Griffin iBeam (Flash Light & Laser Pointer) | iLounge

Reviews

1

"Ray of Light" HA! humor.

Posted by croooow in Fairfax, VA on November 9, 2004 at 4:29 AM (PDT)

2

I think it's a fun toy--and I like using the iPod's battery instead of some other wasteful little battery to change, charge, or throw out. Now I'll have one flashlight that's always charged, with no special effort since I'll be charging my iPod anyway.

I suppose you could leave the light on aimed at the ceiling while in the dock, as a night light too. Can you stop the iPod from sleeping ever?

Posted by Nagromme on November 9, 2004 at 1:04 PM (PDT)

3

Got mine... they seem well made, but no iPod to try them with yet. Side benefit: the keychain caps can also protect an iTrip or other accessory's connectors.

Bottom line is they were a fun iPod add-on that wouldn't have interested me as standalone. A decision based more on "toy" value than on practicality... not unlike the iPod itself! And I only overpaid by the price of a pizza smile

Although a pizza would sure be nice as I wait for my iPod...

Posted by Nagromme on November 10, 2004 at 10:47 PM (PDT)

4

Sure this is what we need, a laser and a flashlight for our iPods. While were at it, how about a food processor attachment? Or pehaps a smokeless ash tray attachment. smile

Posted by Phoenixfury in Elkhart, IN on November 18, 2004 at 10:15 AM (PDT)

5

Omg!-i've seen it all now!...

Posted by oink1 in Bristol-UK on November 19, 2004 at 4:50 PM (PDT)

6

Just got iBeam. Fun toy but no real purpose to me. My friends will probobly be jealous.

Posted by adidas10254 on December 7, 2004 at 4:05 PM (PDT)

7

Useful for the times you're listening to your ipod late at night and the power goes out. Voila! Now your favorite MP3 player can also double as a flashlight.

And no, I didn't say that with a straight face. lol. This is perfect for those people who want to feel like MacGyver or something.

Posted by Seto Kaiba on January 13, 2005 at 9:47 AM (PDT)

8

I just received the two items tonight (for my birthday). The laser pointer is cool, the flashlight not a bad idea (similar to the little "pinchlights" that are often sold through shops like REI). It might even help my old eyes read a menu in a dark restaruant. Since the two items were a gift, it's difficult ot find complaint with either item. I do give lots of presentations and the laser would come in handy - but I have to ask myself why I'd have my iPod with me, since I'd have have my laptop to run my Keynote show, and my laptop has iTunes. But then, I ALWAYS have my iPod with me! Oh, well, I think I'll try it out on the dog and see if he wants to chase the light.

Posted by Dave Wyman in Los Angeles, USA on January 23, 2005 at 9:10 PM (PDT)

9

Im thinking about getting the Ibeam and perhaps the laser..just because im such a light junky, i have this little flashlight thing i got from a mac show 2 years ago, and i play with it all the time..haha people get tired of it, but really i am thinking about getting the flashlight, it does seem handy.

Posted by Dawn Marie in New York City on January 29, 2005 at 3:20 PM (PDT)

10

Actually, this thing is great at school, and for freaking out cats/dogs. at school after shining it the teacher checked everyone, and he didn't even know what the hell it was. it may be a bit overpriced, but this thing is still pretty cool.

Posted by dannycohen62 on April 10, 2005 at 9:01 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.