Apple iPod from HP (iPod+hp) | iLounge

Reviews

1

I'm stickin' the the original and still best apple branded ipod smile

Posted by MATRIXsjd in Burbank, Ca on November 18, 2004 at 5:00 PM (PDT)

2

it seems to me that hp gets it the most out of the 10 billion windows based pc companies. if there was no macintosh i would probably use hp. lets all just thank god that apple didn't team up with some dell scum.

Posted by podskater on November 18, 2004 at 7:50 PM (PDT)

3

Is there going to be any kind of discounted pricing compared to Apple with this HP IPOD? Even $20 or $30.00 less or is the agreement that HP has with apple pretty much forced to keep the prices in line with apple's IPOD retail costs?

Posted by LTM on November 19, 2004 at 12:39 AM (PDT)

4

The HP iPod was discount priced ($275?) at Costco stores a few weeks ago. Check the Internet for other discount sellers.

Posted by FloydC on November 19, 2004 at 7:41 AM (PDT)

5

Jeremy is now "Editor-in-Chief"!

Posted by nyorker on November 19, 2004 at 8:01 AM (PDT)

6

Jeremy writes:
"We experienced the same iPod PC USB installation issues with the iPod+hp that we've experienced with older iPods - the need to format the iPod when it arrived ..."

I thought the HP Ipods came preformatted as Windows iPods? Is that not the case?

Posted by AndyH in Berwyn, PA on November 19, 2004 at 9:02 AM (PDT)

7

I own an Ipod+HP and did not experience any of what you complained about in your review. I have the 20G and never had to format the drive.

I went with this because it was discounted through my company, so I got it a bit cheaper than it is sold in the open market.

So far, it is love at first byte!

Posted by zorka on November 19, 2004 at 9:14 AM (PDT)

8

i hate hp they just rip windows users off all the time and just parnter up with other people to just make tuns of money i am anti hp

Posted by taboo8614 in Livonia, MI on November 19, 2004 at 11:04 AM (PDT)

9

I am a windows pc owner and will be purchasing an ipod later this month. i've gone back and forth with which one to buy. with price being the same, is there any real advanatge to getting the ipod+hp or the ipod from apple or is it a wash? thanks.

Posted by ocluanain on November 19, 2004 at 1:09 PM (PDT)

10

Does anyone know if the iPod+hp can be used with a Mac.

An up to $ 50 rebate seems tempting.

Posted by EWR in Norway on November 20, 2004 at 3:39 AM (PDT)

11

Time for mutual benefit, bring the iPAQ to Apple please

Posted by Jerry Justianto in Indonesia on November 20, 2004 at 6:54 AM (PDT)

12

I should note that our review unit came straight (and blank) from HP, but as it was not shrinkwrapped, it may have been used by HP or others before we received it. We tested first on a PC, which reported that the unit needed to be formatted... and we were as surprised as anyone.

Typically we prefer to test our iPods out of shrinkwrapped boxes, but this wasn't the case with the hardware we received from HP. Your mileage may vary.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on November 20, 2004 at 9:54 PM (PDT)

13

And Nyorker, thanks for noticing. ^_^ The announcement's up in Site News.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on November 20, 2004 at 9:55 PM (PDT)

14

With the regular apple brand iPod, it come with iTunes. Can you use a diff program like Media Player etc...?

Posted by EP292 in USA on November 21, 2004 at 11:39 AM (PDT)

15

I noticed that the Hp models has different Models. HP Model: MP103 and the apple, Model No.: A1059. I think MP means Mass Production, but I am not sure.

Posted by TURBO in Miami, FL on November 21, 2004 at 1:24 PM (PDT)

16

Can we upgrade the firmware of the HP models with the upgrade on apple.com? Or do we have to wait for hp to announce it? And also, can we send our HP units to apple for the battery replacement prog.?

Posted by dard in USA on November 22, 2004 at 7:00 AM (PDT)

17

I have an HP Ipod and I use it both with my Mac & PC using either USB2 or Firewire.

The trick is to have it formatted as Fat32 in your Windows. Then iTunes in both Windows and Mac will recognize the iPod.

Even though you won't be able to synch with both version of iTunes, it's wonderful to be able to have both versions of my iTunes to recognize the iPod. I don't really care, though, as my music collection is stored on a network drive anyway, so both iTunes already have the same content.

Posted by AxsDeny on December 7, 2004 at 5:48 PM (PDT)

18

The HP IPOD uses a different hard drive than apple's... is everyone ignoring this or what???

Posted by russell_B in usa on December 12, 2004 at 9:23 AM (PDT)

19

_/_/_ This russell_B does not know what he is talking about. Apple creates all the parts. The only difference is that hp assembles the iPod sperate from apple.

Posted by wiilll on December 18, 2004 at 7:55 PM (PDT)

20

Apple creates all the parts. The only difference is that hp assembles the iPod sperate from apple.

Actually both Apple and HP outsource the assembly of the iPod to the same Taiwanese company: Inventec.

This was revealed by PortalPlayer when it filed for IPO, and as part of the filing revealed that Inventec manufactures the iPods under OEM contract.

http://money.cnn.com/2004/08/10/technology/techinvestor/lamonica/

Inventec actually manufactures a lot of hardware that people think is "American". The TI graphing calculators, for example, are also an Inventec product.

http://www.iac.com.tw/

This is not so unusual. Many of the large volume consumer laptops (Dell, HP, Apple, Gateway, former-IBM) are outsourced to the same few Taiwanese and Chinese companies in on the same assembly lines. The US companies just brand them differently, shuffle the accessories, and distribute them through different channels and VARs.

Posted by Demosthenes on December 18, 2004 at 8:54 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.