Apple iPod from HP (iPod+hp) | iLounge

Reviews

21

As an extra bit of info, apparently the Taiwanese company AsusTek manufactures the iPod mini. Asustek also manufactures many of the Apple-branded notebook PCs, as well as some great PC motherboards.

Posted by Demosthenes on December 19, 2004 at 10:19 AM (PDT)

22

Got an iPod+HP (20G) for Christmas! It was seamless. Followed the instructions that came with it, and everything worked out of the box. I don't care who makes it, or which hard drive manufacturer is used, I just know it works great. Maybe I'm a little easier to please since I'm a rookie.
smile

Posted by dpittenger on December 28, 2004 at 1:04 PM (PDT)

23

Does anyone know if the hp ipods are elidible for a battery replacement program like the apple?

Posted by trevor1194 on December 29, 2004 at 5:44 PM (PDT)

24

i got one for christmas too a iPod+HP 20GB and like dpittenger said it was seamless and perfect. my bro got a MINI iPod and he traded it in for a Sony Walkman Atrack player and ended up going back and replacing it for the iPod MINI, i luaghed at him, NO ONE CAN BEAT iPODS!!!!!!

Posted by clifton062 in USA on January 1, 2005 at 9:49 PM (PDT)

25

I was bought an ipod+hp for Christmas and I live in the UK. When I opened it the ipod was faulty but HP do not honour their warranty outside of the US and Apple do not accept liability for it either as it is seen as an HP product. I now have a $399 ipod that is 3 weeks old, doesn't work and no one will repair it! DO NOT BUY THEM IF YOU LIVE OUTSIDE OF THE USA. Actually, having dealt with the idiots at HP don't buy one at all...

Posted by Narcissus in England on January 4, 2005 at 12:11 PM (PDT)

26

Got my 20 gigger iPod+HP for Christmas and loved it. I did not get a case for it however and it subsiquently got scratched up pretty badly. Then when I went to clean it using the iKlean wipes from the Apple store the click wheel stoped working all together. I took it back and got a new one. It's been flawless ever since.

My sister got an Apple iPod a couple of days ago and I've been comparing the two. The only differince I can note is that the "click" noise the Apple brand iPod makes is a bit lower. Other than that they are exactly identical.

Posted by intern_mike in Orlando on January 10, 2005 at 11:40 AM (PDT)

27

I got a 40 gig iPod+HP for Christms and after doing research it seams that HP does have a battery replacement program for the iPod. And also you can get your iPod updates from Apple not HP.

Posted by Laser47 on January 10, 2005 at 6:45 PM (PDT)

28

The HP model and APPLE model are exactly alike.

You know what this is like.. It will sound kind of juvenile -- but

You know how we sometimes purchase those cd's from BMG and Columbia House -- they are the same ones we get in the stores -- those clubs just slap their name on the back of the cd -- but it is the same recording -- no differences --

To dissect them like that, you are going to keep bumping into a wall.

I have an HP+IPOD and I called APPLE and pretended to want to buy one and asked them what the difference was -- he said the wieght of the ink in the back of The Ipod -- one has more weight because -- there is an HPinvent logo!

If anythng, he would have wanted me to buy from APPLE and make up differences and he was totally honest with me!

Posted by Temujin on January 21, 2005 at 12:18 PM (PDT)

29

Hey, does anyone know if the iPod+HP will work with Alpine's Car Stereo Interface (KCA-420i) ??

Thx!

Posted by Fluxor in Mexico on February 4, 2005 at 10:04 PM (PDT)

30

The reason I have the Apple Ipod from HP is because it was the only one I could find at any electronics store. I happened to get this at Radio Shack. Personally it does not bother me that its got HP's name on it. Its still an Ipod, and it still works.

Posted by ipodsteve in Texas on February 12, 2005 at 4:35 PM (PDT)

31

my friend tucker recently got a shuffle, it is sooo tiny, i think it is pretty cool, but......my pod is still better, he has to listen to what is on, like he cant say, " oh, i want to listen to The Shins, or Pinback, or Martin Wood Medeski," he has to listen to whatever the suffle plays. and i know that was the main point of it's release, but still sacraficing choice for size is rediculous

Posted by clifton062 in USA on March 6, 2005 at 5:04 PM (PDT)

32

i got a 40gb hp ipod for a present
from my uncle in america(he gave me the tranformer so i could charge it here)

i didnt have to format it or anything

it is great and i reccomend to anyone

the people who get errors have something wrong with their computer and blame it on the ipod

Posted by 4g 40gb ipod+hp in united kingdom on March 25, 2005 at 1:04 AM (PDT)

33

where can i find a site to format my hp iPod to mac????

Posted by demonper on March 29, 2005 at 12:59 AM (PDT)

34

You can go on apples website and then download the updater. Its free but it is a BIG file

Posted by BaluXP on April 1, 2005 at 12:04 PM (PDT)

35

i got an ipod+hp for xmas theres no diff from the reg ipods just the logos it works fine one good thing is i got a pc so i didnt hav to wait for an hour for the ipod to format i just plugged it in and put my music on it smile

Posted by nickster9224 on April 6, 2005 at 12:46 PM (PDT)

36

I got the ipod+hp 20gb yesterday in a bundle from Sam's club- it came bubble-packed with the Griffin iTrip and PowerPod, all for $320. Despite having to verify that USB 1.1 is definitely not supported, installation was easy and relatively fast, requiring only a few reboot cycles. As a PC user, I appreciate the Windows formatting. No complaints here about co-branding. Plus, Sam's offers a 3-year service plan for $39, which starts after the manufacturer warranty ends. I came here looking for a case, which the package did not include.

Posted by illwell on May 4, 2005 at 11:12 PM (PDT)

37

I bought the ipod+hp 20gb back in September 2004 when they first came out, simply because at the time they were cheaper the Apple ones.

A few weeks ago, something corrupted the hard disk. HP replaced it--at no cost. Had I purchased this from Apple, I would have had to pay $29.99 for a replacement since I was past their 6-month window.

Don't underestimate the value of HP tech support and service.

Posted by a2jpm on June 16, 2005 at 1:55 PM (PDT)

38

I was comparing the Apple Ipod and the Apple Ipod +HP on Circuit City web site. It indicates the 20g Apple has voice recording and the 20g HP does not. Is this true?

Posted by tgargus on June 20, 2005 at 8:30 AM (PDT)

39

tgargus, no ipod can voice record without an add-on like griffin italk

Posted by gio_pod on December 9, 2005 at 9:02 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 2 pages  <  1 2

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.