Apple iPod Socks | iLounge

Reviews

1

So they're overpriced, but so are the rest of Apple's branded accessories. They're going to appeal to girls, and they'll be find for people who just want a slip case for their iPod—they don't want to use the iPod in the case, just transport it. There's nothing they promise that they fail to deliver—either you like them and you'll buy them, or you don't and you'll buy a more sophisticated case.

Posted by mattwardfh in Texas on November 30, 2004 at 10:25 PM (PDT)

2

He's right, they appeal to girls like me who like the idea of lots of colorful choices to slip my ipod while still in its blush iskin into the sock. Sorry if that doesnt make sense its really late. . .An ipod with an iskin should still fit right, since mines 3g 15gig and supposedly a new thicker 40gig ipod photo can fit in it?
Thanks for another great review!

Posted by Amethyst Anne Aurelia in New York on November 30, 2004 at 11:02 PM (PDT)

3

The socks fit ALL iPod models.

Posted by Dennis Lloyd in Irvine, CA on December 1, 2004 at 12:39 AM (PDT)

4

Spot-on I think. Anyone who's owned a few cases will have probably come to the same conclusion - in most situations, the iPod is best used naked. All those complicated cases are over designed. I've made a few cases that function like the socks and they're great - protect the iPod and you use the iPod as God (Ive) intended.

Posted by paul b on December 1, 2004 at 12:44 AM (PDT)

5

The reason to get these is... if YOU like them smile Not much more need be said.

I'm partial to my RadTech PodSleevz. It fits on similarly and holds well, but is less bulky, has a screen window, and is MEANT to let the controls be used right though the fabric--which works great. And you can use a docking cable through a slit. Works great with iPod Photo.

http://www.radtech.us/Products/Podsleevz.aspx

(I needed to add an extra layer of screen protection inside the PodSleevz myself--just some of the iPod's own plastic packaging, although a PDA screen cover would be nicer--to keep from scratching the iPod when I occasionally slide it out. I've yet to hear of any sleeve case that can't slightly scratch your iPod if grit gets trapped. Maybe that's the culprit for me, or maybe it's the stitching around the screen. Anyway, we're talking very fine scratches, but still to be avoided.)

Anyway, a simple sleeve like the iPod socks is good for putting the iPod into another bag or case. I can see uses for it--thicker padding and easier to use than the iPod's drawstring bag. Buying just ONE would be better.

Posted by Nagromme on December 1, 2004 at 1:53 AM (PDT)

6

Nagromme - can the Radtech Podsleevz be used with the iPod dock? In other words, can I leave the podsleevz on while my iPod is connected to the dock?

Posted by redsoxnation in USA on December 1, 2004 at 5:54 AM (PDT)

7

What Paul B said. I bought the iPod socks for the colours, and I like the fact that when I have to use the iPod, I'm holding it bare in my hands.

To each their own.

P.S.: Once you've got a playlist going, you can operate Click-Wheel iPods through the sock, if you know what you're doing. Limited to Next, Back, and Play/Pause, of course.

Posted by ct77 on December 1, 2004 at 5:58 AM (PDT)

8

I'm thrilled with my iPod socks. I even made a movie of me playing around with them here. I already found a use for the extras socks, too: my camera and cell phone!

Posted by SilverMeteors in Tampa on December 1, 2004 at 7:15 AM (PDT)

9

If I was spending actual time writing a review about these socks I'd have to kill myself. I can't imagine that job pays well.

Posted by croooow in Fairfax, VA on December 1, 2004 at 8:25 AM (PDT)

10

If I had a friend who was really into Apple as I am, I'd buy a set for him/her as a Christmas gift.

As for me, I'm happy with the case that came with my 3G so I won't be buying them for myself. I bought myself the iPod.

SilverMeteors: Loved the movie. Thanks for posting the link.

Posted by Borrador on December 1, 2004 at 9:18 AM (PDT)

11

I "highly suspect" that very few individuals might just get it for display purposes??! Hee...

It is very convenient I think to just to slip the iPod out and place it in the Dock; I haven't been using the Dock for the past 2 generations of iPod because I have been using the iSkin

Also make great Xmas gifts, I thought... cheers

Posted by howwow in Singapore on December 1, 2004 at 9:54 AM (PDT)

12

I love my Radtech podsleevz.
But for about 2 months before I got it, I carried my ipod around in an old fleece sock, and it was fine, it's not difficult to slide it out to use the wheel. I think these things are fine, simple, and at 30$ for 6, imo they aren't overpirced if you consider an iskin is 30$ for 1.

redsoxnation: the podsleevz can connect at the bottom (there's a little die cut hole that you can punch out), but the ipod won't fit in the dock

Posted by thume in Hungary on December 1, 2004 at 10:01 AM (PDT)

13

I would love to use my iPod "naked" but most of the time this just feels too risky. I am frequently outdoors, and the beautiful-slick-shiny iPod has always felt too slippery to trust in my hands when standing over a hard surface. Hence I use an iSkin, which does create some interface problems - notably that the control buttons on my 3G are substantially less responsive in the iSkin than out.

That being said, a sock might not be so bad. Let me look through my drawers for some "singlet" socks - shucks, they don't have Apple logos.

They should do them in crew and argyle next.

Posted by BradPDX in Portland, OR USA on December 1, 2004 at 10:15 AM (PDT)

14

A similar but far, far superior product is the Australian-made foofpod (http://www.foofpod.com). These handmade foof products are great, fit the iPod snugly, serve the same purpose as these socks, and come in a variety of designs and colors. (They also make bags for the Powerbook/iBook line.)

Posted by Sharik on December 1, 2004 at 10:23 AM (PDT)

15

Oh... B-... really...for overpriced socks? ::roll eyes::

Posted by DreamTwister in The Netherrealm on December 1, 2004 at 12:19 PM (PDT)

16

Also, comparing iPod sleeve prices to the price of HUMAN socks is slightly insane :D These ARE custom-designed you know... "socks" is just a catchy name!

Yes, they are made of something similar to human socks. Likewise, aluminum iPod cases are made of something similar to pop cans. That doesn't make them the same to make--nor in the same quantity.

So saying these are priced high at $5 apiece seems odd to me. Have you seen what other sleeves cost?

Posted by Nagromme on December 1, 2004 at 2:04 PM (PDT)

17

i'm going to have to go ahead and pretend these don't exist...

Posted by Exvicious in Schaumburg, IL on December 1, 2004 at 7:02 PM (PDT)

18

My 'pod travels between home and work with me daily. At work I only use it as a hard drive, and would be happy to have a sock on my desk to put it in. No scratches, and I don't need to be able to access the controls.

Posted by panache on December 1, 2004 at 7:33 PM (PDT)

19

If you could buy them for $5 individually, we wouldn't have made that comment, Nagromme. And calling these "custom designed" is akin to calling tube socks "custom designed" for feet. They don't even have curves that specifically match what they hold - and they can't, because they're made to hold several different shaped bodies (fat, harsh 1G iPod to thin, rounded 4G iPod and small iPod mini).

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on December 1, 2004 at 7:37 PM (PDT)

20

But what about the bane of belly button ..er dock connector lint! Are these socks guarenteed not to clog up the iPod's internals?

Posted by pkrug on December 1, 2004 at 8:00 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 4 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.