip indeed is crap... I decide not to use it.

Posted by Daniel Dong in Richmond,BC on January 31, 2005 at 10:04 PM (PDT)

52

Don't get either... get one of the clear plastic shells. The silicon gets all sort of crap on it!

Trust me, I have a blue evo2 and packed it away in favor of an Agent 18 clickshield.

Posted by HassPod in Washington DC on February 1, 2005 at 5:47 AM (PDT)

53

Just sent an email to iSkin today in regards to their current promotion. You get a free iSkin wheel cover and some Audible stuff too, but it wasn't showing up in their cart at checkout. So I didn't order it and sent an email to double check that it would be included and that I didn't need a promotional code or something. They responded in under 3 hours. (This impresses me) And informed me that it would ship with add-ons so long as I ordered by Feb 6th. So far so good, placed the order today, will repost if anything drastic happens.

Posted by graphicgeek in Utica, NY on February 1, 2005 at 12:12 PM (PDT)

54

Back clip is awkward, never used it. Bought mine solely for the purpose of avoiding scratches on my ipod. Silicon case feels kinda sticky. I put it in my jeans pocket, and when I take it out, all sorts of lint stick on it. It is also a hassle if you have a dock. You'll have to take the ipod out, dock it, and when you're done, put the silicon back in. Removal and installation of the case is not that easy... Ipod has to be pushed with force to fit into tight silicon. After a few times, I got tired of it and decided to stop using the case.

Posted by ca_o on February 11, 2005 at 1:25 AM (PDT)

55

Ordered an evo2 on a Wed. afternoon via the web -- it arrived in the mail on Friday morning ( I'm in Nepean Ontario, so that helps ).

It came with a sample of their new wheel cap which seems to work well with the evo2 case. The wheel cap has a bit of tackiness ( stickiness ) so it seems to stay in place. After a day or I took it off to make sure it wasn't scratching the surface around the click wheel. So far, so good. The only down side is that the select (center ) button is a little mushier feeling with the cap on, and the click noise is muffled. Both I can live with as long as it protects the iPod.

The Shades ( screencover ) also seems to fit well.

So, it looks like I have a well protected iPod.

I didn't install the belt clip after reading all the previous responses and the review. It would be nice not to have to pay for it.

You also get a "free" accessory case.


Summary: fast shipping, new wheel cover gives good protection. Maybe a bit pricey if you don't want the belt clip.

Posted by George Ross in Ottawa on February 16, 2005 at 8:07 AM (PDT)

56

This case is terrible. Hair, and dirt sticks to the silicone, and needs to be washed off with water or saliva to be removed. My case ripped shortly after purchasing it, with light use. The belt clip is flimsy, and it feels like it will fall off or crack at any time. The plastic support disc that is inserted under the evo2 for the clip will dent your iPod. I am currently in the process of sending pictures of my dented iPod to iSkin, hopefully they will repair it. All in all, get a hard case, the Contour Showcase 4G/Photo in white, it's the best case out there.

Posted by sergeantpress on February 17, 2005 at 12:03 AM (PDT)

57

I have an exo2 for my 10g 3G and two evo2s for my 20g and Photo. The exo2 had a kick-### stainless-steel clip that has endured all sorts of insults. As the folks on here have noted, however, the plastic "RevoClip" is a total POS that snaps in two nearly as soon as you buy the thing.

I still like the iSkin, but my big complaint is that they never answer emails and they don't have a phone number. So I can't buy replacements or get any feedback to my complaints. Suck-### customer service, in my opinion.

g.

Posted by hoppah in Ramona, CA on February 28, 2005 at 9:00 AM (PDT)

58

Just to set the record straight - the evo2 doesn't 'come with a zip bag' - the zip bag is a free extra if you buy the evo2 from the iskin.com website.

Posted by yoxi in Cambridge, England on March 10, 2005 at 12:28 PM (PDT)

59

I bought a Carbon iSkin recently. Gotta say 1 word...AWESOME! It looks very neat and cool (like the v's) and the grey looks great against the clickwheel. I havent even tried to use the iSkin so idk. The screen protecter awesome. The dock port is kinda small but nothing a knife can't fix. It kinda annoys me that i cant dock it but i found a solution: stretch the bottom (clickwheel hole) over the bottom of the iPod, bend the bottom of the case back, and put the exposed bottom in the dock. :D

Posted by theipodman on March 20, 2005 at 2:08 PM (PDT)

60

I have an evo2 and overall its a great case. It works well with my boyfriends iTrip. However, since the silicone at the top is slightly curved to fit iTrip, it does NOT work with my XtremeMac AirPlay. The silicone is too thick on the sides to get a good connection. If anyone knows a good case that solves this issue, I'd love to hear about it.

Posted by cheshireluna in Ohio on March 22, 2005 at 4:11 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 4 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.