Gadget Accessories 3-in-1 Travel Charger | iLounge

Reviews

1

looks cool. might pick this up actually

Posted by Soung on November 24, 2004 at 1:08 AM (PDT)

2

My unit arrived yesterday, it looks fine and works well with my G4.

However, I was going to offer it to a friend who has a G3, but the question came up... does it work with the G3? We are under the impression that the G3 won't charge from a USB cable.

The tiny label on the charger says for use with G4.

So, has anyone actually used this with a G3??

Posted by alanz on November 24, 2004 at 3:34 AM (PDT)

3

a question for you jeremy what is the black spot on the side of the car chargers looks like a audio in to me

Posted by BIGP in Texas on November 27, 2004 at 9:47 AM (PDT)

4

^ line-in/line-out

Posted by BIGP in Texas on November 27, 2004 at 9:48 AM (PDT)

5

Line-out would certainly be a nice thing in a charger... if only my car had line in smile

Posted by Nagromme on November 27, 2004 at 2:22 PM (PDT)

6

The black spot on the side of the car charger is simply a paper "CE" label.

Posted by alanz on November 29, 2004 at 8:47 AM (PDT)

7


this is from thier site ...
http://www.gadgetaccessories.com/ShowProd.asp?ProdId=21

--"Compatible with: Apple iPod 3rd & 4th Generations & New Photo iPod with dock connector"

Posted by ipooh in Athens, GA on November 30, 2004 at 12:35 PM (PDT)

8

Can this cable be used for both power charging and data syncing? I've never seen an iPod cable that provides both power and data over USB.

This article leads me to believe this in the following statement: "Therefore, what you get for $14.99 from Gadget Accessories is a full USB set of alternatives to Apple's fully FireWire-based iPod wall charging and syncing system."

Can anyone clarify?

Posted by mmmGuinness on January 13, 2005 at 9:30 AM (PDT)

9

I recently bought one of these and it locks up my ipod when connected. Is this normal behavior for this charger ? I have a 3G ipod. Also, the pictures are different from the chargers I received.

Posted by sundevil on January 25, 2005 at 12:19 PM (PDT)

10

I thought that 3G ipods cannot be charged via USB cable only.
Has anyone successfuly used this with 3G ipod ???

Posted by yh on January 30, 2005 at 10:33 PM (PDT)

11

A word of warning about the car adapter part of this charger. Sundevil reports that this froze his iPod. Here was my experience:

After using this once on my first 4G40 iPod, it exhibited a catastrophic failure where it almost seemed like it couldn't find the hard drive -- it kept 'ticking over', and showed a missing folder icon. My windows system saw a USB device connected, but iTunes did not identify it as an iPod and even attempting to restore default settings and/or reflash firmware using Apple's updater failed, claiming I had no iPod connected.

So I returned the iPod to where I got it from (thank God for lifetime warranties) and got another one. I didn't use this adapter again until this weekend when ... it froze my iPod. Resetting worked, but was odd -- for one thing, after charging and removing the iPod from power, it continued to show the power meter in the middle of the screen, fully-charged, and saying "Charged." However, after a day of showing this, resetting the iPod showed the battery to in fact be almost entirely drained (battery icon is empty though obviously, since I can see it, it's not completely dead).

So I did some research into USB and Firewire power standards. Looks like while Firewire supplies 12V, the USB spec provides only 5V. The reason this is relevant is that if you actually measure the voltage on the car adapter (Ground and the 5V connector are the two outside connectors of the four connectors inside the plug on the 'tongue'), you'll find that it supplies 12V.

I don't know if the iPod gets confused/damaged when it receives 12V through connectors that normally should only be getting 5V, but given the track record over here, that's what I'm given to suspect currently. I'm going to write Gadget Accessories a letter and see what they say on the topic. I also intend to measure and see what their desktop charger provides through the USB interface, though since that's at work (and I'm not there today), that's going to wait until tomorrow.

Adding that to the fact that their cables, unlike the Apple ones, don't indicate which side is up and which is down (which makes me worry that every time I try to insert the cable and get the side wrong I might be damaging my dock connector), I have to admit that had I known then what I know now, I wouldn't have gotten this bundle set.

Posted by Roy Rapoport on February 7, 2005 at 1:41 PM (PDT)

12

Thanks for investigating this, Roy. I have used the wall adapter with my 4G without incident. I have not yet used the car adaptor and now I'm not sure that I want to. Has anyone successfully used this thing in a car? Has anyone contacted Gadget Acessories?

This is all interesting in light of ipodlounge's new 'policy on harmful accessories.' (http://www.ipodlounge.com/articles_more.php?id=6249_0_8_0_C)

Posted by jfizzle on February 10, 2005 at 1:42 PM (PDT)

13

Gadget Accessories has noted that there may be issues with a second-generation version of this product, as indicated in the updated review above. The company's Yvonne Hassialis has issued the following statements on this product:

"...[W]e have removed the 3 in 1 charger for now from our site until we get the OK from Apple on the connectors. I hope you understand that we are a reputable company that in no way would sell any product to any consumer that could damage their ipod or any other product for that matter."

"...[I]t seems that when you reviewed the product that was from out first shipment which we had not one complaint about, then we received a newer shipment and I believe in this newer shipment is where there may be a defect. We are testing the items and so far they are outputting the correct amount of Voltage so it is not with every single item, thank you."

"I am happy to offer refunds to any customer that received the 3 in 1 charger and does not want to continue using it based on the comments on ipodlounge."

Thanks to our readers for alerting us to this, and to Gadget Accessories for responding.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on February 18, 2005 at 2:54 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.